Palace – Rock And Roll Radio

Palace – Rock And Roll Radio
Frontiers Music srl
Release Date: 04/12/2020
Running Time: 46:19
Review by Chris Galea

Just like your typical blockbuster film, “Rock And Roll Radio” is all about the ride not the destination. Musically the songs strongly remind me of Dare, the band of Thin Lizzy’s ex-keyboard player. So, we’re talking about infectious Rock music with lots of harmony vocals and hooks to spare.

Songs such as ‘Castaway’ or ‘She’s So Original’ are great to let off steam at the end of an intense day. ‘Cold Ones’ uses the saxophone to give the song its own identity. Right after the wistful ‘Eleonora’, ‘Hot Steel’ provides a little contrast with some hard rocking riffs.

At other times, the music goes so far away from Metal that what you’re listening to is actually Pop music (one example is ‘When It’s Over’). To be clear I’m not saying this in a derogatory sense because Palace is truly excellent in what it sets out to achieve. After all, the clue for that is in the album title.

Unlike the previous 2 Palace albums, almost all instruments on “Rock And Roll Radio” are played by Michael Palace, the Swedish singer spearheading the ‘band’, but the outcome is still surprisingly good. It’s only the sound of the drums that counters the album’s organic feel.

This is an album that perfectly encapsulates the 1980’s spirit of Melodic Rock.

‘Way Up Here’ (Official Video)

01. Rock And Roll Radio
02. Castaway
03. Way Up Here
04. Cold Ones
05. Eleonora
06. Hot Steel
07. My Gray Cloud
08. Origin Of Love
09. She’s So Original
10. Strictly By The Rules
11. When It’s Over
12. Fight


Michael Palace – Everything


Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Chris Galea and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Leave a Reply