Bob Kulick – Skeletons in the Closet

Skeletons In The Closet Cover

BOB KULICK – SKELETONS IN THE CLOSET

Vanity Music Group

Release Date: 15/09/2017

Running Time: 43:55

Review by Dawn “The Metal Priestess” King

8/10

 

You must be doing a good job as a review website when someone approaches you to review their latest album, right? But, when that someone is none other than American guitarist and Grammy Award winning record producer, Bob Kulick, you must be doing an awesome job! Well, that’s exactly what happened to us at Ever Metal headquarters and we are honoured to review his latest album ‘Skeletons in The Closet.’

Best known for his studio work with Kiss and his tenure with WASP, Bob was born in Brooklyn, New York, and is the older brother of former Kiss lead guitarist, Bruce Kulick, who, incidentally, was put forward for the job by Bob, himself.

Bob took a chance in 1973 and auditioned for the lead guitar spot in the then-new band, Kiss, but, although he impressed the other members of the band, it was the glitzier, Ace Frehley, who had auditioned directly after him, who was chosen to fill the spot.

Despite this, Bob later played (albeit uncredited) on four Kiss albums: Alive II (he played on three of the five studio tracks on the second side), Unmasked (where he played guitar on the track Naked City), Killers (playing on all four of the new studio tracks) and some minimal work on Creatures of the Night. He also played guitar on Paul Stanley’s 1978 solo album and on his 1989 solo tour.

But his contribution to the music world didn’t stop there. He has also worked with the likes of Motorhead, Meatloaf, Doro, Lou Reed and Tim “Ripper” Owens as well as playing guitar on WASP albums The Crimson Idol and Still Not Black Enough. This, as well as forming his own bands Balance, Skull and Murderer’s Row, have earned him 11 platinum or gold records throughout his career.

So, what of this album? Well, after a career spanning over forty years, this is actually Bob’s first solo album!! Recorded at Vegas View Recordings in Las Vegas, and produced and engineered by Bob himself, along with Bobby Ferrari, this is a collection of five new tracks and five classics from his albums with Skull and Murderer’s Row and features an array of musicians.

For a first solo album it would have been nice for all the tracks to be brand new ones, but I don’t really know much about Bob’s catalogue, so they were all new to me. While this is fine with me, older fans might feel a bit cheated by this.

Despite this, Skeletons in the Closet is a feel-good album, with lots of great rock tracks. The first half of the album consists of the five new tracks, probably the best of these being “London”, which tells the story of Jack the Ripper, and features the vocals of Twisted Sister’s Dee Snider. The only slightly ‘dodgy’ track of these five being the cover of “Goldfinger!” I didn’t really see the point of it and didn’t think it quite worked. I would have much rather seen another track like “London” or opening track “Rich Man”.

As previously mentioned, I don’t know much about Bob’s back catalogue so none of the classic tracks were known to me, but my favourite of these must have been title track “Skeletons in the Closet”. Sounding like it could easily have been pinched from the back catalogue of WASP, it features the vocals of David Glen Eisley, although he could easily be mistaken for Blackie Lawless (who I actually thought was singing at first!)

This album was never going to break any new ground, and I can picture some of the “older” music fans saying that it’s all been done before but even if you buy it simply for Bob’s guitar playing, its more than worth it. I’ve had this in my car for over a week now and I am still not bored with it, each track sounding better the more times I listen to it.

So, if you are a fan of technical music and poetic lyrics then this is not the album for you, but if you like a bit of rock you can listen to loud in your car with the roof down then go and get a copy of this! I loved it and I am sure you will too!

 

TRACK LISTING:

  • Rich Man
  • Not Before You
  • London
  • Goldfinger
  • Player
  • India
  • Skeletons in The Closet
  • Guitar Commandos
  • Eyes of A Stranger

 

SOCIAL MEDIA:

 

598905AA-bob-kulick-skeletons-in-the-closet-featuring-dee-snider-todd-kerns-brent-fitz-eric-singer-and-more-due-in-september-image

 

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Dawn “The Metal Priestess” King and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to do adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

 

Vega – Only Human

Only Human Cover

Vega – Only Human

Frontiers Music srl

Release Date: 11/05/2018

Running Time: 52:57

Review By Beth Jones

9/10

My first experience of Vega was at Amplified 2017 and I was an instant fan. I love their kind of melodic, American rock – it brings out my girly side. Having been a life – long Bon Jovi fan, they sit very nicely in my tastes, and I was very pleased when I found out that they were releasing a new album this year.

Only Human is Vega’s fifth album. The band have produced it themselves, and have teamed up with legendary Canadian musician and producer, Harry Hess of Harem Scarem, to mix and master the final product, and what a pretty damn fine final product it is! Since it’s release date on 11th May 2018, I have had it on in my car as my ‘cheer me up on the drive to work’ music and it really does the trick!

Whilst Vega do sound very much like Bon Jovi, Nick Workman sounding very similar to JBJ in particular on this album, they do definitely have their own sound. That being said, they do fit very neatly into that style, it is very 80s, very American and very easy to get on with. With the quality of the songs on this album, this could quite easily be an album from a multinational chart topping band of that genre. It is 12 tracks of thumping American style melodic rock, with a good mix of upbeat anthems and ballads, all of which have catchy hooks, great melodies, and a finesse in the production quality that shows not only the skill, but the passion and craftsmanship of those involved.

It is really hard to pick out a favourite track from the album as they are all so good, however I think I do have two favourites; the title track, ‘Only Human’, and ‘Last Man Standing’. These were the two tracks that instantly caught my attention on first listen, and are definitely the tracks that I now sing along with.

Only Human, appearing about half way through the album, has the feel of a classic stadium anthem, starting off quietly, just vocals, keys and drums. I can imagine the staging for it – packed stadium, low lighting, the whole crowd cheering, spotlight on Nick for the verse, smoke machine, then BAM! Lights up! More Smoke! Drums! Guitars! Keys! Crowd going wild! Bouncing! WE ARE ONLY HUMAAAAAN…… Then I stop getting lost in the song and focus on the road because I am driving! But that is what that song does to you, and that for me is the mark of a good song and the whole point of music – the fact that it takes you somewhere else and makes you feel good. It has a more modern feel, whilst still hanging on to its classic roots. It is one of those songs that will stay ageless.

Last Man Standing, positioned in slot 3 on the album, is a different kettle of fish! More upbeat, but very 80’s American Rock. Good solid chunky rhythms underpin the whole song, with bass and rhythm guitar providing good riffs that echo each other in the chorus, along with a very catchy melody line, with classic harmonies in 3rds on the title line, which give the track a very nice lift. This is a track that you can really move to, and even if you are too cool to have a bop, I can guarantee you that you will not be able to resist some sort of movement to this song, whether that be a slight toe tap, or a very aloof nod of the head in time. IT WILL MAKE YOU DO IT – IT IS INFECTIOUSLY GOOD!! This track is my ear worm at the moment. I can be stood in the kitchen at work making a brew, and then all of a sudden, there it is!!! So goddamn catchy!!

The vibe of the whole album is pretty much encapsulated by these two songs. This is 12 tracks of really solid, really catchy ear worms that wouldn’t be out of place at any ‘mainstream’ event, but fit perfectly into the world of rock too, and it is for this reason that I am pretty sure the Vega boys are some kind of sorcerers, and their songs are their spells!! They certainly have me hooked!

If I had one criticism, and believe me it is incredibly hard to find one on this album, this is just because I am properly fussy, it would be that the vocals on track 11 (Fade Away) seem to be slightly out of sync with the rest of the track – just by a tiny bit – in the chorus, so it feels like the vocals are rushing. Whether this was an issue in mixing, or it is meant to be like that, I’m not sure, but it just doesn’t hit the level of brilliance the other tracks do. For this reason, it is my least favourite track on the album and, depending what mood I am in, I do sometimes skip it as my brain can’t cope with it being not quite in sync!

Other than that, this is an absolutely stonking album. OK, it’s not going to be everyone’s cup of tea, but it most certainly is mine, and judging by some of the other reviews it has picked up so far, I am not the only one who thinks so. If you are a connoisseur of high class Melodic Rock, you need this album in your collection now…right now!

TRACK LIST

  • 1. Let’s Have Fun Tonight
  • 2. Worth Dying For
  • 3. Last Man Standing
  • 4. Come Back Again
  • 5. All Over Now
  • 6. Mess You Made
  • 7. Only Human
  • 8. Standing Still
  • 9. Gravity
  • 10. Turning Pages
  • 11. Fade Away
  • 12. Go To War

 

SOCIAL MEDIA

 

Vega Pic by Beth Jones, Amplified Festival 2017

 

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Beth Jones and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to do adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

All photographs are the property of Beth Jones and PhotograBee – http://www.facebook.com/PhotograBeeImages

Nitish Pires – Am I Evil?

Am I Evil Cover

NITISH PIRES- AM I EVIL?

Self Release

Release Date: 18/02/2018

Running Time: 44:22

Review by Dawn “The Metal Priestess” King

9/10

 

I am always on the lookout for something different when I am reviewing so when Richard suggested I review this album, I jumped straight on it. And boy, was he right? Again!

This couldn’t be more diverse to anything I am used to listening to (and I listen to A LOT of stuff!) as it has been recorded by Nitish Pires, an alternative singer/songwriter from Mumbai, India. Now, don’t get me wrong, I haven’t been avoiding Indian rock/metal, it’s just that this particular genre of metal has never appeared on my radar, until now! And if I knew then what I know now about it, I would have sought it out much sooner.

Because I FRIGGIN’ LOVED IT!

But let me tell you a little bit about Nitish first.

He started on his musical journey in 2009 with the formation of his rock band “Nakshrata” and they released one album ‘Gulfam’, written entirely by Pires himself and released on Universal Music.

In 2007, he went solo, writing two albums ‘Sahedein’ and ‘Chauraha’, while also recording numerous tracks for TV adverts across India for companies such as Vodafone, Nokia and Fila, and has even composed a complete score for feature film “Soch Lo.”

He was proclaimed as the first Indian to tour to promote is music by The Times India when he visited 25 cities in India promoting ‘Chauraha’ and his non-stop work earned him a nomination for Best Indian Rock Album at the prestigious G.I.M.A Awards.

2014 saw him take a well-earned break to travel the world, during which he gained inspiration that would accumulate into his latest work – Am I Evil?

And in case you missed it earlier – I FRIGGIN’ LOVED THIS ALBUM!

Never have I heard an album where each track was totally different to the others, and this was, by no means, a bad thing. The entire album lasts just over 44 minutes, but it has the feel of being much shorter, a characteristic I think that can be put down to the diversity throughout. I am a great fan of uniqueness and this album is certainly that.

Mixing modern day thrash guitar riffs and screaming vocals with traditional instruments and lyrics, this album certainly has a lot more to offer than a lot of the albums released nowadays. The songs are three dimensional, each one standing out in its own right, and the album seems to take you on a journey, making your experience a lot of sounds along the way, almost as if you are experiencing Nitish’s journeys with him.

The album was recorded using his laptop and native instruments and sounds and definitely creates a unique sound. His inspiration from rock legends such as Jimi Hendrix, Pink Floyd and Black Sabbath are obvious, but combined with “Pires’ driven and tenacious nature, along with his DIY skills” (he used pillows and duvets to change his bedroom into a suitable recording space!) the album is given a down to earth and honest feel yet keeps that rock atmosphere.

My favourite track on the album is ‘You Fake’, which mixes traditional Indian singing with harsh metal vocals and seems full of rage and hatred, but tracks ‘Big Black Wings’, ‘Need You’ and ‘Not Going Mad’ are also stand out tracks for me. In fact, there is not a bad song on the entire album, and none could be considered as “fillers.”

If you have never listened to Indian fused rock/metal, then I suggest you go out and buy this album.  It is one of the best albums I have heard this year, and nigh on two and a half weeks in my car is a great testament to that!!

 

TRACK LISTING

  • 1. Fade Away
  • 2. Crazy BC-AD
  • 3. Johny 006
  • 4. You Fake
  • 5. Need You
  • 6. Big Black Wings
  • 7. It’s My Way
  • 8. Happy Nuclear
  • 9. Not Going Mad
  • 10. Hello Good Morning
  • 11. Undoe Se Maara

 

SOCIAL MEDIA

Promo Pic1

Baleful Creed – Baleful Creed

Baleful Creed Cover

BALEFUL CREED – BALEFUL CREED

Self Released

Release Date: 01/09/2013

Running Time 46:40

Review by Rick Tilley

8/10

I have been so busy in recent months there are certain reviews I should have done that I still haven’t got around to. “Seismic Shifter”, the excellent second album from Baleful Creed, being one of them so I thought the least I could do was re-publish (courtesy of Brutiful Metal Radio and for the first time on Ever Metal) my review of their self-titled debut which was first put online in 2014.

Rick Tilley 31/05/2018

Before settling down to write this review I was having a conversation about the price, or rip off as I call it, that some bands are charging for gig tickets. Bow your heads in shame Pearl Jam! £145 for a ticket plus £15 for parking. That is taking the piss and I’m not even a fan of the band! Why do I mention that? Well it’s precisely the reason I try to focus on good up and coming bands, firstly because we need to stop stroking the egos of some larger bands and their managers, secondly because we have to find the next generation of bands to carry the torch and thirdly when a band as assured and steeped in proper rock sensibilities, as Baleful Creed are, come along they need to get some much deserved publicity!

Baleful Creed hail from Belfast, Northern Ireland and were founded in 2009. This self titled debut album, released at the tail end of 2013, is actually comprised of remixed and remastered versions of songs from two of their previous EP’s but as I hadn’t heard any of them before that wasn’t an issue. What I can say after spinning this on numerous occasions is that it is an excellent and honest slab of Heavy Rock!

I have seen it mentioned elsewhere but you cannot get away from the Glenn Danzig sounding vocals, although I think Baleful Creed’s vocalist/guitarist ‘Fin’ Finlay is actually the better singer. Danzig aside there are elements of Alice In Chains and a bit of Sabbath contained within combined with a dirty, low slung, southern US intensity. Baleful Creed certainly don’t sound like they come from Belfast!

‘Baleful Creed’ the track opens up the album and from the off you are presented with some great riffs and melodies, it’s bass heavy, which I personally love, and all four members of the band play out of their skins with special mention going to the guitar playing of Finlay and John Allen. Backed up superbly by bassist Stephen Fleming and drummer Mark Stewart, Baleful Creed are a proper band, playing their own instruments, without the need for triggers, tricks or a 72 piece orchestra and choir! This is just how Rock N Roll should be played and if you don’t believe me then check out ‘Autumn Leaves’ or ‘Illuminati’!

Baleful Creed…great songs, great band and proof positive that you don’t need a second mortgage to enjoy rock music!

Tracklist

  • 01. Baleful Creed
    02. Autumn Leaves
    03. Illuminati
    04. Crazy Man
    05. Misanthrope
    06. Double F.S.
    07. Hex
    08. Her Promise
    09. Thorazine
    10. Suffer In Silence

 

Social Media

 

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Richard Tilley and Ever Metal.  It is strictly forbidden to reproduce and part of this review, unless you have the explicit permission of both parties; failure to comply will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Reproduced with the kind permission of Brutiful Metal Radio

Onslaught – VI

VI Cover

ONSLAUGHT – “VI”

AFM Records

Release Date: 20/09/2013

Running Time 39:30

Review by Rick Tilley

10/10

This Review was first published in 2014 and is reprinted courtesy of Brutiful Metal Radio

I have been a big fan of Onslaught since their debut album ‘Power From Hell’ hit the streets in 1985. They were at the forefront of the UK Thrash movement back then and a perfect counterpart to the Bay Area and German scenes. I was also lucky enough to be part of the crowd who witnessed one of Sy Keeler’s very first gigs with the band at The Marquee Club, London in April 1986 when they supported Exciter. Due to the timetable running a bit late everyone was inside the venue when Onslaught emerged onstage to soundcheck ‘Let There Be Death’, which they did with such ferocity and precision that there were bodies and open mouths everywhere you looked. It was one of those spine tingling moments that only happen occasionally, it remains forever scorched onto my brain and second album ‘The Force’ is still one of my all time favourites!

What happened in subsequent years up until their eventual split in 1991 is a story for another day, needless to say I was more than a bit surprised, but extremely happy, when they decided to get back together in 2005. “VI” is Onslaught’s third album since returning and not only is it the best of the three it is also very close to being their finest hour. This is about as heavy and precise as a squadron of British Chieftain Tanks hitting you at full force, in other words “Fucking Immense”! Thirty second intro ‘A New World Order’ leads into ‘Chaos Is King’ and for the next forty minutes the skin is going to be melted from your face. Keeler’s venomous, spitting vocals improve as he ages and this is arguably his best ever performance. Founding member Nige Rockett and Andy Rosser Davies’ guitar work is outstanding, and in places reminiscent of Slayer’s Jeff Hanneman (R.I.P) and Annihilator’s Jeff Waters. Jeff Williams bass thunders and rumbles in perfect unison and new drummer Mic Hourihan appears to have been taking lessons from Gene Hoglan such is his split second timing. There really isn’t a poor track here and ’66’Fucking’6′ is going to become a thrash anthem!

Yes, I unashamedly love this album and after such brilliant releases from Exodus, Testament, Annihilator and Kreator in recent years I’m proud to say that Onslaught have matched them. I’m just pissed I never got round to reviewing this last October because it would have been top three in my albums of the year list. Double check the score I’ve given this, believe me, I don’t hand that out very often!

 

Tracklist

  • 1. A New World Order
  • 2. Chaos Is King
  • 3. Fuel for My Fire
  • 4. Children of the Sand
  • 5. Slaughterize
  • 6. 66’Fucking’6
  • 7. Cruci-Fiction
  • 8. Dead Man Walking
  • 9. Enemy of My Enemy

 

Social Media

 

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Richard Tilley and Ever Metal.  It is strictly forbidden to reproduce and part of this review, unless you have the explicit permission of both parties; failure to comply will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Reproduced with the kind permission of Brutiful Metal Radio

The Deep – Premonition

Premonition Cover

THE DEEP – PREMONITION

Independent

Release Date: March 2015

Running Time 53:37

Review by Rick Tilley

10/10

This review was first published in 2015 and is reprinted here courtesy of Brutiful Metal Radio

When vocalist Tony Coldham kindly sent me The Deep’s four track demo last year I immediately knew we were in for something special! Tony has now very kindly sent me an un-mastered copy of ‘Premonition’, the band’s debut album, due in March 2015 and if the demo whetted your appetite then this is going to absolutely knock you for six and remember I’m listening to an unfinished version!

Some members of The Deep have been around the music business since the early 1980’s, and have been part of Airrace and Rogue Male, amongst other bands. It’s fair to say that between them they have a rich heritage but if you don’t believe me then listening to ‘Premonition’ will be the only evidence you need! The Deep’s sound is rooted between Classic Hard & Heavy Rock, Melodic Rock and NWOBHM so think Saxon meets UFO and Uriah Heep and this album has given me goose bumps in places I didn’t know you could get them!

First and foremost is Tony Coldham’s voice which is utterly outstanding, reminiscent of one of my favourite vocalists Bernie Shaw (Uriah Heep, Grand Prix, Praying Mantis). Tony’s singing is the centrepiece of The Deep, power and emotion ring out in equal fashion and he absolutely destroys many modern day ‘singers’, but as I said in my review of the demo, that in no way takes anything away from the rest of the band who are all utterly superb. Paul Smith and Mick Feleppa’ guitar work & backing vocals are fabulous. Riffs and solos fly with abandon, whether the song is heavier or more ballad driven (The Deep are extremely good at mixing things up) and bassist Don Whiberley along with drummer Steve Kingsley have become a very solid and entertaining rhythm team!

Being in a superb band doesn’t just mean having good musicians though. You all know as well as I do that what matters most are the songs themselves and ‘Premonition’ is packed to the rafters with good songs. All four tracks from the demo are present and correct but the six new tracks showcased here are equally as good and it feels like the album has been sequenced perfectly, something a lot of bands don’t bother with now in the downloading era! From the opening Saxon like riff of ‘The Rider’ through to closer ‘Turn Me Loose’ this is 100% quality and I’m privileged to be one of the first to here it! Highlight moment for me currently, and it’ll probably change, is ‘Saga’. One of the quieter tracks but it’s near seven minutes of perfection and is just magnificent!

It’s only the middle of January and to receive an album of this magnitude so early on in 2015 is really quite something special. Even though there will be other bands that get given more column space this year I will be shouting The Deep’s name from the rooftops until you all get fed up with me because this band is too good to ignore and ‘Premonition’ is a must have for any lover of Classic Rock & Metal’. I’ll be damned if I know what this album will sound like when it’s actually completed because I honestly don’t think the band can make it any better!

 

TRACKLIST

  • 01. The Rider
  • 02. You Take My Breath Away
  • 03. Night-Stalker
  • 04. Cold-Hearted
  • 05. All I Want
  • 06. Out Of Touch
  • 07. Premonition
  • 08. Spell-bound
  • 09. Saga
  • 10. Turn Me Loose

 

Social Media

Cover Artwork

 

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Richard Tilley and Ever Metal.  It is strictly forbidden to reproduce and part of this review, unless you have the explicit permission of both parties; failure to comply will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Reproduced with the kind permission of Brutiful Metal Radio

Bloodstock ‘Metal 2 The Masses’ North Wales Semi Final 2, Atomic, Wrexham 25/05/2018

05 M2TM North Wales Logo

Bloodstock Metal 2 The Masses North Wales Semi Final 2 – Atomic, Wrexham – 25/05/2018

Review by Beth Jones

As the light evenings get longer and summer doesn’t look quite so much like something that happened in the old days, the North Wales M2TM competition is nearing its climax, and the penultimate gig saw us return to our new favourite little venue, Atomic in Wrexham. The night was set to be a good one, with a strong bill of four bands all vying for the prize, and awesome special guest headliners in the shape of the mighty Witch Tripper. Unfortunately, one of the four competition bands, Cobolt Collision, had been forced to pull out earlier in the day, due to illness – we were gutted, but I can guarantee we weren’t as gutted as them. Hopefully they will get another chance at the competition sometime in the future. But these things unfortunately can’t be helped. And so, the stage was set, the atmosphere was great and the nervous tension palpable, as we entered what I shall lovingly call ‘the Snug’!

First up were Redwood Avenue, a band that we had seen originally at Hammerfest earlier in the year and were a little non-plus about. I wrote in our review of that… “They were good, but for me the music needs more of a hook; it felt a little disjointed in places, but the guys are only young, so this will hopefully come with time”… Now this doesn’t happen very often, but…… OK I ADMIT IT – I WAS REALLY WRONG!!! We have now seen them three more times, and they have been better each time – it’s funny how first impressions can be so wrong. I’m not saying never listen to me because I am clearly an idiot, but NEVER LISTEN TO ME BECAUSE I AM CLEARLY AN IDIOT!! They were tight, they were catchy, they were riffy and their mix was crisp. They got the place instantly bouncing, and gave the audience a great show to start the night. They are more modern metal, but they properly know what they are doing, and I am ashamed that I passed it off after our first encounter. My humblest apologies guys! This performance was by far the best we had seen them. Cracking!

01 Redwood Avenuehttps://www.facebook.com/redwoodavenue2014/

After a quick vape/bar/comfort break, it was back up to the Snug for band number two – the utterly loopy Mad Spanner. These guys are just hilarious – they are the Monty Python of metal, combining off the wall observational comedy with chaotic thrash / punk! Lead singer Michael has one of the most expressive faces I have ever seen, and his height and huge amount of hair add to the overall manic-ness of their performance. They humoured us with tracks such as, ‘Get Off Your Bastard Phone (You Antisocial Dickhead)’ and ‘We Are No Longer Forced To Use A Shitty Drum Machine’, and everyone had a great time throwing people round the pit and laughing manically as they did it. Absolutely hilarious, wild, manic, fun. So much so that I even took my hair out of a ponytail and had a little mosh! Whilst, musically, they may not be the tightest band in the world, for the sheer fun factor, they are two thumbs good in my book!!

02 Mad Spannerhttps://www.facebook.com/MadSpanner/

The final competition band were Cadence Noir. When we saw these guys in the heats, bassist Tom was somewhat incapacitated, on crutches, so had to sit down to play, but by the Semi he was up on two feet again and it did make a difference to their performance. Again, their sound was great, and you could tell that they were really up for the competition. They say that their style is ‘Gothic Folk ‘n’ Roll’, which is right up my street – I would possibly call them Pirate Metal, because that is what it makes me think of! I love the fact that their music does have folky roots, and the roll played by Fiddle player, Emma, is integral to their music. For this show, Tom was also interchanging between his standard electric Bass and a mighty sexy electric double bass, which added another dimension again. Their upbeat, bouncy, rum drinking tracks had the whole room moving again, and my personal favourite is their jaunty little ditty, ‘Fuck, Fuck, Boom, Boom’! Loved it!

03 Cadence Noirhttps://www.facebook.com/CadenceNoir/

And that was the last of the competition bands – this was going to be the toughest decision yet for the judges – all three deserved a place in the final in my opinion. So, whilst the judges deliberated, and after another quick vape/bar/etc break, the special guest headliners, the mighty Witch Tripper, took to the stage. Beany, our Master Of Ceremonies, had announced them as ‘the hardest working band in the UK at the moment’, and I have to say that, with the exception of Absolva, I completely agree. Their passion and complete dedication is conveyed superbly by their musicianship and performance technique and I love them! They fill the stage even though there are only three of them and produce song after song after song of solid, groove laden, proper hard heavy rock. They are the genre’s equivalent to a top quality 8oz fillet steak (or vegetarian equivalent!) and deserved to be savoured and enjoyed! Seriously if you have not heard these guys, you really need to check them out. We are hugely looking forward to seeing them at Amplified in a couple of months’ time.

04 Witch Tripperhttps://www.facebook.com/witchtripperuk/

After the sheer brilliance of Witch Tripper, it was time for the big reveal. It was too close to call, and Beany milked this for as long as humanly possible, and then a bit longer! After truly putting the whole audience on tenterhooks, the bands announced to progress to the final were…… Redwood Avenue and Cadence Noir! It was such a shame that one had to go, and that one had to be Mad Spanner, but that is the unfortunate nature of competition. Regardless, the night was brilliant, the bands superb, and the atmosphere warm, friendly and jovial throughout. I was in my happy place. Bring on the final, because if it is half as good as the semi, it will be a cracking show.

For those who can get there, I thoroughly recommend making sure you do – there is a move of venues, to Central Station, and the addition of a second stage, meaning the night will be even more jam packed with great music. I think I should probably book the Saturday off work!!

SOCIAL MEDIA

M2TM North Wales FINAL – Central Station Wrexham – 15/06/2018 Event Page

https://www.facebook.com/events/562274997482339/

Bloodstock M2TM Official Facebook Group

https://www.facebook.com/groups/m2tmofficial/about/

North East Wales Metal Productions

https://www.facebook.com/N.E.WMetalProductions/

Powerzone Radio Show

https://www.facebook.com/Powerzonemetal/

Atomic, Wrexham

https://www.facebook.com/atomicbarwxm/

Bloodstock Festival

https://www.facebook.com/bloodstock/

 

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Beth Jones and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to do adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

All photographs are the property of Beth Jones and PhotograBee – http://www.facebook.com/PhotograBeeImages