Various Artists – Brown Acid: The Twelfth Trip

Brown Acid The Twelfth Trip Album Cover Art

Various Artists – Brown Acid: The Twelfth Trip
RidingEasy Records
Release Date: 20/04/2020
Running Time: 32:23
Review by: Alun Jones

Well, who’d have thought it? Here’s the twelfth instalment of the Brown Acid series from RidingEasy Records, their ongoing exploration of rare, lost and forgotten treasures from the late 60’s and early70’s. These proto-metal, hard rock and heavy psych riches are continuing to turn up, thankfully curated and shared with a new, wider audience. They still haven’t run out of steam, which is very good news.

This time, the Professors of Rock (“Prockfessors”, anyone? Nah, never mind) have released ten more crazily good tracks from the past. As can be expected, the bands are deep fried and the guitars are fuzzier than a McDonald’s burger-flipper’s chin.

And so, we commence with ‘Mother Samwell’ by The Waters: a blinding, acid-drenched rocker from 1969. How can this have been lost for so long? Up next is ‘Vibrations’ by Village S.T.O.P., featuring Hendrix style guitar in another pacey rocker. Though very much of their time, these songs pack a ton of energy – you’re gonna want to freak out. Right out.

‘1930’ was quite a year, claim White Lightning, with a funky, chunky marauder of a tune that’s like Grand Funk, on the rare occasions GF got it right. Shane serves up some proper skronky organ with ‘Woman (Don’t You Go)’, reminiscent of a shrieky, early Purple. Then the keyboards get even skronkier with Ace Song Service’s ‘Persuasion’, though the attack is harsher.

Opus Est really kick out the jams with ‘Bed’, which has a killer riff that would please Gibbons or Page.  The Mopptops have a terrible band name (maybe that’s why they disappeared), but their song ‘Our Lives’ is one of the heavier, more vicious sounding tracks here. It’s a punk rock bruiser that seems totally out of time – surely this can’t be 1968?

A bland band name, but Artist inject their song ‘Every Lady Does It’ with enough hip-shaking Hendrix raunch to raise the roof. Great chorus too; this is faultless. Then it’s more, great lo-fi garage ZZ Top, with ‘Comin’ Home’ by Stagefright, before we finish with Dickens (great name!) and their weird fuzz metal with minimal production, ‘Don’t Talk About My Music’.

Whether they’re discovering hidden gems in dusty tombs, or exhuming abandoned corpses and bringing them back to life – pick your metaphor: the RidingEasy Forensics Department have managed to surprise yet again. Their quest seems never rending, but we can be thankful that these dedicated scholars continue to discover hitherto abandoned sonic delights.

It’s harder to pick out gems which shine brighter than the others this time around, but “Brown Acid: the Twelfth Trip” manages to reach a high standard across the board. Very enjoyable, and recommended listening for when Jimi and Janis pop round for some mushroom tea.

Brown Acid: The Twelfth Trip (Official Album Stream)

01. The Waters – Mother Samwell
02. Village S.T.O.P. – Vibrations
03. White Lightning – 1930
04. Shane – Woman (Don’t You Go)
05. Ace Song Service – Persuasion
06. Opus Est – Bed
07. The Mopptops – Our Lives
08. Artist – Every Lady Does It
09. Stagefright – Comin’ Home
10. Dickens – Don’t Talk About My Music


Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Alun Jones and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Leave a Reply