Black Alice – Sons Of Steel

Sons Of Steel Cover

Black Alice – Sons Of Steel
Karthago Records
Release Date: 12/10/2018
Running Time: 54:20
Review by Mark Pritchard

This is my review of the Remastered album “Sons Of Steel” by Australian Old-School Heavy Metal/Heavy Rock band Black Alice. When I saw that it was originally released in 1988, the year I was born, it made me even more intrigued to have this opportunity to write about it. This is the first time I have heard the band and I can’t tell you how much of an honour it has been to have the chance to review such an Old-School band. Just so everyone knows, when I say the term “Old-School” what I mean is that they have the same kind of sound as Rock/Metal legends AC/DC, Iron Maiden and Black Sabbath of which I am a huge fan of as I grew up listening to them.

First and foremost listening to these guys really takes me back to when I was younger, with the radio on rocking along to the legends and every time I have listened to “Sons Of Steel” it has been with a smile on my face! Everything about this album, the instrumentation, awesome guitar riffs and smooth vocals has been a beautiful experience. This album has lifted my spirits when there have been times I have felt down. I love it when music does this!

I’m not sure how this remaster compares to the original but the passion and dedication of Scott Johnston (Drums), Andy Cichon (Bass), Jamie Page (Guitars) and Rob Hartley (Vocals) shines through. That also goes for guest vocalist Jeff Dunn who appears on the track ‘The Burn’. “Sons Of Steel” was originally released in very small numbers so almost no-one has heard it. Well it has been a joy to listen to and I will continue to return to it!

Now comes the hard part of any review and that is the rating. My favourite song on “Sons Of Steel” is the title track. From a good intro to a great up-tempo track with really good vocals this is probably the song I have listened to most. As for the album itself well I have to give it 9/10. Great band, amazing album and I definitely suggest checking Black Alice out if you get the opportunity because you won’t regret it!

I’d like to thank the band, Karthago Records for releasing a rarely heard gem of an album and to Ever Metal for giving me the chance to review “Sons Of Steel” Check out the links below!

01. Something In The Air
02. Sons Of Steel
03. There’s Hope
04. Hard Lover
05. You And Me (Bonus Track)
06. Fighting For You
07. Mr. System
08. I’m With You
09. The Burn (Bonus Track)
10. Reck
11. Walk In The Blues
12. The Burn (instrumental)





Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Mark Pritchard and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Leave a Reply