Reviews

Edenveil, Melodic Metal Night – The Portland Arms, Cambridge, UK – 30/04/2019

 

A full review of the gig can be found here:

Edenveil, Melodic Metal Night – The Portland Arms, Cambridge, UK – 30/04/2019

Disclaimer: This photo album is solely the property of Anabelle Binks. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of these images, unless you have the strict permission of said party. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Edenveil, Melodic Metal Night – The Portland Arms, Cambridge, UK – 30/04/2019

Edenveil
Melodic Metal Night
The Portland Arms, Cambridge, UK
30/04/2019
Review by Paul Monkhouse

Edenveil are the brainchild of singers Vera and Onyx, two classically trained vocalists who, after touring the circuit as an acoustic duo decided to go over to the dark side and unleash their full symphonic rock side. Whilst the two are incredibly polished and their soaring voices mesh perfectly with the material, the real surprise was the quality of the whole ensemble considering this was their debut gig as a full band. There was a real nervous energy and excitement onstage that translated across through the music and filled the room with a lush soundscape that truly befitted the genre.

Opening with ‘Seen Not Heard’, Edenveil soon stamped their mark on proceedings and staked their claim as ones to watch. Filled with a great sense of dynamics and with Vera and Onyx’s angelic and passionate voices diving in, out and over of the heavy guitar, drum and bass attack it was the perfect introduction to the new project. There was a real mix of influences from some of the giants of the genre but it was still very much their own creation, the twist and icing on the cake being two equally outstanding female vocals as opposed to the usual sole female or female/male vocal combinations that are established. There was a real freshness in that both voices are classical and the contrast this brought to the fire of the band. Having performed together for five years there was a real connection between Vera and Onyx, and this was enhanced by the carefully selected musicians, all the members gelling into a perfect storm.

Elements of folk music tinged ‘Weightless’, a haunting number that was a brave shifting down of gears after the opening barrage but built up the drama as it headed into a soaring chorus. As Vera delicately picked at her acoustic guitar, Onyx swayed, lost in the moment with the two coming fully to life as the song lifted and lifted. With the transition from acoustic to hard rocking there is obviously a period of adjustment going on behind the scenes as originally stripped back and naked songs are beefed up bit by bit, the songs slowly morphing from one thing to another. It will be interesting to see how the writing changes as the new six-piece band develop more and more material that stretches it beyond the original two voices and a guitar set-up.

This was always going to be a short set, squeezed as they were in an evening with three other bands; the Viking Metal of headliners Atorc, melodic thrashers Akilla and the incendiary Far From Refuge, but they were determined to be remembered. Third song ‘Wicked’ was another good indication of the direction they are heading towards with its galloping riff played over a piano melody, mirroring the perfectly balanced contrast of the symphonic rock style. Whilst it was obviously a joyful tribute and a well-known song, their set closing cover of Nightwish’s ‘Amaranth’ seemed a bit of a two-edged sword. It highlighted their musicianship and ability to make a classic their own but also may have indicated a lack of their own heavier material presently and the need for a filler. It would have been better to finish with another epic Edenveil original to be the lasting memory of their set but that will come in time. As for now though you can’t but help to be impressed with this fledgling outfit and more gigs and studio work will see them really grow.

LINKS:
https://www.edenveil.com/
https://www.facebook.com/edenveil/

https://www.instagram.com/edenveilofficial/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCWuiNb5wdsLkFLaVpQykxXQ

 

Edenveil

 

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Paul Monkhouse and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

EMQ’s with BLIND CROSS

Logo

EMQ’s with BLIND CROSS

Hi Everyone. Welcome to our new EMQ’s interview with Heavy Metal band Blind Cross! Huge thanks to vocalist Juan Ricardo for taking part!

What is your name, what do you play and can you tell us a little bit about the history of the band?

Hello my name is Juan Ricardo. I am the lead vocalist of Blind Cross. Blind Cross was formed by guitarist Rocco Stellmacher after the break-up of his band Gorgons Eye. He started writing new songs and put together a new band with drummer Andy Korte and bassist Matze Horold from the band Double Action. After a long search for a vocalist, he had a conversation with Pure Steel records president Andreas Lorenz who suggested asking me if I would be interested… I had recently released records with Sunless Sky, Ritual and Wretch plus had a new album coming out from Dark Arena on the label. Once I heard the songs I was immediately impressed by Rocco’s use of melody and the overall classic metal sound of the recording and instantly said YES.

How did you come up with your band name?

The name Blind Cross was created by Rocco. He thought that in every person’s life there is a cross that we must bear… an event that shaped our lives… but this is a cross that no one can actually know or see… so it is a Blind Cross.

What country are you from and what is the Metal/Rock scene like there?

Well this is a two part question because I am from America and the band is from Germany. In America the metal scene is good, especially in the major cities like Cleveland where I am from… but overall it is about new style mainstream metal bands in America in general. Whereas in Germany, and most of Europe, the metal scene is considered better because they are still into traditional metal styles and have not changed as much with the current trends. So in Germany they are still into what people consider “True” metal whereas America is not…

What is your latest release? (Album, EP, Single or Video)

Blind Cross has completed our debut album called “Merciless Time” that is due to be released on July 5th. To go with this release we have finished two videos to promote the album. A lyric video for the lead-off track on the album called ‘The Hammer And The Nail’ and an official video to the first single off the album called ‘Bioluminosity’.

Who have been your greatest influences?

I started singing in bands when I was 10 and eventually studied classical music and opera in college, so my first influence would be Luciano Pavarotti but as I became a metal singer my influences are: Ronnie James Dio, Robert Halford, Bruce Dickinson, Geoff Tate, James Rivera, Geddy Lee, Freddy Mercury and Midnight of Crimson Glory.

What first got you into music?

I had always had a love and interest in music but my musical career actually began, like I said, when I was 10. My mom had friends who were in a Spanish band that was looking for a drummer and singer, and she mentioned that I could play… so in desperation they tried me out and I got the gig. I began my metal career in another odd way… I was in college and at a party singing when a group of guys approached me and complimented me and asked if I ever considered singing metal? I asked if they meant bands like Judas Priest? and surprised them by singing ‘Victim of Changes’ and was asked to join the band which eventually was called Stryker.

If you could collaborate with a current band or musician who would it be?

Wow! Anyone? I guess I would sing with Iron Maiden… Doesn’t everyone? If I had to have a second choice it would be to do a project with the members of Rush… They have been my favourite band since I first heard them in high school when they released the album 2112 in the mid 70’s.

If you could play any festival in the world, which would you choose and why?

This is an easy one…Wacken in Germany! As a metal band this is almost everyone’s dream… but if I had a second choice it would actually be Prog-Power in Atlanta, Georgia in the U.S. Festivals are the big trend now world-wide, it’s hard to get fans to go to small shows but they will attend a festival. I’m actually an organizer of a festival in Cleveland for the label called Pure Steel Metalfest each fall on November 1st, 2nd and 3rd.

What’s the weirdest gift you have ever received from a fan?

The weirdest gift for me is that people try to buy me drinks at every show… I don’t drink alcohol but as the singer in the metal band I don’t think people believe me. Every show someone will buy me a drink and after I tell them “thanks but no thanks” they will insist, so I will graciously accept them but I give the drink to a band mate or another fan.

If you had one message for your fans, what would it be?

If I had one message it would be thank you. Thank you for supporting me and countless other metal musicians with their passion for the music. We are doing this because of them, they are the reason metal is alive and strong after all these years.

If you could bring one Metal/Rock star back from the dead, who would it be?

This would be the man that was the greatest influence on me when it comes to my singing style in metal; the one and only Ronnie James Dio. It is my single, greatest regret that of all the amazing vocalist I have seen that I never got to see him perform live…

What do you enjoy the most about being a musician? And what do you hate?

I love being a musician… Being creative, the fellowship you have with the members of your band, I love travelling and seeing new places, I love meeting the fans and talking about music with them, their energy excites me and makes me want to be the best I can be for them… I do hate being away from my family for extended periods of time.

If you could change one thing about the music industry, what would it be?

If there was one thing I do not like it would be the dog-eat-dog nature of the business part of making music. Everyone realizes how difficult it is to actually make it in music, especially in metal… that leads some people to have the mentality of success at any price, which is unfortunate… making music should be about the joy and the love of music. I always try to help young and up-coming bands and that is why I am also an A+R rep for the record label.

Name one of your all-time favourite albums?

Two albums changed my life…First was Rush – “2112”…It opened my eyes to what heights songwriting could reach, musicianship at its highest level…and Second was Rainbow – “Rising”… When I first heard ‘Stargazer’ I was in awe…Dio had so much power and passion in his voice, I knew I wanted to sound like that.

What’s best? Vinyl, Cassettes, CD’s or Downloads?

I have hundreds of each, but vinyl has a real place in my heart cause that’s what I grew up on and of course you would love the big cover art work…but honestly, I almost never listen to my vinyl anymore. Nowadays if I’m home I will listen to my CD’s cause I enjoy the sound quality…but if I’m working on music it’s on a digital format because all the recording studios I work at have gone almost completely digital… I see a time in the near future where all music will be sold entirely digitally.

What’s the best gig that you have played to date?

Well I’ve done thousands of shows over the past 40 years so I think I will say three recent ones… Sunless Sky at The Priest’s Cave in Brno, Czech Republic in 2017…Ritual at The Full Metal festival in Niederjossa, Germany this past March…and Wretch at The Spirit of Metal festival in Hamburg, Germany this year. Hopefully I will be able to add a Blind Cross show to this list soon..!

If you weren’t a musician, what else would you be doing?

An athlete! I was a professional boxer at one time and have been running marathons since I was in college… of course that is if I could regain my youth. Even though I’m in my late fifties now, I’m still in very good shape but I would be retired… With music I can continue to perform for as long as people want to see me, my voice feels great.

Which five people would you invite to a dinner party?

Anyone? President Barack Obama, Urban Meyer… ex-football coach of Ohio State University, Film producer Steven Spielberg, Horror writer Steven King and Boxing champion Felix Trinidad.

What’s next for the band?

For Blind Cross everything is wide open… Touring is of course a possibility, it may be too early to start thinking about the next record but in music you always have to be looking to the future.

What Social Media/Website links do you use to get your music out to people?

Look for Blind Cross on Facebook or look up any of my projects on Facebook or Pure Steel Records website
https://puresteel-records.com
https://www.facebook.com/Juan-Ricardo-182768288403262/

Jaffa Cakes? Are they a cake or a biscuit?

I honestly don’t know what a Jaffa cake is… but judging from the name I’m going to guess a Cake.

Thank you for your time. Is there anything else that you would like to add?

You’re very welcome and I want to thank you for this chance to share my music with everyone. Stay heavy, stay metal…!

 

Disclaimer: This interview is solely the property of Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this interview, unless you have the strict permission of said parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Forlorn Hope – Over The Hills

Over The Hills Cover

Forlorn Hope – Over The Hills
Self-Released
Release Date 26/07/2019
Running Time: 49:00
Review by Tsarina Wilson
10/10

I happen to come across Forlorn Hope on a certain social network site and was instantly hooked so when I had the opportunity to review the album “Over The Hills” I jumped at it. I couldn’t wait to hear the entire album and I was not disappointed. In fact, I haven’t stopped listening to it since.

The five-piece metal band from Merseyside combines history and metal with amazing results. The band members consist of Chris Simpson on vocals/rhythm guitars, Alexander Bishop on lead guitar/additional vocals, Jade Mckenna on keyboards, Danny Kell on drums and John Roughly on bass guitar and together they are out of this world.

Ok I have to say, as a fan of the drama series Sharpe, if they ever did a stage play these guys would have to do the music as they would blow the roof off. Chris has a turbo voice and an immense range which can go from pure rock with songs like ‘Rifles’ and ‘War in the Shadows’ to one of my favourites ‘Over The Hills and Far Away’. And not only are the guitar riffs powerful, the drumming is enough to make even the listener shattered, let alone poor Danny who plays them.

This is Forlorn Hope’s debut album and is a collection of stories of horror and heroism from the Peninsular War of 1807-1814. Chris remarks about the album: “This is a blazing, heavy metal tribute to one of the most fascinating chapters in military history, it represents the realisation of a concept several years in the making and the culmination of countless hours of work To see it finally complete is an absolute joy” and I can understand why.

Each song gives an account of a different part of the war, and maybe if this is how they taught it in schools, history would be much more fun. ‘Badajoz’ slows things down for a bit, but not for long as two minutes in and we are back to metal riffs united with crazy drumming. It’s so intense, you will be breathless.

In March 2018, Forlorn Hope released their self-titled debut EP, and throughout that year the band played a series of stand out sets, performing at the “Northern Symphony Festival” and in the Merseyside heat of the national Metal 2 The Masses competition. The quintet also went on to support NWOBHM legends and Swedish symphonic heavyweights “Eleine.

There is so much going on in this album. ‘Man Of Secrets, Man Of War’ shows just what varied vocals Chris’s voice can achieve. Jade’s keyboard throughout is such a powerful bonus and adds just that little something else to the mix and the track ‘Over The Hills and Far Away’ proves this.

The final track ‘Forlorn Hope’ is a stomping track and I was sad it was the last song, I could have just carried on listening for hours. These guys are talented, giving metal a whole new direction and have been an absolute joy to listen to and review.

Their music is infectious, and you will want to hear more.

TRACKLISTING:
01. Introduction
02. Vive L’Empereur
03. Rifles
04. Talavera
05. War In The Shadows
06. The Eagle Hunters
07. Die Hard
08. Badajoz
09. Man Of Secrets, Man Of Honour
10. Masterstrike
11. Vitoria
12. Over The Hills And Far Away
13. Forlorn Hope

LINKS:
https://forlornhope.uk/home
https://facebook.com/OfficalForlornHope/
https://twitter.comForlornHopeBand
https://Instagram.com/ForlornHopeBand/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCsBDf-Mu7bo0NcsYE1ebeXw

 

Promo Pic

 

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Tsarina Wilson and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

EMQ’s with SACRILEGE

Logo

EMQ’s with SACRILEGE

Hi Everyone. Welcome to our new EMQ’s interview with UK NWOBHM / Heavy Rock band Sacrilege! Huge thanks to vocalist/guitarist Bill Beadle for taking part!

What is your name, what do you play and can you tell us a little bit about the history of the band?

Hi I’m Bill Beadle and I’m singer/songwriter/guitarist for heavy rock band Sacrilege who I formed in 1981/82. We were then billed as best new band of 1983 and appeared on the 6th episode of the David Jensen Rock Shows TV series, which also featured U2 and The Stranglers alongside Sacrilege that week. I kept Sacrilege playing live up until 1987 when I then decided to stop playing, I reformed the band and we played our first comeback gig in October 2012.

How did you come up with your band name?

At the time I was going to call us Blizzard. I’m a massive Sabbath fan but coincidently Ozzy returned with his new band calling themselves Blizzard of Ozz so I had to find a different name. While watching a film one night called ‘Demetrius and the Gladiators’ the star (Victor Mature) saw these dead gladiators being thrown into a massive pit, he shouts out ‘That’s Sacrilege’ so that was it.

What country are you from and what is the Metal/Rock scene like there?

We are from the UK and the metal scene, in fact music scene, isn’t doing so well unless you are a covers or tribute band it seems! There are some great original bands out there not getting a chance so we are pleased to have our loyal support.

What is your latest release? (Album, EP, Single or Video)

“The Court Of The Insane”, our new album, which is on the Pure Steel record label and is due out on 2nd August this year (2019)!

Who have been your greatest influences?

Black Sabbath, Judas Priest and in the last 10 years Nightwish!

What first got you into music?

Those bands I mentioned but primarily Black Sabbath. When they seemed to be finishing with Ozzy leaving I thought I’d see if I could write and form a band, this I did and now seven albums later I’m still writing and playing even if I did have a long break in-between. You can hear my influences in the Sacrilege tracks.

If you could collaborate with a current band or musician who would it be?

Tony Iommi, no doubt there!

If you could play any festival in the world, which would you choose and why?

The old Castle Donnington ‘Monsters Of Rock’ which is now Download Festival. I’ve been to see many of my favourite bands there and always wanted to play rather than watch but they seem to have changed the genre of bands that play so in this country it would be Bloodstock or abroad Wacken.

What’s the weirdest gift you have ever received from a fan?

A very shy girl once got her friend to come over to speak to me! She said her friend liked me very much but didn’t have the courage to come over to talk so she wanted me to have this, it was a picture of her friend naked, I thought not that shy then? Haha!!

If you had one message for your fans, what would it be?

Thanks for all your support and please tell you friends about how much you enjoyed our music and stage show. The support and messages we receive are all very special and we wouldn’t be playing without you.

If you could bring one metal/rock star back from the dead, who would it be?

That’s a hard question we have lost so many great artists and characters! Lemmy Probably closely followed by Dio, Phil Lynott and Gary Moore.

What do you enjoy the most about being a musician? And what do you hate?

Seeing the smiles and enjoyment on people’s faces from the stage then talking to them after the show. I hate being let down by people which happens a lot in this business.

If you could change one thing about the music industry, what would it be?

More venues opening rather than closing and the music industry could help with that.

Name one of your all-time favourite albums?

Studio album then Black Sabbath’s “Vol 4” but live album it would be “Unleashed In The East” by Judas Priest!

What’s best? Vinyl, Cassettes, CD’s or Downloads?

Always loved Vinyl when I was younger and if we went back to those days I’d be happy!

What’s the best gig that you have played to date?

The best gig is a very hard question as playing on a big stage where we can let off our Pyros and put a full stage show on is hard to beat but we played in Cambridge at the Melbourn Rock Club recently and the support and reaction from the crowd was very special. We also did a show in Hamburg last month and, again, from a crowd that didn’t know us the reaction was brilliant, so those two were very special but overall I’d have to go for the Malta Metal Festival. We were made to feel so welcome, the crowd was great and we made many many friends there!

If you weren’t a musician, what else would you be doing?

I’d always be a musician it would just depend on what scale, either that or drive a train or something.

Which five people would you invite to a dinner party?

Doro, Floor Jansen, Charlotte Wessels and Tarja plus a referee haha!!

What’s next for the band?

We have just had Paul Macnamara (Guitarist) join us permanently so we want to really tour with the new album and play as many places as possible improving our stage show and then start recording album number eight.

What Social Media/Website links do you use to get your music out to people?

We use the normal sites Facebook, Twitter, Reverbnation, Instagram and our own webpage plus YouTube!
https://www.facebook.com/Sacrilegerock/
https://twitter.com/BillSacrilege
https://www.reverbnation.com/sacrilege
https://www.instagram.com/sacrilegenwobhm/
http://www.sacrilegenwobhm.com/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCytK8ge7u4R67JdXduLaxpA

Jaffa Cakes? Are they a cake or a biscuit?

That’s the best question of the interview haha! Cake it’s in the name!

Thank you for your time. Is there anything else that you would like to add?

A special thanks to my band mates Neil Turnbull, Jeff Rolland, Paul Macnamara and Road Manager Richard Ellender, we all work to put the best show on and it’s a pleasure having these guys as friends and band mates.

 

Disclaimer: This interview is solely the property of Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this interview, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Chasing Dragons – Faction

Faction Cover

Chasing Dragons – Faction
Self-Released
Release Date: 5/10/2018
Running Time: 46:14
Review by Beth Jones
10/10

We are a little late to the party with this review, but better late than never eh! Seeing the formidable figure of Chasing Dragons lead singer, Tank, sitting on the bar of the ‘G’s Bar Stage’, performing a breathtakingly beautiful and emotive song that moved me to tears, was one of my stand out moments of last years Amplified Festival, so having the chance to review debut album “Faction” is making me very happy. Now, there are those who would say I’m an emotional old sausage who cries at everything! Whilst in some contexts that is true, where it comes to music, it takes something special to move me to that point.

Hailing from Leeds and delivering a brilliant cross over of Heavy Metal and Rock with a really fresh feel about it, Chasing Dragons are made up of Tank on lead vocals, Adam on guitar and vocals, Murf on bass and vocals, and Kate on drums. If you haven’t heard of them yet, trust me you need to. This album is their first release since second EP “Faction: Prologue” in 2016. It is so current, but also has such a great mix of classic styles, that will be one of those albums that will come to be classed as timeless. It could quite easily cross over into mainstream with its sound, all be it at the heavier end of mainstream, with something in there for everyone to like.

Musically, it is punchy and crunchy, but not over the top. It is very precise, and fast paced, but Tank’s vocals take it to a whole new level. She has an absolutely astonishing voice, which is immensely powerful and immensely beautiful in equal measures. It soars above the music, but she has the ability to bring it down in an instant and deliver tender passages with poise and elegance. I am so unbelievably jealous! In a couple of songs, ‘Bareknuckle Lover’ and ‘Whitehorse’ in particular, her voice reminds me of one of my idols; Skunk Anansie front lady, Skin. But musically, the whole band sound has more about it than Skunk Anansie ever did, which I find incredibly exciting, considering in the late 90’s they were my go-to band when I needed to get my head straight! It draws influence from bands such as Avenged Sevenfold, Halestorm, Nothing More and New Years Day, and melds every element together perfectly. The whole album is emotive and intense, pulling you in to every note, every chord progression, every rhythm, every word. I love it. Simple as that.

Production wise, it is also an absolute triumph. Everything is balanced, and nothing is out of place, even down to the tiniest differences in the amount of reverb or effects used, it is all spot on.

I wanted to pick a ‘favourite track to talk about’, but I couldn’t narrow it down to less than four! Firstly ‘Parasite’. It is a real angry track! Starting with frenetic staccato guitar, it rip-roars through three minutes of venomous lyrics of hatred bourn of a toxic relationship. It is powerful in every way, and relatable for every one of us – a brilliant succinct three-dimensional description of the angry bubbling of hopeless hatred that we have all felt at some point in our lives.

‘Devil In Her Eyes’ is another of my picks, but this time for more musical reasons. It is full of cross rhythms, rhythm changes, interesting chord progressions, and a ridiculously catchy hook in the chorus, and again amazing vocals. It also has a proper guitar solo in the middle of it, as well as lots of little intricate bits from every instrument, making it a great all-round track. It ends abruptly, leading into my next pick – ‘The Connection’.

Starting with a solitary piano note, with a touch of reverb, then a pause (silence speaks so much louder sometimes, don’t you think?) then another solitary note and pause leads into a minor chord, and crystal-clear mournful vocals that reach into your soul. Then in come the drums, not too much, but you can feel it building, and as the vocals sore, everything kicks in and bam, there are the goose bumps. It just makes me want to shout out with the pleasure and pain and joy and sadness and every other emotion that this record instils in me. Ok, so I actually think on reflection, this is my favourite song on the album, but the other three are very close!

My last pick is penultimate track ‘Whitehorse’. It starts with a nice bit of synth, and then the whole thing kicks in, in real headbanging fashion, again with brilliant little riffs and hooks popping up all over the place, and those same damn awesome vocals that just slay me they are so good. I’m sorry, I’m rambling. That’s it, I’m done.

There is one word to describe this album – passion. Complete and utter passion oozes through the whole thing – passion for the music, passion for the craft, passion for the storytelling of the subject matter. By far the most emotive album I have listened to in a long time, and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to get their heart racing or get lost in a perfect storm. I feel invigorated! I’m going for a lie down!!!

TRACKLISTING:
01. We Are The Wall
02. How The World Went Black
03. Parasite
04. Like Gravity
05. Bareknuckle Lover
06. For Kingdom For Glory
07. This Time Is Ours
08. Devil In Her Eyes
09. The Connection
10. I’m No Devil (I’m Just A Girl)
11. Whitehorse

LINKS:
https://www.chasingdragons.co.uk/
https://www.facebook.com/chasingdragonsuk

https://www.instagram.com/chasingdragonsuk/
https://chasingdragons.bigcartel.com/
https://www.youtube.com/user/ChasingDragonsUK

 

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Beth Jones and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Hollow Crown – Garuda EP

Garuda EP Cover Top

Hollow Crown – Garuda EP
H.C Music Holding Ltd
Release Date: 31/05/2019
Running Time: 25:17
Review by Tsarina Wilson
7.5/10

Ok, so who are Hollow Crown? Well, they are four guys from Bristol (near my hometown), who got together and released a six song EP.

“Garuda” may be short but what the guys pack into it is just pure craziness and energy. The band consists of Iain Eccleston on guitars, Tom Pepper on vocals, Ben Wilshire on bass and, last but definitely not least, Josh Armitage on drums and they are also the creators of the game LFDR coming to an app soon.

Iain and Tom met about 5 years ago while Iain was playing at a disabled people’s home. Eventually they met up to do some writing and wrote a whole album in a month, which included most of the songs for the EP. After developing the sound and doing some recording sessions, they got Josh involved and after putting out an advert for a bassist, Ben became the final member, as he was the perfect choice. They have now been together for just almost a year now and not only are these four guys very talented, they also have fun doing what they do.

This metal grunge band certainly know how to pack a lot into six tracks. The first couple of songs are fast and furious and track two ‘Hate Your Leaders’ which now has a video on YouTube, certainly shows how much talent these guys have. This track goes from total madness to almost hypnotic in the middle section and this certainly gives you a chance to hear Tom’s epic voice. Then no sooner as you start to take a breath, Iain’s impressive guitar riffs blast your eardrums once again.

The music and lyrics are written by Iain and Tom and the artwork was produced by Mateusz “The Executor” Lejman. The band’s logo was what first drew them to my attention and, after hearing the guys, they were a breath of fresh air of a band who seem to have so much talent coming onto the scene.

They won’t be everyone’s cup of tea, having a “parental Advisory explicit content” warning on the cd, but hey not everyone has good taste! Tom’s voice goes from full metal grunge to almost soothing but don’t be fooled, these guys are not for the faint hearted. I can imagine their gigs are non-stop crazy and, with a growing fan base, I think this isn’t all we are going to hear from them. They are loud, they are crazy, they are talented, and I think they have a lot to offer.

One thing I did have a little giggle about was the back of the cd cover has “Unauthorised reproduction of this recording will result in an untimely death!!” printed on it.

TRACKLISTING:
01. 7th Gate
02. Hate Your Leaders
03. Step By Step
04. You Weren’t There Man
05. White Whale
06. Rise Up

LINKS:
https://www.hollowcrown.rocks
http://www.facebook.comhollowcrown.rocks
https://www.imstagram.com/hollowcrown.rocks
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCX3f0x1hKOYraRK4RXIUoUA

 

Promo Pic Bottom

 

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Tsarina Wilson and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

 

EMQ’s with ZEPHYRA

Zephyra Logo

EMQ’s with ZEPHYRA

Hi Everyone. Welcome to our new EMQ’s interview with Swedish Metal band Zephyra! Huge thanks to guitarist Tony Netterbrant for taking part!

What is your name, what do you play and can you tell us a little bit about the history of the band?

My name is Tony Netterbrant. I play guitar and I’m the main songwriter in Zephyra.

The band started 2009 but we often say that we started for real in 2011 when I switched from drums to guitar in the band.

We have released three full length albums and one stand-alone single since 2014.

How did you come up with your band name?

It was Åsa (vocalist) that came up with the idea to rearrange our dog’s name. Her name is Zaphira and Åsa changed it to Zephyra.

It was never really meant be the final band name. We needed a name in the beginning and it eventually stuck. It’s too late to change now, ha ha!

What country are you from and what is the metal scene like there?

We are from Sweden and it has its good sides and bad sides. In the global perspective Sweden has delivered some really good metal acts such as in Flames, HammerFall, Arch Enemy, Evergrey, Dark Tranquillity, Sabaton and the list goes on and on. There are a lot of good metal bands here for sure!

What is your latest release? (Album, EP, Single or Video)

Our latest album “Fall. Rise. Conquer.” was released on April 17, 2019 and we have released three singles off that album, the latest being a cover of ‘Nothing Else Matters’.

Who have been your greatest influences?

If we are talking musical influences, Metallica is one of the biggest for me. But bands such as Evergrey, Dark Tranquillity, Megadeth have also played a big role.

Other influences is life in general. The lyrics I write are inspired of real life events, mainly my own experiences but also others.

What first got you into music?

I was never really good at sports growing up, like my brothers were. I think music spoke to me and I have always been a very creative and deep person. The music came naturally in a way.

My oldest brother introduced me to hard rock and metal and it grew on me. A few years down the road when I discovered Metallica, something inside me woke.

I wanted to play drums and I wanted to compose music. I never had a plan to be a musician, it just happened and it just felt right.

If you could collaborate with a current band or musician who would it be?

Oh, wow! Hard question! There are so many so I really can’t say. I’m afraid I will forget someone, ha ha!

If you could play any festival in the world, which would you choose and why?

Wacken! I mean, it’s the biggest and most metal festival there is! Of course Sweden Rock Festival does not sound bad either 😉

What’s the weirdest gift you have ever received from a fan?

Maybe not weird but in a way it is. We have, as far as we know, two different people who have a tattoo of our logo on their body. It’s a big honour of course, but also weird in a way because it’s so hard to grasp. Amazing!

If you had one message for your fans, what would it be?

I would like to say THANK YOU to all you Zephyra soldiers out there who are fighting for us and supporting us through everything!

If you could bring one rock star back from the dead, who would it be?

Criss Oliva. Such an underrated guitarist who died too soon!

What do you enjoy the most about being a musician? And what do you hate?

Creating music! It makes my blood flow and when I am performing with my family (the band) on stage in front of our lovely fans, that’s worth all the hard times.

I hate all of the business side. I didn’t start with music to being able to run a business, you know. It’s a necessary part though to being able reach out to more people and to grow as a band.

If you could change one thing about the music industry, what would it be?

Take away the industry part and make it only about the music.

Name one of your all-time favourite albums?

“Gutter Ballet” – Savatage

What’s best? Vinyl, Cassettes, CD’s or Downloads?

I don’t have an opinion about that, they all serve a purpose. But I’m quite nostalgic about CD’s though.

What’s the best gig that you have played to date?

Hard one, but I think I must say that the last two shows on our last UK tour were special in so many ways. We played in Birmingham and Norwich and Åsa’s voice was severely affected by pollen so she couldn’t growl at all in Birmingham and then she couldn’t sing at all (!) in Norwich. But, we soldiered on and played the shows anyway with the amazing support from our lovely fans. I am very proud of the band that we didn’t give up and pushed through. The show must go on.

If you weren’t a musician, what else would you be doing?

I don’t know, maybe something with animals. I am a big dog lover.

Which five people would you invite to a dinner party?

My band! Wait, that’s only three, ha ha. Well, that’s enough. I like small gatherings.

What’s next for the band?

Next shows are in Norway and the Netherlands in July and August at Totsås Rock and Tattoofest. Other than that we are brewing on some things we can’t talk about yet.

What Social Media/Website links do you use to get your music out to people?

https://www.facebook.com/zephyraofficial/
https://www.youtube.com/user/ZephyraVideos
https://www.instagram.com/zephyraofficial/
http://www.zephyra.se/

Jaffa Cakes? Are they a cake or a biscuit?

I have actually never heard of them so I can’t say.

Thank you for your time. Is there anything else that you would like to add?

Thanks for this interview and stay metal out there!

 

Promo Pic

 

Disclaimer: This interview is solely the property of Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this interview, unless you have the strict permission of said parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

 

Thrashatouille – Rise Of The Bludgeonaise EP

Rise Of The Bludgeonaise EP Cover

Thrashatouille – Rise Of The Bludgeonaise EP
Self Released
Release Date: September 2018
Running Time: 13:54
Review by Beth Jones
7/10

There are many things in adult life to be uncertain of; your career choice, where you should live, if your kids will turn out ok, how the hell did you use that much electric in one month, what possessed you to think your first relationship was a good idea, you know – the kind of three in the morning insomnia inducing worries that plague us; but there are two things I couldn’t be more certain of – my love of music and my love of food! So, what better way to celebrate these two wonderful things, than with a good serving of Northwich based thrash metal chefs, Thrashatouille!

Formed in 2017, out of a drunken idea, the band features Head Chef Chris Hargreaves (Bass), Pastry Chef Rob Sutton (Lead Vocals), Sous Chef James Von Gerber (Guitar), and Pot Wash Dan Brown (Drums), coming together to make the perfect culinary thrash metal team! Their Debut EP “Rise Of The Bludgeonaise, is today’s focus for our critique! The EP has been delighting their dedicated fans, new and old, since its release, however they haven’t had a formal review of it, until now!

The foody theme is all encompassing, with even the track list written as a ‘Set Menu’. I like this – it shows that they have thought really hard about the whole package and have a good hold on who they are and what they are about. It explores the themes of love, killer food, and the unfortunate aftermath of too much chilli! On the menu we have a starter, a choice of two mains, and a dessert. As I am critiquing today, I shall be, of course, eating both mains mwahahahaha!! (Ok so I have just made a serious decision about my lack of career direction – why the hell did I not become a food critic?!)

The Starter – ‘Thrashatouille’. I rather enjoyed this dish. From the first taste, it packs quite a meaty punch, offering a host of different textures. It is quite gravelly in some places but does give you a sweet and crisp interlude somewhere in the middle. It also doesn’t outstay its welcome – there is nothing worse than an over egged starter, but thankfully this isn’t it. It is an interesting concept, the birth of an evil being. Full of all the thrashing and writhing that I would want from a good metal lite bite!

The Mains – ‘Chilli Con Carnage’. Continuing the meaty theme, this is much chunkier than the starter, and its lyrical description leaves me wondering if my bowel will survive! The accompaniments are good – fast paced and rhythmical, it has an undeniable tang, with dark and rich undertones.

The Mains – ‘Spaghetti Bludgeonaise’. This dish brings the menu to life! It is peppered with sharp top notes and fatty bass notes throughout. Its frantic mid tones and pulsing dark tones send you into a terrifying sensory party, filled with hallucinations of your food attacking you. Mid way through, it does begin to feel a little sluggish, however this may be the aftereffects of the chilli con carnage!

Dessert – ‘Red Velvet Romance’. Now I do like a good slice of Red Velvet, however this one is not as smooth as I am used to, but then it is thrash food, so that can be excused. It is still extremely tasty, and makes you want to move about. If anything, this dessert was a little small for me, and it has certainly left me wanting more!

This meal is certainly a party on the palette, and whilst there is still room for some little tweaks to the recipes, I think this is a very accomplished first menu, showing real talent and an eye for detail. It is very well seasoned and shows a range of skills in keeping with their style. I look forward to the next encounter in the Thrashatouille Bistro and hope to see a fuller range of menu options next time – may I suggest an aperitif, a fish course, and possibly end it all with coffee and a ‘wafer-thin’ mint?!

TRACKLISTING:
01. Thrashatouille
02. Chilli Con Carnage
03. Spaghetti Bludgeonaise
04. Red Velvet Romance

LINKS:
https://www.facebook.com/Thrashatouille/

https://www.instagram.com/thrashatouilleofficial/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFmKgvG3tfiuN4WYckdpP1Q

 

Thrashatouille Pic

 

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Beth Jones and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

 

Matt Mitchell & the Coldhearts – S/T

Matt Mitchell _ The Coldhearts Cover

Matt Mitchell & the Coldhearts – S/T
MMRecordingworks
Release Date: 31/05/2019
Running Time: 53:22
Review by Paul Monkhouse
10/10

Anyone who has ever seen or heard Pride, Furyon or Colour of Noise knows that Matt Mitchell is one of the finest singers in rock. Now fronting his own band, he has the chance to be centre stage and to really flex his musical muscles, producing what is one of the very best albums you’ll hear this year. Sure, some of it does indeed rock but there’s much more to the MM&tC than that as Mitchell and the band have captured lightning in a bottle by combining elements from some of the finest songwriters of modern times whilst very much being their own men.

As with solidly rocky, swinging groove of the opening track ‘Black Diamonds’ and the rest of the album, the thing that really strikes you is the richness of Mitchells voice, an instrument that can bluster or caress with the best of them. There is a fair mix of both as the band switch effortlessly between hard and heavy and much more introspective fare throughout the running time of the release. Following the dark and twisting first track, ‘Home’ is a much brighter, almost poppy, number that has a light Summery feel whilst still remaining powerful.

The album is sprinkled with echoes of Springsteen, Chris Cornell and the Stones, the songwriting really coming to the fore in the way that recent gig partners The Quireboys have mastered. The woozy Soundgarden-ish soundscape of ‘On and On’ bringing a real early 70’s sound typifies this approach, unafraid of putting the craft first and not just going for an easier all-out attack. This really is an album that keeps on giving and will bear repeat listenings over the years, eschewing any dated attempts at capturing the zeitgeist or riding trends. There is also a real honesty in the lyrics, touching on very personal subjects that are obviously very close the heart of the writer, deep whilst not being maudlin. There are hints of rocking out with your mates, beer in hand, girls, cars and fun but also a quality that is sorely missed from the combined partying output of Kiss, Motley Crue and Steel Panther.

‘Unavailable’ amazes with its zig-zagging riff and rhythm that Mick and Keef would be proud of while acoustic ballad ‘Old Enough & Ugly Enough’ is prime John Fogerty in feel, replete with a soaring but tasteful guitar solo. Rockers ‘Wave Goodbye’ and Everything to You’ are gutsy slabs of glorious guitar and driving drums and bass that really shake things up before the album closes with ‘Keep Me Safe’. This last track is a definite highlight of an already hugely accomplished record, being a slow building atmospheric treat accompanied by some peddle steel and plaintive vocals. If you manage to get your hands on the initial, special edition, copy of the album you’ll be treated to the outstanding acoustic version of ‘Home’ and the equally lovely live piano version of ‘Dare You to Watch’. In a year crammed with so many excellent albums already it would be a crime not to add this gem to your collection. I guarantee it will be something you’ll love for years to come.

TRACKLISTING:
01. Black Diamonds
02. Home
03. On & On
04. Dare You To Watch
05 Kings & Queens
06. Unavailable
07. Do You Wanna Be My God
08. Old Enough & Ugly Enough
09 Wave Goodbye
10. Everything To You
11. Keep Me Safe
12 Waiting For The Sun
13. Home (Acoustic Version, Special Edition Bonus Track)
14. Dare You To Watch (Piano Version, Special Edition Bonus Track)

LINKS:
http://www.mattmitchellmusic.com/
https://www.facebook.com/mmitchellmusic/

https://www.instagram.com/mmitchellmusic/

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCHGNbu5DgyXNTvq3HnPHdeQ

 

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Paul Monkhouse and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.