The Cherry Dolls – Viva Los Dolls


The Cherry Dolls-Viva Los Dolls
Golden Robot Records
Release Date: 24/11/2017
Running Time: 30:81
Review by Tsarina Wilson

The Cherry Dolls are from Melbourne and are Joshua Aubry on vocals, Jakob Kagan on guitar, Thomas van der Vliet on drums, Brendan West on bass and Jim Stirton on guitar. This very diverse band have already released two EPs in the past, “Pearls” and “Lone Palm” which were recorded in LA, but this is their first full length debut album, with Alex Markwell of The Delta Rings sitting in on production.

Think The Doors, The Rolling Stones and even The Stone Roses and The Stokes, a mix of indie and rock, and there is a lot of talent within this band. The album opens with Cop Out, which shows how strong and clean the vocals are, Let You Down has some great rock riffs and one hellava beat and Lemon and Lime is a real micky take of the expression “I’m so happy”, talk about sounding so miserable but while having a great time! You would be forgiven for thinking this album is from the 60’s or 70’s, the lads themselves certainly look like they are stuck in this era but don’t let that fool you in any way. This is a very alternate album with a lot of attitude but may not be to everyone’s taste. But then show me an album that is.

The guys seem to skip to different genres without missing a beat, one minute slow and relaxed then full on and this album will keep you on your toes, with some catchy lyrics. Ok, during their early days they were known for breaking more guitar strings and gear than they care to recall but on this album they deliver an upbeat and full on album. The album by their own admittance is them portraying themselves which is good. They are not changing their look or sound to “fit in” and they are being true to themselves with their attitude and angst towards live shows, and they get that onto the album, the atmosphere and feeling of being at one of their live shows.

Before going into the studio the lads had the normal idea of bands, write some songs, choose which they liked then head into the studio and get the tracks down, but that wasn’t the case here. They didn’t even have any when they first went in but it all fell into place and in three days they had ten tracks down and sorted and they were very happy with the result, as they should be. At just over 30 minutes long they pack a lot in, but it would have been nice if it was a little longer. Hey maybe the next album will be, but as a first full length album it certainly gives you a taste of what’s to come in the future.

01. C.O.P Out
02. Slave
03. Let You Down
04. Bottom Of The Wall
05. Kimchi
06. Hollywood
07. Love
08. Lemon & Lime
09. Begging You Please
10. Blister


Promo Pic3

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Tsarina Wilson and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this interview, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to do adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities

Leave a Reply