Devin Townsend – Devolution Series #2 – Galactic Quarantine

Devolution Series #2 - Galactic Quarantine Album Cover Art

Devin Townsend – Devolution Series #2 – Galactic Quarantine
Inside Out Music
Release Date: 25/06/2021
Running Time: 79:32
Review by Beth Jones

“Don’t let the bullshit get you down”…Never a truer word spoken, and we are surrounded by some monumental bullshit right now, aren’t we?! It’s with that phrase that we are launched into “Devolution Series #2 – Galactic Quarantine”, the latest release in Devin Townsend’s Lockdown project. This album is a recording of a greenscreen lockdown concert given by Devin and a series of other musicians, all broadcasting from their living rooms, in different locations, during the initial lockdown in 2020. Unlike the first Devolution Series album, this one is up tempo and in-your-face right from the start. It’s full of some classic Devin, and the energy and joy are palpable throughout.

The fact that Devin is one of my absolute heroes might be playing a role here, but this album is monumental. The stunning musicianship of every player, along with Devin’s super powerful voice make it the uplifting experience we all need. It never ceases to amaze me that such a mild mannered and humble person can explode with the power that Devin does.

Tune wise, among my favourites are ‘Juular’, ‘Hyperdrive’, ‘Love?’, and ‘Kingdom’, all of which are not only brilliantly intricate compositions, but are also performed perfectly on this album, which is no mean feat, given the constraints that all the musicians had to work within. From the crunching guitars, to thumping rhythms, close harmonies, and sweeping synths, everything is 100% bang on.

There are two tracks that stand out for me though. ‘Deadhead’ and ‘Spirits Will Collide’. ‘Deadhead’ is one of the more melancholy, slower paced tracks that really lets emotions speak through the instruments. The guitar work at the beginning is full of passion, as are Devin’s screams throughout the song.

‘Spirits Will Collide’ is still my favourite song from the “Empath” album, and here it’s performed stunningly – I mean of course it is! This is Devin! Anything less than perfection isn’t within his vocabulary! The thing about this song is it’s full of hope. And its vast expansiveness, musically, always inspires me into somewhat of an existential crisis, but in a good way. What was it that Keanu Reeves said in “Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure”? “We’re all just dust in the wind…” Something like that anyway – that’s the sort of higher plane of consciousness I end up on listening to ‘Spirits Will Collide’…

I digress, yet again. I don’t need to explain any more about this album. Just simply another smasher from a living legend. Not at all jealous that we’re not going to Bloodstock so won’t get the chance to see him this summer, honest…and I’m still not in the slightest bit upset that we didn’t get to see him in Manchester in 2019 for my 40th, because we were both ill…honest but, as advised by Dev, I will not let the bullshit get me down!

Buy this album. I promise you won’t regret it.

‘Kingdom’ (Virtually Live 2020 Audio)

01. Velvet Kevorkian
02. All Hail The New Flesh
03. By Your Command
04. Almost Again
05. Juular
06. March Of The Poozers
07. Supercrush!
08. Hyperdrive
09. Stormbending
10. Deadhead
11. Aftermath
12. Love?
13. Spirits Will Collide
14. Kingdom
15. Detox


Devin Townsend Promo Pic

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Beth Jones and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Leave a Reply