Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow – Memories In Rock II

Memories In Rock II Cover

Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow – Memories In Rock II
Minstrel Hall Music
Release date: 06/04/2018
Running time: 2:15:41
Review by Chris White

Rainbow should need no introduction as Ritchie Blackmore must rank in the top ten rock guitarists of all time; after leaving Deep Purple in 1975, he formed Rainbow as the platform for his future songwriting and playing prowess.

The line-up of Rainbow changed during the many years they were together and included greats such as Ronnie James Dio, Graham Bonnett, Cozy Powell and Joe Lynn Turner to name but a few.

This album follows on from the previously released “Memories In Rock I”, of which the only memories are probably bad ones, due to the lethargic tempo and loose playing contained on the live performance.

Against all expectation, “Memories In Rock II” has managed to surpass its predecessor by providing an even more pedestrian feel to both the Rainbow and Deep Purple songs featured. This listener got to the point where he wondered if the guitar tech had accidentally dosed Ritchie with an over large shot of Thorazine, given the state of the six string accompaniment throughout the album.

Having been such an avid fan of Mr Blackmore’s melodic and classical guitar playing over the last three decades, It pains me to say this release was well below the level I would expect from him and the musicians featured. I’m frankly surprised any record company would take the effort to release this package as it offers very little extra to even the most diehard Rainbow fan and would probably deter the casual listener from ever wanting to hear Rainbow live or on record ever again.

Disc 1: (CD)
01. Over The Rainbow
02. Spotlight Kid
03. I Surrender
04. Mistreated
05. Since You’ve Been Gone
06. Man On The Silver Mountain / Woman From Tokyo
07. 16th Century Greensleeves
08. Soldier Of Fortune
09. Perfect Strangers
10. Difficult To Cure
11. All Night Long
12. Child In Time

Disc 2: (CD)
01. Stargazer
02. Long Live Rock’N’Roll / Lazy
03. Catch The Rainbow
04. Black Night
05. Carry On Jon
06. Temple Of The King
07. Smoke On The Water
08. Waiting For A Sign

Disc 3: (DVD)
01. Ritchie Blackmore Interview
02. Ronnie Romero Interview
03. Jens Johansson Interview
04. Bob Nouveau Interview
05. David Keith Interview
06. Candice Night Interview
07. Lady Lynn Interview
08. Dave David Interview
09. Andreas Bock (tour manager) Interview
10. Michael Bockmühl (guitar tech) Interview
11. Bonus Backstage Clip
12. I Surrender 2017 Backstage Clip


Version 2

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Chris White and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Leave a Reply