Scare Tactics – Legion


Scare Tactics – Legion
Release Date: 31/05/2015
Running Time: 49:33
Review by Dawn “The Metal Priestess” King

Being of the “older” generation of metalhead, I’ve never done that typical “old” metalhead thing and stuck to what I know, never wanting to leave to confines of my preferred “genre” of metal just in case I might actually like something new. Ok, that is probably a bit of a sweeping statement BUT there are people out there like that.

I am always on the lookout for new sounds and new bands and I am glad I found this one (I say found, more like “given” to me but you get my meaning!)

Scare Tactics are a UK-based metal band, hailing from the northern city of Liverpoooool and have been together since 2010. In that time they have made a few demos and played a few gigs, including a couple of very prestigious ones, namely Bloodstock Open Air in 2012 and Download Festival in 2015, and from what I hear on this album, they very much deserved their spots.

Describing themselves on their own Facebook page as “a slice of old school metal with a whole new approach” this is very much an accurate description. With influences such as (deep breath here!) Pantera, Alice In Chains, Alter Bridge, Devin Townsend, Gojira, Lamb of God, Metallica, A Perfect Circle, Racer X, Ugly Kid Joe (you keeping up?) Dream Theater, Steve Vai and Joe Satriani to name but a few, they have a whole range of material to draw from while still making their sound their own.

Andy and Paul are absolute masters on their 6-strings and Stu is a maestro behind his kit, while Danny is a master on the bass. They combine (easily I might add) old school grooves and great riffs with fantastic vocals and perfect musicianship, creating an album that is crisp and clear, and that totally rocks.

I might be getting old(er) but I must say that I am enjoying a lot of the new talent that is coming through on the metal scene, which some people say is dying out. This is NOT the case. There is a lot of fresh, new blood coming through the ranks and some of it is actually really, very good. Scare Tactics are one such band. Bringing together “a mutual love of great music to create a blend of power, groove and that melody that encapsulates music lovers everywhere” these guys could be one of the next big things! They certainly have the right sound, the right attitude and they make damn good music.

Legion is their debut album that was released in 2015 and I am waiting with baited breath for the next thing they bring out. Keep up the good work guys and I’ll see you at a gig sometime \m/

1. Discover
2. Remain
3. Little Time
4. The Sign
5. False Power
6. Drunk Fuck
7. Someone Else
8. LFW
9. Right Hand Man
10. We Live
11. Wrong But Righteous

ANDREW BARKER – Guitar / Vocal
MARTY VENTURA – Guitar / Vocal



Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Dawn ‘The Metal Priestess’ King and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to do adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

This review was first published on Metal Gods Tv

Leave a Reply