Reviews

EMQs with Acid Reign

521_logo

EMQs with Acid Reign

Hi everyone. Welcome to our new EMQs interview with Acid Reign. Huge thanks to vocalist Howard H Smith for taking park!

 
What is your name, what do you play and can you tell us a little bit about the history of the band?

My name is Howard H Smith and I am vocalist with UK thrash band Acid Reign. We go back to the 80’s so history available here
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Acid_Reign   It’s too much to type! 😊

How did you come up with your band name?

Bass player came up with it.

What country are you from and what is the Metal/Rock scene like there?

England. All good thanks, thriving.

What is your latest release? (Album, EP, Single or Video)

New album “The Age Of Entitlement” was out on September 27th 2019.

Who have been your greatest influences?

Fish from Marillion.

What first got you into music?

Marillion made me fall in love with music. I already liked music but they were my first love.

If you could collaborate with a current band or musician who would it be?

We are collaborating with one of my favourite artists Suzanne Vega on our new album.

If you could play any festival in the world, which would you choose and why?

Goodwood Festival of Speed, some of the most awesome cars you will ever see all gathered in one place. Heaven.

What’s the weirdest gift you have ever received from a fan?

A handmade Acid Reign lighter for my 47th birthday in Almera Spain.

If you had one message for your fans, what would it be?

See you out on the road!

If you could bring one Metal/Rock star back from the dead, who would it be?

Dave Mustaine. Too soon?

What do you enjoy the most about being a musician? And what do you hate?

Performing live and creating new music. People moaning on social media because bands do not plan their careers/tours/releases around THEIR wishes. Hence The Age Of Entitlement”.

If you could change one thing about the music industry, what would it be?

Festivals/venues taking a percentage of merch sales.

Name one of your all-time favourite albums?

Reign In Fucking Blood!

What’s best? Vinyl, Cassettes, CD’s or Downloads?

CD’s for the car, Vinyl for the house and Downloads on the move.

What’s the best gig that you have played to date?

Bloodstock 2015, hands down the best show this band has EVER played.

If you weren’t a musician, what else would you be doing?

I have been a stand-up comedian for 25 years and still am!

Which five people would you invite to a dinner party?

Mohammed Ali, Gore Vidal, Bill Hicks, Salvador Dali and Jeff Hanneman

What’s next for the band?

Touring our first album for 29 years, festivals and all that good stuff.

What Social Media/Website links do you use to get your music out to people?

Here you go:

https://www.facebook.com/acid.reign.thrash

https://www.instagram.com/acidreignukac/

https://acidreign1.bandcamp.com/

http://wwwyoutube.com/user/AcidReignTV

Jaffa Cakes! Are they a cake or a biscuit?

It’s a biscuit! You can tell by the shape and size, it’s a cake in name only.

Thank you for your time. Is there anything else that you would like to add?

Thank you for the support and to all of you reading this. It feels great to be back with a new album after all these years. If you haven’t heard it please seek out The Age Of Entitlement I promise it’s not shit! 😊

Thanks that was a lot of fun with some cool and unique questions.

 

Disclaimer: This interview is solely the property of Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this interview, unless you have the strict permission of said party. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

 

Collateral – ‘Collateral’

795536

Collateral – ‘Collateral’
Roulette Media Records / Cargo Records UK
Release Date: 21/02/2020
Running Time: 34:35
Reviewed By Paul Monkhouse
8/10

The rock scene has seemingly never looked healthier and 2019 has seen some absolutely incredible new albums emerge this year. This trend looks to continue well into 2020 with the release firstly of the Anchor Lane debut album and this, the first full length offering by Kent four-piece Collateral in February. Already making a big impression on UK and global audiences with slots at Camden Rocks, Ramblin’ Man and an appearance alongside Jon Bon Jovi, these South East rockers are amongst the most hotly tipped bands for future superstardom and this self-titled release shows exactly why they’re getting so much attention.

The songs on the album are huge and have such lofty ambitions to be played in stadiums but, unlike many who have come before, their strongest weapon in the fight is their talent and drive to succeed. Despite all the big, singalong anthems and flamboyant image, it’s not all empty glamour and glitz as beneath the noise and gleaming chrome of the surface lies a real blue-collar heart and recaptures the spirit of when Bon Jovi and their ilk were at their peak.

The album kicks off with the single ‘Mr. Big Shot’ and it’s a giant slab of commercial hard rock that mixes in some really 80’s elements ranging from classic American AOR to some almost New Romantic undertones and a pinch of ELO. Full of great guitar work from Todd Winger and epic vocals by Angelo Tristan, the track drips with tongue in cheek innuendos and a huge sense of a band having a ball in the studio. More monster riffing and vast melodies power along paeon to the modern music industry ‘Promiseland’, it sounds like the sleazy lovechild of AC/DC and, should have been huge, USA rock legends Giant as it snarls and purrs, leading to a superb solo by Winger. The band dust off their cowboy boots as the Southern Rock feel of ‘Merry Go Round’ brings images of swirling dust devils and shimmering desert heat to mind as they effortlessly turn their home county ‘Garden of England’ into the American Midwest. Close your eyes and you can feel the sun beating down and the dry mouthed feel that is desperate to be administered an ice-cold beer. Without doubt, one of the greatest strengths of the band is to conjure up that sense of time and place in a very tangible way, transporting you to a time when hair was big, and choruses were even bigger. This is no aping of the classic bands of that era but a contemporary take on the type of rock music that made Bon Jovi et al kings of stadiums, the production by Sean M Kenny bringing out the best in the material whilst giving it a thoroughly modern sheen.

‘In it for Love’ exemplifies this approach as it perfectly balances the pounding rock driven by rhythm section Ben Atkinson on drums and Jack Bentley-Smith’s bass alongside such a great, dynamic song that will have you singing along in no time. With its instantly catchy “woooh oooh oooh” gang vocals during the chorus and another fret blazing solo ‘Lullaby’ has already become a live favourite and should be blaring out of every car radio across the Atlantic, such is its perfect suitability for the American market.

Also finding its main inspiration the other side of the ‘pond’ is ‘Midnight Queen’, the band tilting their Stetsons to a more AOR meets Country Rock feel that sounds like it might have been written by Richard Marx and Vince Gill, the opening line the name of a huge hit that Marx wrote for Vixen and it shares that same sense of space, the focus on the songwriting, not the flash.

Those waiting for the heartfelt power ballad won’t be disappointed as ‘Get Back to You’ ticks all the right boxes, Tristan pouring his heart out as he longs to return home whilst the song proves it’s more about quality and quiet than drama school overemphasis.

Having stated their love for the aforementioned Mr. Jovi, the band expressed their intent to write something that captured the spirit of tracks like ‘Always’ and this certainly will see a sea of mobile phone lights (nobody is allowed lighters at gigs these days) held aloft in tribute. The pace picks up once again in the spot on, commercial pop rock of ‘Won’t Stop Me Dreaming’, a song that contains a tough streak of steely determination laced through its supremely candy coated and instantly addictive shell. The album ends with ‘About this Boy’, another country tinged track that once more heads more to the massive and lucrative Nashville scene than the heavier end of their material. Whilst a meatier number may have been more fitting, the song is still imbued with that Transatlantic feel that may well find the band gaining ground both in their home country and in the United States given the growing market here and the already titanic base there. Always doing things their way, Collateral continue to push forward, and this album shows just how far they’ve grown and where they’re heading. The stadiums of the world are beckoning.

Track Listing:
1 Mr Big Shot
2 Promised Land
3 Merry Go Round
4 In It For Love
5 Lullaby
6 Midnight Queen
7 Get Back To You
8 Won’t Stop Me Dreaming
9 About This Boy

Links:
https://www.collateralofficial.com/
https://www.facebook.com/collateralrocks/

https://www.instagram.com/collateralrocks/

 

015027

 

 

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Paul Monkhouse and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Trippy Wicked and The Cosmic Children of The Knight – Moving On Singles

Picture1

Trippy Wicked and The Cosmic Children of The Knight – Moving On Singles
APF Records
Release Date: 30/10/2019
Running Time: 21:24
Reviewed By: Dark Juan
9/10

Good evening, my initiates. It is I, the Ipsissimus of all things Groovy, Dark Juan, and I am here to take your mind off the mundane and into realms of cosmic thought never truly encompassed in the human journey before. Or I could just write a record review.

However, I’m sure you have all become accustomed to me babbling incoherently about anything but the record I am supposed to be writing about AND THIS TIME IS GOING TO BE NO DIFFERENT! However this time, it’s a simple message I want to share with you all. After all this unpleasantness to do with rich bastards squabbling over who gets to tell us what to do and lying about what they will give you to make you like them is out of the way (they won’t give you what they promise anyway) take the time to reconnect with people who might have different opinions to you.

Love everyone without question, my people, for that is what makes the world a better place. Not which motherfucker in a suit sits in a leather chair and talks a lot. Love each other and for fuck’s sake look for the good in each other because I have never seen such venom and vitriol flying amongst friends before. It’s fucking depressing to see friendships that are years old fall apart because of shitposting on the internet. Us alternative people only have each other to depend on – so fucking love each other, drink the fucking beer, smoke the fucking weed, hug fucking strangers and turn them into fucking friends and dance the fuck out of every piece of metal you hear. So sayeth My gospel. Here endeth the sermon…

Trippy Wicked and The Cosmic Children of The Knight. Now there’s a name to conjure with and no mistake. I like it. I like it a lot. This EP comprises four songs that didn’t make the Movin On (I hate it when bands do this. There’s a G at the end of the word for a reason. STOP IT FOR FUCK’S SAKE!) album recorded in 2009 and as the demented pscyhonauts themselves put it, “10 songs had made the album while the other 4 went in the cupboard under the stairs and were forgotten about for a while. Since then we’ve played a whole bunch of gigs, released another album and a few EPs, went on a few tours around the UK and Germany, and generally did what bands do. The 10 year anniversary is a perfect opportunity for us to revisit the recording on Movin On, give those 4 extra songs a release and finally share them with our fans. So here they are. Dig it.”

Quite. So here we have four songs based on absolute fuzz heaven. Fuzzy fuzzy fuzz fuzz with a bit of fuzz-wah thrown in for variety. It is stoner doom distilled down to the most basic elements of stoner doom – highly distilled Sabbath riffs, lazy tempos, thunderous fuzzy bass (if only the bass player was called Fozzy, then my life would be complete) and a drummer who seems intent on reducing his drums to their component atoms instead of playing them.

Opening track “Evil” starts with the sound of a bad earth before the instruments all kick in together with the kind of punch in the guts a certain Mr. Tyson might deliver if you upset him and a heartbreakingly beautiful palindromic riff of such stoner splendour this hellpriest fell to his knees and wept against the sofa. Hodgson Fartpants (the only dog to be classified as an illegal chemical weapon under both NATO rules and the Geneva Convention. Not even the Russians would have him) was sat on it at the time and gave me a look best described as quizzical and not “What the fucking fuck is that fucking demented human bastard doing this time and why does it not involve feeding me?” It is very, very good as it stomps all over the landscape like some kind of ironclad assault walker. Vocals from Peter Holland are very Ozzy-esque as well, having that high pitched, throaty and raw quality that the auteur Mr. Osbourne had when he fronted Sabbath the first time.

Track two “Hark At You” is more of the same wholesome stoner wonderfulness but a bit faster this time, as if the boys had put down the weed and decided a bit of the old Billy Whizz was the way to go this time. It’s a bit of a goer, this song, like it’s had its arse whipped sore by a vigorous rider and moves along at a brisk canter.

“Things Go Up” is the third song in. This is where Peter decided that we needed to hear his fuzz-wah. He was right. We all needed to hear his fuzz-wah. Fuzz-wah me, baby. It’s soooooooooo good. I love it when you fuzz-wah me. Don’t stop. Drummer Chris West had apparently also decided that his cymbals had to die on this song and gave his crashes the kind of thrashing that only Basil Fawlty can deliver with any conviction.

The final song on the record is called “I Wanna Be” and sees the entire fucking kitchen being thrown at the song, not just the sink. There’s wah, there’s phaser, there’s the kind of monolithic riffs Kirk Windstein and Tony Iommi would face off in a grim battle to the death to claim to have written. And the bass. Oh, the bass. Dicky King (probably deploying the smile of champions he is displaying in the band photo) goes into some kind of fuzz nirvana and disappears (in my head anyway) into a pineal focus streaming outwards from his third eye in glorious psychotropic colour, dissolving into a self-contained universe of the groove…

Ok, I have managed to contain myself. It’s cost me a pair of pants, as it usually does. Trippy Wicked are awesome. Buy their music.

Trippy Wicked, I salute you. Now I’m going to drink this beer.

The Patented Dark Juan Blood Splat Rating System is floating motionless in a universal groove constant and awards Trippy Wicked etc etc 9/10 for a trip through the psychedelic heartlands that leaves me wanting more…

Tracklist

Evil
Hark At You
Things Go Up
I Wanna Be

Trippy Wicked and The Cosmic Children of the Knight are: quite clearly insane.
Pete Holland – vocals, guitars, brass, slightly worrying propensity to look at your left ear when talking to you.
Dicky King – bass, winning smile, award winning face fuzz.
Chris West – drums, knowing smirk. This man has seen things – things that would fuck you right up.

Links

https://www.facebook.com/trippywicked/
https://www.instagram.com/trippywicked/

 

Picture2

 

 

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Dark Juan and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

EMQ’s with Forged In Black

3540372556_logo

EMQ’s with Forged In Black

Hi everyone. Welcome to our new EMQ’s interview with Forged In Black. Huge thanks to vocalist Stoz for taking part!

What is your name, what do you play and can you tell us a little bit about the history of the band?

Hi guys, Stoz here lead singer of Forged in Black. We’ve been forging away creating our style of British Heavy Metal for 10 years now, since schoolboys Kieron Rochester and Andy Songhurst started the band. Our members are Kev on drums, Bone on guitar, Andy on lead guitar and Kieron on bass. We’ve just celebrated our 10th anniversary with a home town show in Southend on sea Essex to finish the decade in style.

How did you come up with your band name?

Originally the band was named “Merciless Fail” by Kieron and Andy. In 2013 we felt the name wasn’t as strong as the band were becoming so we changed it to our most anthemic song title from our first release “Forged In Black”.

What country are you from and what is the Metal/Rock scene like there?

We are all from Southend-On-Sea in England. Nationally, we believe the metal is strong in the veins of our Country men and women, and there are so many fantastic bands about. With festivals such as Bloodstock giving smaller bands opportunities it is opening the local scenes up to exposure that just wouldn’t be there without them, due to venue closures.

What is your latest release? (Album, EP, Single or Video)

This year we released our second album “Descent of the Serpent” produced by Romesh Dodangoda (Motörhead, Bring Me The Horizon) and released via Fighter Records. It’s released worldwide via all streaming site and our website. We have a couple of music videos up if you check out our Youtube and Facebook http://www.facebook.com/forgedinblacks

Who have been your greatest influences?

All 5 of us have our own favourite styles, artists and genres. To name a few of them collectively I’d say, Black Sabbath, Iron Maiden, Metallica, Judas Priest, Pantera and some Death metal thrown in there for Bone.

What first got you into music?

My mother has always had love for music, so I grew up with the Beatles, Doors and everyone during 60’s-80’s blasting out on the car radio or on in the house.

If you could collaborate with a current band or musician who would it be?

We recently opened up for the Three Tremors at a show in London, so we’d love Tim Ripper Owens to jump on a track in the future. That would work great and he’s such a fantastic singer. I’ve been a big fan for years.

If you could play any festival in the world, which would you choose and why?

To be honest we’d like to play them all!! They are great fun and the fans are there for one reason and that’s to bang their heads to Metal.

What’s the weirdest gift you have ever received from a fan?

I can’t think of any weird ones.

If you had one message for your fans, what would it be?

We love you and thank you for supporting us for the last 10 years. See you in 2020 for bigger and better things.

If you could bring one Metal/Rock star back from the dead, who would it be?

For me it would 100% have to be the master, Ronnie James Dio. To talk to him about all his creative and magical ways.

What do you enjoy the most about being a musician? And what do you hate?

It has to be playing live, the energy of that and the execution of our performance in front of great people all there to rock. Hate, it would have to be the long drives.

If you could change one thing about the music industry, what would it be?

Bigger pay-outs from streaming sites.

Name one of your all-time favourite albums?

Epicus Doomicus Metallicus – Candlemass – I love the doom, the songs and the singing by Johan Langquist. I always have a copy in the car.

What’s best? Vinyl, Cassettes, CD’s or Downloads?

I think I prefer CDs. It comes with artwork you can behold and admire, lyrics or information inside. So for me, yes CDs. Until I leave them laying around and break them.

What’s the best gig that you have played to date?

This year we headlined the Serpents lair VIP stage at Bloodstock, so that’s the best so far and this year. Great fun and a great festival.

If you weren’t a musician, what else would you be doing?

We all have day jobs, so I guess we’d just be doing them with a large Forged in Black hole in our lives.

Which five people would you invite to a dinner party?

Kev, Andy, Bone, Kieron and James Hetfield, that would be interesting.

What’s next for the band?

Up next for us as we storm into 2020, is a lot of social media behind the scenes bits and bobs. As we release new gig dates, record more music videos for tracks off “Descent of the Serpent” and continue writing album number 3! So make sure you are on our Facebook, Instagram and twitter pages for great new content.

What Social Media/Website links do you use to get your music out to people?

You can check us out on our website http://www.forgedinblack.com with links to all social media and online stores. http://www.facebook.com/forgedinblacks

Jaffa Cakes! Are they a cake or a biscuit?

Clues in the title for me, a cake and not on my shopping list.

Thank you for your time. Is there anything else that you would like to add?

Thank you for your questions and we hope to speak more in 2020.

 

 

Disclaimer: This interview is solely the property of Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this interview, unless you have the strict permission of said party. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

EMQ’s with Lonescar

untitled

EMQ’s with Lonescar

Hi everyone. Welcome to our new EMQ’s interview with Texan Metal bank Lonescar! Huge thanks to guitarist, Micheal Perez and vocalist, Brian Valdibia for taking part!

What is your name, what do you play, and can you tell us a little bit about the history of the band?

M – I’m Michael Perez and I play guitar for the band Lonescar. This band essentially evolved from a middle school talent show performance. Members came and went over time because it wasn’t taken seriously at all. Playing music was as much as a hobby as playing video games; it was just something to do on the weekends at a friend’s house. It wasn’t until 2013 when the members at the time buckled down and decided to take this seriously, which was short-lived after “adulting” kicked in. In 2015, we recruited a second guitarist, Joe Luera, and our current vocalist, Brian Valdibia. Joe had to bow out of the band due to personal reasons. So, this current incarnation of Lonescar started in 2018, which is the first time the band officially performed and started writing as a four-piece. This band always had two guitarists, and after our 4th one left, I just grew tired from the thought of teaching some new guy our set for the umpteenth time. But I do believe that as a four-piece, the true essence of Lonescar is captured.

B – My name is Brian Valdibia, and I’m the lead vocalist is the band. Lonescar was formed in mid-late 2013 and had built a nice following and had some big name shows under their belt, I found out about them in 2015 through a mutual friend who happened to be a sit-in drummer that they had before J.C. I had a similar band at the time, we were both young, thrashy, and hungry and as soon as I met and saw these guys play once I knew we would kill it if I was fronting this band. (Brian’s responses are highlighted)

How did you come up with your band name?

I didn’t, these guys already had it when I joined, I thought it was clever, funny, and catchy.

What country are you from and what is the metal scene like there?

M – I am from the greatest “country” on God’s green Earth – The Lone Star state of Texas. Texas is HUGE and the musical scenes vary depending on which part of the state you’re in. We are from the southernmost region of Texas called the Rio Grande Valley. As far as metal goes, I’d say everything is standard. It’s not until you dig in to the alternative and rock scene where the heavy Tex-Mex influence is present. A lot of Latin sounds and imagery are injected into the music.

B – We’re from the states, Texas to be exact, and our metal scene as a whole is “good”, but we’re from a primarily Mexican/Hispanic area, so a lot of poverty, places go out of business all the time so it’s hard to keep venues and bars open for metal bands to play at.

But when there’s support, THERE’S SUPPORT!

What is your latest release (Album, EP, Single, Video)

M – Our upcoming release “Lust for the End” will be coming out in January 2020. It will have 11 songs, all of which we wrote as a four-piece. It is a really dynamic record because each member has their own unique taste in music, yet we are all tied by a thread due to our common influences with bands such as Pantera, Lamb of God, Gojira, Mastodon, etc. So, do not be surprised if there are some 2009 metalcore elements in one song and then full-blown death metal in the next song.

B – Our latest release will be our single “Images from Mauthausen” from our album “Lust for the End” that comes out in 1/31/2020. The single will be available for streaming on 12/13/19, it’s a hell of a banger so y’all need to check it out! We also have a couple of more singles/goodies coming out before the end of the year, so keep those eyes peeled!

Who have been your greatest influences?

M – My journey through metal and rock started with the classics. It’s common for people my age, when they were kids, to start with the modern and heavy shit from the get-go and then find their way back to the old goodies. So, when I picked up the guitar and developed an interest in music, all I knew was KISS, Led Zeppelin, and Black Sabbath. As far as my approach on guitar goes, my foundation is built upon Ace Frehley and Jimmy Page. So, I’m not one to shy away from some gritty pentatonic runs when it is necessary, and then I eventually stumbled upon the great Dimebag Darrell, which is basically a given if you grow up in Texas. The person that kind of nudged me into the pool of shredding and melody was Synyster Gates, so he has a small place in my heart for that. I then fell in love with the bends and exotic style of Marty Friedman – you can hear some of those nuances in some of my lead playing. The last person to make an impact on me was Oli Herbert from All That Remains. His style was just beautiful aggression, and he is the reason why I picked up an Ibanez Xiphos.

B – Life in general, I get influenced by pretty much anything I consider beautiful to this world. Art, movies, literature. If you mean music wise, I would have to say John Lennon, Dallas Green, and Phil Anselmo just to name a few but honestly way too many to list.

What first got you into music?

M – I can’t really remember the exact moment I got into music, nor can I recall exactly why I wanted to play guitar in the first place. Growing up, I remember listening to George Strait and The Eagles a lot with my dad, and when I hung out with my uncle, there was always KISS playing around the house. I was just always exposed to music, and I guess it helped that I was around people that were obsessed with the music they listened to. Nobody in my family plays any instruments, so I am really perplexed as to why I got into this stuff. Shit just happens!

B – I’ve always liked music, some of my earliest memories are listening to tapes and spending hrs. playing with them, my mother loves to sing so the house was always blasting the stereo and my step dad played drums so that had to do a bit with it too I suppose.

If you could collaborate with a current band or musician who would it be?

M – I would like to collab with Chris Stapleton and see how heavy we can get. I’ve always been a big fan of his voice and song writing. Then I heard his song “Blow” that he performed with Bruno Mars and Ed Sheeran. That song riffs hard, so it would be cool to hash out an even heavier banger, and perhaps some outlaw stuff in-between.

B – Dallas Green for sure! He’s an amazing song writer. I would also love to work with kerry2smooth, he’s an amazing r’n’b guitarist and I would love to make a record like that one day. Most of the music I make by myself is really outside of metal really ha-ha!

If you could play any festival in the world, which would you choose and why?

Download fest!!! or any European style festival Or Mayhem now that its back!! 😉 ACL would be cool too just cause we’re from Texas, and I would love to see most of the rappers on the bill anyway.

What’s the weirdest gift you have ever received from a fan?

I once received a thong that was autographed by the guys in Havok. It was a belated birthday gift from a fan, and I still have it tucked away in a drawer somewhere. For the record, the thong was never used, although I did try it on once.

If you had one message for your fans, what would it be?

First of all: Thank you! We often hear from fans that they wish they had more material to jam out to. We hope y’all can enjoy our latest offering!

If you could bring one rock star back from the dead, who would it be?

M – For the sake of seeing Pantera live, I would bring back Dimebag Darrell. I was in the 5th grade when he passed, and I had no idea who Pantera was at the time. I feel as if he was taken away from us too soon, and he still had a lot of music to grace us with. Obviously, what he did with Pantera was great, but I also enjoyed what he put out with Damageplan. Dude even jammed with David Allan Coe, which is awesome in my book. Perhaps in 2020, there could have been a Pantera reunion and another country collaboration with the likes of Cody Jinks.

B – Well it used to be dime but now that Vinny is gone too, I’d have to bring back two. I was born a tad too late to see Pantera.

What do you enjoy the most about being a musician? And what do you hate?

M – I hate practice. I hate rehearsals. I hate band expenditures. I hate the clashing of personalities and egos. I hate transporting and setting up my gear for shows. I hate maintaining my instruments and equipment. I sometimes don’t even know why I do this, until there is that moment when I step back and realize how much fun I am having with some of my best friends – my band. The memories I have partying and performing with these dudes are irreplaceable.

B – I love “The life,” sharing music with the world, sharing my thought with others, meeting new people, and seeing different places. I hate the loneliness, creative frustration, and the instability sometimes but if you work hard enough you do notice change. Just like anything else.

If you could change one thing about the music industry, what would it be?

The way connections are, and networking is done, I think it should be focused purely on talent and actual hard work but like anything money talks.

Name one of your all-time favourite albums?

M – If there was a gun to my head, I would pick Green Day’s American Idiot. It is a perfect album that I jammed to every day from front to back for years. I was 9 or 10 at the time of its release, right when I was starting to become aware of our nation’s political turmoil, and the album addressed topics such as mass hysteria, war, and the struggles of the middle class. The story that followed the album’s protagonist, Jesus of Suburbia, was amazing and relatable. Green Day also managed to pull of not only one, but two rock operas in a punk album. It was all killer and no filler.

B – Dark Side of the freaking Moon!!! I can listen to it every day, or St Pepper’s Lonely-Hearts Club Band, amazing records that have stood the test of time and still sound great.

What’s best? Vinyl, Cassettes, CD’s or Downloads?

M – Without trying to sound like a hipster, (which would be impossible in this case), I love listening to vinyl when I am in the mood to get intimate with the music. Just the ritual of pulling out a Frank Sinatra record out of its sleeve and then dropping the needle is a great feeling. Remove all distractions, pour yourself a glass of whiskey, and just take all the music in. The sound quality is also objectively better than a compressed MP3 file.

B – I love vinyl and started growing my collection, I grew up with CDs right when tapes were leaving so I have an insane amount, I’m the type of person that like physical copies but I do stream a lot too just cause of how convenient it is.

What’s the best gig that you have played to date?

M – My favourite gig was at the Thirsty Monkey in McAllen, Texas, which is a bar with a small stage and outdoor area. I mean, we typically played there all the time, but there was this one night in particular that was especially fun. For whatever reason, the entire crowd came to party. There were pits, beers in the air, and people pressed up against the stage with smiles on their faces. At one point 3 or 4 people jumped on stage, grabbed Brian’s microphone and started singing our songs. It was a great feeling.

B – Probably opening up for Havok, that was a killer show and we destroyed that night, anytime we’re in Fredericksburg Texas is a party too lol

If you weren’t a musician, what else would you be doing?

M – I am already spreading myself thin and attending to all my aspirations at once. Writing and recording a full-length album is no walk in the park when you are also applying to medical school.

B – I’m currently finishing up my BA in anthropology so if I wasn’t a musician, I’d be doing lab work or extensive research somewhere.

Which five people would you invite to a dinner party?

M – My idea of a dinner party is typically a lot of barbecued meat and a cooler full of Shiner Bock. I love camaraderie and engaging in conversation with people that are also not afraid to get rowdy when appropriate. That being said, I would pick Joe Rogan, Randy Blythe, Corey Taylor, Aaron Franklin, and Dave Chapelle.

B – Malcom x, John Lennon, Terence McKenna, Richard Pryor, and Richard Linklater, that’s amazing party and a great conversation.

What’s next for the band?

M – I would hope to give our album Lust for the End a proper touring cycle and light the state of Texas on fire. This is our first full-length album and it was a huge investment, so I would like for it to get as much exposure as possible.

B – Anything and everything! 2020 we are coming for you!

What Social Media/Website links do you use to get your music out to people?

Facebook, twitter, Instagram, follow on Spotify as well and make sure to add us to your playlist

Jaffa Cakes? Are they a cake or a biscuit?

M – I’m afraid to Google this because I do not want another “blue waffle” situation.

B – I have no idea, I googled it and it says it’s both, so I’ll go with that. Maybe send us over some so we can try them!

 

 

Disclaimer: This interview is solely the property of Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this interview, unless you have the strict permission of said party. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

INTERVIEW WITH KIARA LAETITIA

Calendar cover

INTERVIEW WITH KIARA LAETITIA

We recently approached Kiara Laetitia, former vocalist with Italian power metal band Skylark, to do a feature about her new book and calendar, which were released at the beginning of December.

Here is our interview with the lady herself:

Thank you for taking the time to talk to us, Kiara. How are you today?

KIARA: I’m great! How are you?

So, you have a new book out titled “Never Give Up – The Real Secrets of the Music Industry” – how is that being received so far by both readers and critics?

KIARA: Actually, pretty good! Especially by musicians who found it really insightful and honest. I’m happy cause they really grasped the essence of this book, as my intent was to be very straightforward. “NEVER GIVE UP – The Real Secrets of the Music Industry” is not a manual for success, no-one can teach you that. This book is rather a checklist of the fundamental topics every musician should know to start a career in today’s music business. I also interviewed several musicians to hear their thoughts about the new music business, so I sat down with members from Ministry, Powerman 5000, Delain, Lordi (and more), but also managers and booking agents.

“NEVER GIVE UP – The Real Secrets of the Music Industry” could have easily be 500 pages long  and it’s not, because I wanted it to be accessible to as many people as possible. So, for these reasons, this book isn’t omni-comprehensive, which is why I decided to also share advice on YouTube and social media starting on January.

What made you write the book in the first place?

KIARA: Many reasons. The first being that I wish I had someone be this straightforward to me when I started out. I wish I had known all of this about the music industry. I had to learn it the hard way, by making mistakes, and failing. The second reason and what really pushed me to write this book was a couple of specific experiences as a label owner and coach who made me realize that many musicians have little knowledge of the music industry and how things work out. This makes the relationship between the industry and musicians very complicated. I’d like to share my experience, my mistakes and give insights on an industry that has been inaccurately portrayed by TV and movies.

It’s definitely a good thing that you are offering advice to new musicians. Do you wish you had this sort of reference when you were first starting out?

KIARA: Yes exactly. These days there are many books on the music industry, even though I haven’t found a single book that talks about buy-on, for instance. I didn’t start that long ago, but back in 2002/03 there was no information and the people around me didn’t offer any type of advice. At the same time, I’m glad I learned things through trial and error, because it made me who I am today. With my book, I would like to start making a change in the mentality around the music industry and offer practical help.

Where can readers get a copy of the book (and the calendar)?

KIARA: For now, they’re both available through my online shop. The book has both e-book and hard copy version. It can all be found here: http://www.bit.ly/kiaralaetitiashop.

Part of the profits of the book (and the calendar, which we will talk about in a mo.) are going towards Mental Health Illnesses. What made you choose this charity?

KIARA: In the past several years, I’ve been very vocal and active about mental health awareness. The reason is that I’m a mental illness survivor myself. I started suffering of panic attacks when I was 19, which then led to depression, and they went on and off for quite some time. It was in 2014 that I finally took action and worked on myself and taking care of my mental health. You see, we all talk about physical health, if we break an arm we go to the doctor and have it fixed, but we pay little to no attention to our mental health, to the point that, if we get mentally sick, we’re called crazy and don’t seek the help of a doctor. This stigma must finish. Our mental health is as important as our physical health and it should be treated as such! People who never dealt with mental illness think that those who have or had a mental illness are weak, while it’s actually quite the opposite. Those suffering of depression or panic attacks are actually some of the strongest people I know, as it takes a lot of strength and willpower to even get out of bed every single morning. My intention is to end the stigma surrounding mental illness and finding a way to offer financial help to those who cannot afford a psychologist or proper medication.

Mental health issues are definitely at an all-time high, aren’t they? We all need to do what we can to raise awareness.

KIARA: I think mental illnesses have always been there. Simply, like a century or even fifty years ago, people wouldn’t talk about it and would die for unknown causes. If we read certain poets and writers, we can totally see they were heavily depressed. There wasn’t awareness back then, and there was a lot of shame surrounding this topic: people were just called crazy. Shame is still there nowadays, but it’s getting better and luckily more and more people from the entertainment industry are being vocal about it, so other people don’t feel ashamed in saying. “Hey I’m bulimic! Or I’m depressed! I need help.”

Along with the book, you have also released a calendar. Where did the idea come for that?

KIARA: I’ve been wanting to do a calendar for a few years now. In the summer, I was going through some ideas on how to visually represent the book, represent a strong woman in the music industry, represent the idea of not giving up…and I though the calendar could be a great idea. All the pictures in the calendar give a sense of strength and passion, which is one of the concepts present in my book “NEVER GIVE UP – The Real Secrets of the Music Industry”.

You’ve modelled for a few big names. Is modelling something you would get back into?

KIARA: I have. Would I model again? Well, I’ve done it for the calendar. I guess if a cause or brand I believe in would ask I’d definitely do it, but working again as a full-time pro model I’d say no.

Do you have any plans in the pipeline for the music side of things or are you concentrating on the book and calendar at the moment?

KIARA: I released a cover version of “The Power Of Love” (Frankie Goes To Hollywood) for Christmas, a duet with Sonny Ensabella from Queenmania. In 2020, I’ll focus more on new songs and have something released musically speaking. But 2020, will also see me promote my book.

I know we are not supposed to mention a lady’s age, but you turned 40 this year. Do you have any plans of slowing down or will you just keep going with all your endeavours?

KIARA: Then don’t mention it!!! Hahaha! Why should I slow down? I don’t feel 40, so age is just a number: I know several 20-year-olds that look and think much older than a 60-year-old! Our age is more dictated by the way we feel, how we treat our body, what we eat, our lifestyle. I know that a woman past the age of 30 is considered damaged goods in the music business, but luckily more and more women are setting an example and are showing the world that age is just a number and that women kick ass despite their age! Look at Cristina Scabbia (47), Tarja Turunen (42), Sharon Den Adel (45), Doro Pesch (55), they’re all past their 40s and they still rock the world (and will continue to do so for many years!!!). So, I have every intention of joining my fellow metal ladies in setting an example and kicking some asses for a bit longer…

As a woman the wrong side of 40 myself, I am quite in awe of everything you do and have achieved. Do you consider yourself a bit of a role model and do you have any advice for women of a certain age looking to fulfil their dreams?

KIARA: First of all, thank you! I think that the main point we should consider is the wording “a certain age”. As a linguist, I do pay a lot of attention to words… Have you noticed that people say “a certain age” referring to women but it’s less used for men? We still live in a world that pays too much attention to a woman’s age; when a woman is not in her 20s anymore, she gets old while men become interesting. This is absolutely wrong and sexist from our society. I don’t consider myself as a role model but I definitely wanna tell all the women out there to fulfil their dreams, to change career if they want to, even if they’re 50, to believe in themselves, to not let anyone tell them they’re too old to do what they want. We have time and hope until our last breath. Never Give Up. Love yourself, fully and intensely.

Thank you for your time. Is there anything else you would like to add?

KIARA: Thank you for this chat. Never Give Up!

 

 

Disclaimer: This interview is solely the property of Dawn “The Metal Priestess” King and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this interview, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Speedealer – Blue Days Black Nights

speedealer

Speedealer – Blue Days Black Nights
Rise Up and Fall Records
Release date: 15/11/2019
Running time: 30 mins
Review by: Alun Jones
9/10

Curse you, Speedealer! I had pretty much decided on my Top 10 albums for 2019, and then these guys turn up with this rocket fuelled bruiser of a record. The year had started off slowly, to be honest – but great new music has been arriving at a rapid pace recently. And just when I was about to bed down for a long winter nap, Speedealer turned everything up to 11 and ruined my plans.

The album is called “Blue Days, Black Nights”. It’s fast, crazy, adrenaline pumped rock’n’roll and it never stops pounding home the righteous sounds till it’s brief-but-beautiful 30-minute lifespan is over. At which point, I tend to just start again from the beginning.

The first song is called “Never New” and it smashes in, steals your whiskey and is gone in under a minute and a half. That’s reckless by anyone’s standards.

It ain’t all super-fast punk’n’roll though, there’s many a change of pace to be heard. “Rheumatism” and “War Nicht Genug” both feature riffs that are heavy and brutal. Elsewhere, in “Sold Out”, the band unleash a tortured performance of a song that would be a blues rocker, but is far too dense and violent for that phrase to fit snugly.

Never mess with Texas, goes the old saying. And these Texan boys do not fanny about AT ALL on this fine collection of tunes. Instead, “Blue Days Black Nights” will drag you along like an out of control stag party: full of booze-filled fun, ridiculous antics and dangerous detours. I’m deducting half a point for the terrible cover art, otherwise this one’s a killer.

FUN FACT: Speedealer used to be called REO Speedealer – which let’s face it, is a much better name – until REO Speedwagon got wind of it and issued a cease and desist. Anyone with a sense of humour would surely take that name as an homage, right? You’d think the miserable old bastards would’ve enjoyed being put back on the map.

What’s that? Ever Metal’s lawyers are on the phone? Court order from who? Oops…

Track listing:
1. “Never New,”
2. “Rheumatism,”
3. “War Nicht Genug,”
4. “Nothing Left To Say,”
5. “Sold Out,”
6. “Losing My Shit,”
7. “A Reckoning,”
8. “Shut Up,”
9. “Mainmast,”
10. “Blue Days Black Nights.”

Media:
speedealerband.com
wiki/Speedealer
instagram.com/speedealerband
facebook.com/Speedealerband
twitter.com/Speedealerband

 

IMG_1058.jpg

 

 

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Alun Jones and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Victor Augusto’s Top Ten Albums of 2019

Victor Augusto’s Top Ten Albums of 2019
By Victor Augusto

Before I let you loose on Victor’s Top Ten Albums of 2019 I would just like to thank him for all of his hard work this year. It’s been great to have you onboard!

Definitely 2019 was not an easy year for me. After a couple of years of intense dedication to my local Heavy Metal scene, I realized I was walking in circles and wasting energies in the middle of many egocentrical people. I also lost time with bands that don’t appreciate my support.

Before I changed my focus to professional bands, I spent a few months trying to recover myself from my mental exhaustion and I wasn’t able to follow all the good releases, but the few I heard were enough for me. So here are my impressions of what were the best this year.

10 – Acid Reign – The Age of Entitlement

10 – Acid Reign - The Age of Entitlement

The UK band Acid Reign appeared at the end of the eighties and quit in the early nineties, but they returned in this decade and let clear to the world that they still can record a killer album. “The Age Of Entitlement” just shows their creativity to play incredible riffs, as a good Thrash Metal band does. The band also explored the melodies of classic British Heavy Metal bands. All of it together with an incredible recording/production was enough to show to the world that Acid Reign is really back.

https://www.facebook.com/acid.reign.thrash/


09 – Kamala – Live in France

09 – Kamala – Live in France

Since their first years, Kamala wasn’t just a one more awesome band among all other great Brazilian bands. They put some mantras and oriental music to complement their heavy music and built a great name in their country. In this decade they changed their sonority to a straight Thrash Metal and also started to tour in Europe. From all the countries that they played, France was the one that really embraced this trio with the same passion that the band put forward when playing for French Metalheads. “Live in France” is one more brick in this great career in Europe and a great way to show that Kamala is getting bigger, even after almost 17 years on road.

https://www.facebook.com/kamalaofficial/


08 – Acero Nacional – Trueno

08 - Acero Nacional – Trueno

If you think South American Metalheads are insane, you have probably never seen the Chilean ones. Bands from there also have this spirit and you just have to analyze the name Acero Nacional to understand it. The band’s name means “National Steel” and the steel is a reference to the people who works with this metal in metallurgy industries. The band represents the workers in their country and “Trueno” (Thunder in Spanish) sounds like the title; Strong, fast and devastator.

https://www.facebook.com/aceronacional/


07 – Fleshgod Apocalypse – Veleno

07 – Fleshgod Apocalypse – Veleno

As a fan of extreme Metal I have always loved Fleshgod Apocalypse since the first time I saw the video of ‘The Violation’ in 2012. For me, they are the great new mainstream band that appeared in this decade. Instead the same old stuff from all Death/Black Metal bands; they just put opera and al Italian influence. For my surprise, the band drastically changed their line-up for this album, but I still feel the same spirit in their music. Actually, they are better in my opinion. The songs are not extremely fast all the time as before and the production chose a more organic recording. For me, those changes helped to digest easier all the complexity of their arrangements. I loved as always.

https://www.facebook.com/fleshgodapocalypse


06 – Legacy Of Kain – Paralelo XI

06 - Legacy Of Kain – Paralelo XI

The first time I heard and reviewed Legacy of Kain in 2017, they were just a new band in Brazil, with old musicians that were playing Metalcore/Thrash Metal. I liked them, but the band was not so far my favorite of the year. Now they have changed their lyrics from Portuguese to English and decided to play a strong and furious Thrash Metal with a few elements of Metalcore. All the anger you hear in this new album is from the main theme that is about the slaughter of an Indian tribe in Brazil, which happened in 1963. For sure this record will make you angry too.

https://www.facebook.com/legacyofkainbrazil/


05 – Woslom – Paranoia

05 - Woslom – Paranoia

Woslom is a very famous Thrash Metal band in Brazil. In this decade they released three great full albums and toured a lot, not only in their country but also in Europe. Again, the band brought a great theme well represented in the cover art. “Paranoia” has a dizzy stairway and the opening riffs of the title track reproduce it too. Despite it is just a four track EP, this record can show what we can expect from the next full album. A technical and crazy Thrash Metal that always surprises the listener.

https://www.facebook.com/woslom/


04 – Hatefulmurder – Reborn

04 - Hatefulmurder - Reborn

One detail that makes me admire a specific band is when I have difficulty to find their band’s style. Hatefulmurder in an incredible Heavy Metal band that offers something similar to Thrash Metal, but they sounds as heavy as a Death Metal band. Sometimes the band flees to funky bass lines structure or other styles and is not repetitive with the songs structure. This is the third band’s album and the second with Angelica Burns on vocal. She brought all heaviness with her strong vocal, sometimes similar to Tomas Lindberg voice (At The Gates singer), but the band goes further to any kind of Death Metal. I suggest you listen to “Reborn” and make your own conclusions about it.

https://www.facebook.com/hatefulbook/


03 – Destruction – Born to Perish

03 - Destruction-Born-To-Perish

Destruction is a band that doesn’t need to be introduced to anyone. I was lucky to see them live twice (in 2016 and 2018) and I even met them backstage for few minutes last year. Schmier, Mike and Andy Black were very polite and I took a pic with them to save this moment in my memory. It was few months before they announced the Damir Eskić and returned to have two guitar players. Probably any Destruction album can easily perform in a top 10 list, but “Born to Perish” has this stronger sonority due the addition of the second guitar and this album sounds even more aggressive than the others.

https://www.facebook.com/destruction/


02 – Death Angel – Humanicide

02 - Death Angel – Humanicide

It is very hard to not love anything that Death Angel release since I showed their concert in my hometown in 2010. That day I was lucky to stand in front of Rob Cavestany and he gave his guitar pick on my hands. He is as gentleman as a great riff composer. Actually he could be considered one of the best riff makers in the Thrash Metal history, but maybe the long time that the band was stopped disrupted the band’s trajectory. What really matters here is the fact that Death Angel released another insane album and I dare any Thrash lover doesn’t bang his head while listening such amazing album.

https://www.facebook.com/deathangel/


01 – DarkTower – Obedientia

01 – DarkTower – Obedientia

Before I put this record in the first place of my top 10 albums of 2019, I was really afraid to be unfair with the famous bands that have a great history in Heavy Metal, but DarkTower really touched me with this album. It is not just a matter of how they play Black/Death Metal, but how they put all anger and feeling to illustrate all chaos we live in Brazil. Since the political fights that our people have been doing to how we are losing our culture and our identity as a nation; everything was brilliantly described without attack directly at any side of this war. They just advise how people are stopping to think by themselves and how they have been manipulated by false heroes. Embark on this epical and realistic journey listening to “Obedientia”.

https://www.facebook.com/darktowermetal/


Special mention also has to go out to the following bands:

Miasthenia – Sinfonia Ritual

Here is a great Pagan Black Metal band that is the opposite of bands from this style. “Sinfonia Ritual” is not specifically an album because it shows a symphonic version of five songs from the last three band’s album. It is a great way to enter into the Miasthenia soul and discover how amazing they are.

https://www.facebook.com/miasthenia/


Endust – All ends in Dust

My special mention goes to The Brazilian Thrashers of Endust that released their first album “All Ends in Dust” even though they have never played any concert ever. Their music is a kind of Thrash with Nevermore influences, which increased melodies and changed the dynamic of this great record.

https://www.facebook.com/official.endust/


Infrared – Back To The Warehouse

Another special mention goes for the Canadian band Infrared. They also quit in the eighties and returned this decade. The album “Back To The Warehouse” rescued old compositions that received all aggression of their Thrash Metal.

https://www.facebook.com/infraredmetal/


 

 

 

Disclaimer: This Top Ten is solely the property of Victor Augusto and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

When Dark Juan Attempts A Top Ten List…

When Dark Juan Attempts A Top Ten List…

Just a quick interjection from me as I thank Dark Juan for all his hard work and the somewhat “different” reviews he has submitted this year. Thank you kind sir!

Especially when he’s sober. Let’s try and keep this brief and at least moderately entertaining, eh?

10. Stahlmann – Kinder Der Sehnsucht.

Stahlmann

Nth Generation Neue Deutsche Harte. Causes goth girls to lose their frilly knickers. If you like baritone German vocals, das ist gut!

http://www.facebook.com/stahlmann-138756019513864


9. Kill All The Gentlemen – The Loss And The Rapture.

Kill All The Gentlemen

Spectactularly deranged British bruisers defy expectations with corking album of magnificently spiky metal.

http://www.facebook.com/killallthegentlemen


8. Hecate Enthroned – Embrace Of The Godless Aeon.

Hecate Dethroned

More Brits, bringing back the good time when British avant-garde black metal had romance and melody instead of a production job not unlike a wasp in an echo chamber and a problem with unburnt churches.

http://www.facebook.com/HecateEnthroned


7. Dirge – Lost Empyrean.

Dirge

The greatest French metal band I have experienced apart from P.H.O.B.O.S. Did the most amazing thing ever for the release of this album. Released it, then split up just when I discovered how awesome they are. Merci pour rien, mes amis!

http://www.facebook.com/dirge.fr


6. Blame Zeus – Seethe.

Blame Zeus

Portugal normally means port, the Algarve and occasional naval ally against Spain to this hellpriest. It doesn’t normally mean absolutely slamming female fronted heavy fucking metal. Splendid stuff from the sun-kissed slammers.

http://www.facebook.com/BlameZeus


5. Woven Man – Revelry (in Our Arms).

Woven Man

When Wales stops bothering about rugby, cawl and Felinfoel Double Dragon (a fine Llanelli brew as Woven Man will of course know!) they do this. A supremely crushing and powerful heavy metal record enhanced with the delightful form of Natalie Purchase on the cover. It almost makes me forget the Church. Amen.

http://www.facebook.com/wovenisms


4. Quantum Pig – Songs Of Industry And Sunshine.

Quantum Pig

Hitherto unknown prog delights from a technically expert band. Also, they are wonderful gentlemen and fine conversationalists. You heard it here first. And I’ve still not given away the secret they told me about the next record…

http://www.facebook.com/QuantumPig


3. Sacred Reich – Awakening.

Sacred Reich

Oh god. Oh my fucking god. The BEST of the American thrash metal bands return to the fray with an album that took off my face, stamped all over it with hobnailed boots on and then threw it in the bin. Savage.

http://www.facebook.com/sacredreichofficial


2. Graham Bonnet – Live In Tokyo 2017.

Graham Bonnet

The perfect heavy metal live album from a fucking bona fide heavy fucking metal legend, a gentleman of the first order, and also Beth-Ami Heavenstone. If you know me, you know about Beth-Ami Heavenstone. Sigh.

http://www.facebook.com/grahambonnetmusic


1. Damim/ King Satan – A Fine Game Of Nil/ I Want You To Worship Satan.

I couldn’t choose between these two records so they can share the spoils and the dubious honour of now being on my somewhat depraved radar.

Damim – British blackened death metal of the very highest calibre. Faster than the firing rate of a gatling gun, and more complex than an Italian fuel pump design, but infinitely more reliable and pleasing. A truly monumental record.

http://www.facebook.com/dam.nation.uk

King Satan – Incredibly insane industrial metal from Finland. Cacophonous, dribblingly mental and inventive and a shining example of what joy can happen when musical genres like what they see and make violent, unpredictable love together. Aggrotech meets industrial metal, checks out its arse and then tears its clothes off in a paroxysm of sexual frenzy. King Satan is the offspring of that unholy union. Utterly magnificent.

http://www.facebook.com/kingsatan616

So there you have it. Dark Juan attempts a top ten of the many fine records and some stinkers (hear that, Warrior Soul?) I have had the pleasure to review. Here’s to 2020. Happy Yule, you beautiful bitches and bastards! If you see me out out, buy me beer and lock up your daughters. Peace and good fortune.

 

 

Disclaimer: This Top Ten is solely the property of Dark Juan and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Alun’s Top 10 Albums of 2019

Alun’s Top 10 Albums of 2019

We have already posted a few of our reviewers’ Top Tens of 2019 and now it’s Alun’s turn. We would like to thank him for all the work he has done for us over the past year. He certainly knows what he is talking about music-wise so go check out the albums on his list and see what you think.

1. Crobot – Motherbrain

crobothttp://www.facebook.com/crobotband


2. Monolord – No Comfort

monolordhttp://www.facebook.com/monolordsweden


3. Giant Dwarf – Giant Dwarf

giant dwarfhttp://www.facebook.com/giantdwarfmusic


4. Admiral Sir Cloudesley Shovel – Very Uncertain Times

sir admiralhttp://www.facebook.com/theshovell


5. Earth – Full Upon Her Burning Lips

Earth_FullUponHerBurningLipshttp://www.facebook.com/thronesanddominions


6. Sunn O))) – Life Metal

sunn300-Sunn_Life_Metalhttp://www.facebook.com/sunnthebandofficial


7. Acid Reign – The Age of Entitlement

acid reignhttp://www.facebook.com/acid.reign.thrash


8. Obey – Swallow The Sun

obeyhttp://www.facebook.com/obeyuk


9. Speedealer – Blue Days Black Nights

speedealerhttp://www.facebook.com/speedealerband


10. Mammoth Weed Wizard Bastard – Yn Ol I Annwn

mammoth weedhttp://www.facebook.com/mammothweedwizardbastard


 

With honourable mentions for Firebreather, L7, Sacred Reich, Wizard Rifle, Duel and Helligators

 

 

Disclaimer: This Top Ten is solely the property of Alun Jones and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.