Ragenheart – The Last King

RAGENHEART CD BOOKLET-CURVES-DARKER.cdr

Ragenheart – The Last King

Independent / Distribution Steel Gallery Records

Release Date: 30/03/2018

Running Time: 48:42

Review by Dawn “The Metal Priestess” King

9/10

 

After not having reviewed anything for a while due to personal circumstances, I needed something with a bang to come back to. I let Rick decide what to give me and boy does that guy know my taste in music. Enter Ragenheart and their new album The Last King!

Ragenheart are a Greek power metal band, forming in 2003 and composing their name by combining the phrase Rage In Heart. Founding members were Angel Priest on guitars and John Koronaios on vocals and they soon enlisted “Speedy” Nick on drums. The addition of Nikos Michalakalos on bass in 2004 and Stavros Papazoglou on keyboards in 2006 completed the line up and they soon released a five track demo.

Kostas Athanasoglou (Steel Gallery Records) and Greg Varsamis (Eat Metal Records) listened to the demo and decided to help the band, offering them the chance to open a gig for the legendary Hair Apparent. With their continued assistance, the band had several support shows for bands like Cloven Hoof and Leatherwolf.

2010 saw the release of their successful debut, Ragenheart and now in 2018, they release their second full length album The Last King.

So what can I say about this album? Well, a few words spring to mind….fantastic, great, awesome to name some but the best I can come up with is that this is a true power metal album in every sense of the word.

This is a stunning album with songs combining influences from the whole range of power metal from early Queensryche, to Dio, Riot, Savatage and Warlord. The vocals from John Koronaios are superb, the melodies and composition are fantastic and the production is bright, clear and powerful.

The tracks are full of crunching, heavy guitars and harsh drums, but with the obligatory power ballad or two. There are no bad songs on the album and none that could be considered fillers.

I had this in my car for weeks and didn’t want to take it out again. Stand out songs for me were, amongst others, title track The Last King, Fear and Metal Rules The Night (The 80’s Outcast), which really does sound like it came straight from the 1980’s.

In my opinion, no one does power metal better than the Europeans and I absolutely adore the little twang that appears in European singers vocals at times. Koronaios is an awesome vocalist and he sings English almost perfectly but the little accent that appear every now and then just gives him, in my opinion, that little bit of an edge.

If you are a power metal fan, like me, you will love this album. Even the cover has that typical power metal feel! But, even if you are not a power metal fan, this album has element of lots of genres of metal thrown in, so there should be something for everyone!

I had never heard of Ragenheart before I had reviewed this album, but I will definitely go back and check out there previous album and also will be keeping an eye and an ear out for any new stuff they release in the future.

TRACK LISTING:
1. A Thousand Years Empire
2. The Last King
3. Fear
4. Echo
5. Mirror
6. Metal Rules the Night (The 80s Outcast)
7. Dreamer
8. Blind Alley
9. Forever Rain
10. The End
11. Our Mighty Past

SOCIAL MEDIA:
http://www.ragenheart.net/
https://www.facebook.com/Ragenheart-162745123756811/
https://myspace.com/ragenheart

All alone

 

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Dawn “The Metal Priestess” King and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to do adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Master Charger Release New Music Video ‘One For Sorrow’ Premiered On Ever Metal!

One For Sorrow EP Artwork

Master Charger Release New Music Video ‘One For Sorrow’ Premiered On Ever Metal!

Master Charger – ‘One For Sorrow’ Single/Video

Release Date 13/08/2018

In May 2018 Left For Red and Master Charger announced that they will be releasing a split vinyl, which will include two previously unreleased Left For Red tracks and two previously unreleased Master Charger tracks. In order to promote the upcoming release Master Charger have released their brand new music video for the title track of their side of the vinyl ‘One For Sorrow’ and it is exclusively, and proudly, premiered today on Ever Metal!

Master Charger – One For Sorrow (Video Link)

Master Charger!
Hailing from the blackest heart of Nottinghamshire three-piece Rock / Doom, Sludge Metal outfit Master Charger formed in 2006 from the ashes of previous semi successful bands. Master Charger have since played live across the UK, touring and playing festivals to large audiences and building up their fan base. At the latter end of 2017, Master Charger signed to FATangel Management and are set to release their “One For Sorrow” EP in 2018 under FATangel Records. This will see the band return to their original form but with an even heavier sound than before. The band will continue to bludgeon people live with their primitive thick wall of riffs and thunderous rhythm section as they continue to play more dates across the UK including a few more festival appearances.
One For Sorrow was recorded, mixed and mastered by Mike Ranzetta of The Minotaur’s Lair and the music video was directed and edited by Jay Hillyer of Jay H Filmmaker.

A quote from John James, lead singer and guitarist of Master Charger:
“Master Charger are chuffed to bring you our new video for our brand new single entitled ‘One For Sorrow’ and we are absolutely thrilled how it turned out. It’s huge thanks to Jay Hillyer and all involved who made the video what it is. One For Sorrow combines both doom laden riffs mixed with groove which also captures our thick sludgy raw live sound! Hope y’all enjoy this beast!!”

One For Sorrow is taken from the split vinyl with Left for Red which is due for release December 2018. The artwork for the vinyl was created by Jon Pedley of Pedley Art and the special vinyl bundle can be pre-ordered from FATangel Records Bandcamp.

https://fatangelrecords2.bandcamp.com/album/left-for-red-master-charger-double-single

Line-up:
J P (Vocals/Guitar)
DAVE HAYES (Bass)
JON KIRK (Drums)

Band Links:
https://www.facebook.com/mastercharger/

https://mastercharger.bandcamp.com/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCW6PO_FQJcsln6PcJ1uFlrw/videos

Pedley Art
https://www.facebook.com/pedleyart/

Jay H Filmmaker
https://www.facebook.com/jhfilmmaker/

 

Disclaimer: This article is solely the property of Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this article, unless you have the strict permission of Ever Metal. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Scars of Remembrance Wrexfest, Atomic, Wrexham, 28/07/2018

01 Scars Of Remembrance

Scars of Remembrance

Wrexfest, Atomic, Wrexham 28/07/2018

Review by Beth Jones

Having been the original founder of Wrexfest in 2013, then passing the baton to Brendan a few years back due to all sorts of personal garbage, it seemed only fair that we at least caught some of it this year. The festival has grown steadily year on year, and has now spread out to a few venues, so when Brendan said that the Saturday night at Atomic was going to be metal, we swore to drag our broken asses out of the house, mainly to watch one of our stand out bands of the year, CALLUS, but also to check out some local names that we hadn’t seen before.

When we arrived we found that, due to various issues, two of the proposed line up were not able to make it, which was a shame, however it did mean that we had two bands with extended sets to watch before the very diverse headliners, Glove. CALLUS, and a new name to us, local band Scars Of Remembrance.

After buying a drink and mingling for a few minutes, a familiar face – Karl Ditcher, a long-time friend of my brother’s, came up to me and asked if we were coming up to watch his band play. Now I didn’t even know he played, let alone that he was in a band, so this made the prospect all the more interesting! On arriving upstairs, I was met by another familiar face, local super sound man, Mike Edwards (one of the only people I know who can get the sound spot on in Central Station), only this time he wasn’t behind the sound desk, he was sound checking with the band – double whammie surprise!! After a quick chat, we discovered that it was Mike’s first gig with the band, and that he had only been their vocalist for a couple of months!

So, without further ado, to their set. Their Facebook page has their genre as ‘Metal’ – not much to go on there – and knowing that the bill for that night had appeared to be somewhat diverse, I didn’t really know what to expect, but I was very pleasantly surprised! For a band that haven’t done much gigging together in this guise, they were extremely tight and extremely talented, and Mike did an excellent job, especially as it was his first gig.

They have a quite hardcore sound – solid, punchy drums from Ben Burke, and treble heavy, overdriven, crunchy rhythm guitar and intricate lead from Mark Harris and Daniel Dawson, enhanced by Mike’s raw scream vocals and some big fat full on bass licks from Karl (who I now know can play a damn fine bit of bass!), but also riff sections that wouldn’t be out of place in any modern thrash outfit; a nicely blended mix of styles, which was good to see. I feel the same about hardcore as I do about thrash – sometimes I love it, sometimes I hate it and there is no in between, so for them to turn my head is quite an achievement, and with a bit more practice and gig time with this line-up, I really think they are on to something good here.

Having now watched some video clips of older performances, it is plain to see that they certainly have a lot more energy and confidence on stage now – or they certainly did in this performance anyway, and that Mike has definitely brought a new aspect to the band. It is very pleasing to see a new, or at least new look metal band from Wrexham pop up, because the metal cup has been quite dry round here in recent years. It is even more pleasing to see that they have a really good idea of who they are as a band and seem to be eager to progress with it now. When we spoke with them after the gig, we suggested that they should try and get on the bill for the M2TM heats next year, as I think they would enhance any bill, and have the added bonus of being local!

I will certainly be putting them on the list of bands to follow and am eager to see how they grow and will also definitely be making a concerted effort to go and see them live again as soon as possible, and recommend that everyone else does so too, not only to check out their music, but also to support the local underground scene, which I am hoping is having a rebirth around here. Well done guys – you have a new fan.

 
LINKS
https://www.facebook.com/scarsofremembrance/

https://www.instagram.com/scarsofremembrance/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZTUQ87ynUw92fJ34Z29bhQ

02 Scars Of Remembrance

 

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Beth Jones and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of all parties. Failure to do adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

All photographs are the property of Beth Jones and PhotograBee – http://www.facebook.com/PhotograBeeImages

Pentrefest Summer Session 2018 McLeans Venue – Pentre, North Wales, July 14th 2018

00 Pentrefest Summer Session Poster

Pentrefest Summer Session 2018

McLeans Venue – Pentre, North Wales

July 14th 2018

By Beth Jones

 

It had been a few days since our return from Amplified, and a serious case of post festival blues had hit the Jones-Tilley household. The washing was nearly done, the ironing mountain was ever growing, and anything and everything was royally getting on my tits. So, when Fozzy sent us a Facebook invite to the ‘Pentrefest Summer Session – A Day Of Casual Mosh’, we could think of no better way to spend our Saturday and hoped it would be the antidote to the crushing withdrawal from live music and alcohol that we had been suffering, cold turkey, for what felt like an eternity!

Mcleans Pentre is a very unique venue; the space is fantastic, and the acoustics are great, but it seems that its location has a tendency to pull out a serious case of the ‘can’t be arsed’s’ in a lot of local music fans, which is a real shame. We arrived just after lunch, ready to watch a lovely collection of music ranging from local talent, to Italian metal heads Slave Steel.

Our first performance of the day was an acoustic set by Mike West. Based locally, he delivered a great set of southern style blues rock, which was perfect for a sunny afternoon. It was the sort of thing you would expect to hear being played from a porch on a ranch in Texas in a Levi’s advert, and I liked it a lot. There is something very appealing about that style of music for me, and Mike’s gravelly voice worked perfectly. I could quite happily have listened to it all day to be honest – it was just chilled and relaxing and very well executed.

01 Mike Westhttps://www.facebook.com/mikewest333/

Next up was another local act in the shape of Edd Case, again performing acoustically. He was more edgy than Mike, and delivered a great set, including one song which had, what I shall term as, rhythmic talking sections and a sung chorus. Now usually this sort of thing winds me up, but this particular song was a masterpiece – emotive and powerful, based on the experiences of his friend in the forces, and written as a letter home to family. It got me in the feels big time, to the point that I had to pretend I had something in my eye! I was emotionally teetering before this, due to the aforementioned festi-blues, so had to do a certain amount of internal pulling myself together before heading off to the smoking area for a break before the next act!

02 Edd Casehttps://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZXLlhJSn5g32dafnT6mCCA/videos

Things got a bit noisier next, as the acoustic acts were done, and we got our first full band of the day; a new band to the local scene, Renegades Of Fire. We had seen these guys at the Metal 2 The Masses heats in Wrexham, so kind of knew what to expect. They have only been around since November 2017, and I think need a little more time before we will see the best of them. They have a good sound but look a little tentative on stage at times. As individuals, they are all good musicians, but they need to settle in together and become more of a whole in order to really make their sound gel more and have fun with it; it is a skill in itself to be able to look confident even if you are shitting bricks, but it is things like this that will come with time. I am looking forward to watching their performance techniques grow.

03 Renegades Of Firehttps://www.facebook.com/Renegades-of-Fire-1929979253889558/

From the nervous to the uber confident next, with Bad Earth. These guys had buckets full of dirty grooves and banging bass riffs, and some pretty fine rhythms to boot! Frontman Steve Coxon’s vocals were great, with a scratchy rugged tone, and excellent rock range, and he cuts an awesome figure on the stage too, he is a giant amongst men, or he certainly looks it from my 5’0” perspective! Both him and bass player Rob Murray performed topless too! I will let them off because it was very warm in that room, but they didn’t really need to – their music spoke for itself without needing to enhance it with sweaty torsos!! They led us through a rip-roaring set, which wouldn’t have been out of place on a bigger stage, and certainly deserved a bigger crowd than those of us interested enough in the local scene who had turned out on the day. They are a must see for anyone who likes bands such as Witch Tripper, Orange Goblin or Clutch.

04 Bad Earthhttps://www.facebook.com/BADEARTH/

The standard so far today had been excellent, and up next were one of our most favourite discoveries from Metal 2 The Masses – Lullaby For A Unicorn. A psychedelic bunch of chaps who like to harness their inner nutter and splurge it out for all to see!! When is a Unicorn not a Unicorn? When it’s a large man in a onesie strapped to a light up bass guitar! They are certainly an interesting sight to behold, but when they start playing you realise that their music is not as mental as their appearance – well maybe lyrically it is, but on an actual composition level, they are an extremely tight, solid and well-rehearsed band of talented players, and their timing both musically and comedically is spot on. It is always nice to see their seagull mascot, Steven, swinging above the stage, and they perform a very lovely song in his honour towards the end of their set, which is always a crowd pleaser and actively encourages audience participation. Very good, very funny and well worth a watch!

05 Lullaby For A Unicornhttps://www.facebook.com/rockmyunicorn/

After a good dose of psychedelic craziness, it was time for a bit of instrumental prog just to focus the mind – pass the mushrooms will you! Again, we had seen Archetype as one of the guest acts at the Metal 2 The Masses final and had really enjoyed them. They are pretty unique in the sense that there isn’t a lot of completely instrumental bands around currently, and they do serve up a hefty heap of prog for starters, followed by prog, with prog and prog, and a nice glass of prog on the side! But flipping heck they do it well! Intricate chord sequences, tapping, cross rhythms and perfectly timed pauses are enhanced by sections of pure indulgent groove that fill you up – if this set had a calorie count I would be checking in at my local Weightwatchers to shift the added pounds right now! However, in the same way as I would be with a very rich pudding, I can only handle a certain amount of these guys in one go; my brain gets into a bit of an overstimulated mush and can’t cope! But they are superb – go see them!

06 Archetypehttps://www.facebook.com/wearethearchetypeUK/

Our penultimate band of the day were I Assassin, a four-piece hard rock outfit from Shrewsbury. They had great energy on stage and a brilliant sound, and vocalist Adrian Turner’s voice was superb, with a real metal core twang. However, as a band, they were a mix of lots of styles and I wouldn’t like to try and genre them – they certainly weren’t metalcore, but they were heavier than the hard rock we had seen during the rest of the day. They were full of energy and gave everything in their performance, creating a massive sound that was mightily impressive. I love it when a band puts everything into a performance – it grabs hold of you, and I couldn’t resist a bit of a boogie! They were very, very good, and we will definitely be checking them out again.

07 I, Assassinhttps://www.facebook.com/iassassinband/

Bringing proceedings to a close were a band originally from Rome but now based in London – Slave Steel. One word. WOW! Heavy, loud, intricate, fast, growly, energetic and polished, and if that wasn’t enough, they were four guys with Pantene hair and smouldering Italian looks too! I’m sold!! As with Bad Earth earlier, these guys wouldn’t have looked out of place on a much larger stage and would have had the same impact on a much larger crowd. The energy they brought, especially the bass player and vocalist, was superb, and pretty amazing considering it was now heading quickly towards midnight. There was so much movement and vibrance in their performance that it was difficult not to move along with them, and thankfully the select gathering took the opportunity to rock out before bed! I was pretty much on my knees by this point so retreated to old farts corner to nod along approvingly and watch the young uns lose their shit down the front!! (Disclaimer – yes I know I am only 39 but I’ve had a hard life, leave me be!) It was a cracking way to finish! We will definitely be look them up again soon.

08 Slave Steelhttps://www.facebook.com/slavesteel/

After a hard day’s rocking out, it was time to make the short 20 minute drive home again and digest the varied talent we had seen today. We are so lucky to have bands, venues and promoters willing to put on gigs that are, essentially, on our doorstep. Long may it continue! It is a tough time for smaller venues and local music at the moment, with apathy for anything that involves getting off the sofa seemingly at an all-time high. But I am sure that, with persistence, the local scene round here, and elsewhere in the country will thrive again, and I for one will be at the front of the queue with a smile on my face ready and waiting for the next band. With that in mind, I would like to say a huge thanks to Ian ‘Fozzy’ Forrester and Ian ‘Beany’ North for their hard work, dedication and persistence putting on these shows. They do an amazing job. GET OFF YOUR SOFAS PEOPLE AND COME AND FIND OUT WHAT YOU ARE MISSING!!!
Links:
https://www.facebook.com/pentrefest/
https://www.facebook.com/N.E.WMetalProductions/
https://www.facebook.com/GoodforaudioEntertainment/
https://www.facebook.com/Powerzonemetal/

09 Logo

 

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Beth Jones and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of all parties. Failure to do adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

All photographs are the property of Beth Jones and PhotograBee – http://www.facebook.com/PhotograBeeImages

Interview with Desolation Angels

DA_Band_02

Desolation Angels were one of the forefathers of the New Wave of British Heavy Metal era. Now, nearly forty years later, they are still rocking and I, recently, had the chance to interview them.

Hi, I’m Dawn from Ever Metal. Thank you for taking the time to talk to us and I hope you are all ok?

Hi Dawn, yes we are all ok thanks.

Ok, so for those who have been hiding in a remote cave somewhere for the past thirty odd years, can you give us a quick background of the band?

Desolation Angels was formed in early 1981 by childhood friends Robin Brancher and Keith Sharp based in the East End of London. The band started writing and rehearsing and soon built up a reputation playing live.

The band’s first single, ‘Valhalla’, was recorded at a studio in Cheltenham in 1982 and, by this time, the band was touring extensively the UK. In 1984, their debut self titled album ‘Desolation Angels’ was recorded at Thameside Studios, London

After spending eight years in the USA playing live shows and recording, the band returned to the UK.

* After various personnel changes since the reformation of Desolation Angels in 2012, the band members are: Robin Brancher (guitar), Keith Sharp (guitar), Clive Pearson (bass), Chris Takka (drums) Paul Taylor (vocals).

Answered Clive Pearson

So, your latest album “King” (great name by the way!) was released on February 23rd of this year (2018), how is it being received? I see you have had some great reviews.

The name seems to have been a good choice, well done to Rob on that one….. it needs to be mentioned first that we were so fortunate to have Chris Tsangeridies listen to the demos and see the potential in the songs to agree to give us his time to make this album so special in so many ways. It so tragic that this was to be his final gift to the music world as he certainly took this on to ensure he handed over a fantastic album. He brought out the best in DA AND we will be ever thankful to his dedication to produce and engineer these songs which the ‘reviews tell it all. The enjoyment of working with Chris and hearing all his tales of his past were very entertaining when recording can be such a stressful experience. He put the fun and enjoyment into those weeks of hard work…. the album is selling very well and so it should as it is one of those albums that gets better each time you listen to it. That is down to the song writing and the great man CT…. thanks Chris may you RIP in Valhalla with your great friend Gary Moore.

Answered by Clive Pearson.

And how was it working with the late, great Chris Tsangeridis?

I may have answered that in previous question.

He was a true musician who loved working in the industry and to help those musicians around him. His history speaks for itself and no air of greatness within his personality which could really have been the case. He’d work with anyone who had desire and commitment to their music… see his autobiography as it would take the whole Metal Nation edition to cover his character and albums.

Answered by Clive Pearson.

The official launch party for the album was on March 23rd at The Devonshire Arms in Camden. I was gutted I couldn’t get there. How did it go? Lots of drunkenness and shenanigans?

The Dev is a perfect venue for this event as it is a true metal pub in Camden which is one of the most diverse towns in London. Great atmosphere and punters. I think my other half should cover the drunken shenanigans as she won that one hands down. I give you her number and the Premier Inn in London where she was carried to after the gig and made a grand entrance…….. I am sure they can fill you in on that one… lots of punters were up for a big night and it did not disappoint.

Answered by Clive Pearson.

So, you are happy with the line up now?

It’s not just a line up it’s a big family with all the wives and girlfriends part of the group.

Answered by Paul Chatfield

I checked out your latest tour dates on your website and I see you are doing a lot of double headers with another great band Sacrilege (and some with support from Satan’s Empire). What’s is like working with those guys? They are all a great bunch.

They are all a great bunch. We have got a few under our belts already and the one that stands out was at the Underworld in Camden … I seem to get on well in Camden……… Sacrilege are a real good time rock and roll party animals that enjoy themselves on and off stage. We are also pretty much the same age so got a lot of those old days to catch up on and reminisce about. Satan’s Empire have a new album out and sure deliver live. I know Paul Lewis from when he was in Belladonna so cool to be gigging with them now..
Look forward to the next ones coming up…

Answered by Clive Pearson.

And you have the NWOBHM GDR #3 in Nuneaton in November. Are you looking forward to that? It’s a shame it’s not in London again though.

We played the first one in London and good to see it gathering pace a few years now. Great to have Tokyo Blade, Tysondog on the bill plus The Deep & Airforce. We all gigging regularly over the years so will be a big party.

Tokyo Blade will be the 2nd time we shared the stage who are good friends with Rob and Keith so good times will be had…

You play in Europe a lot. Do you think your music is better received there and do you prefer playing there or on home soil?

We really enjoy playing in Europe, the fans seem more dedicated, they know the material and really appreciate the fact you come over. I suppose we were a bit spoilt for choice in the UK. There is, and has always been loads of great bands evolved here through the years so fans have a massive choice. Don’t get me wrong it’s fantastic to play to a great crowd in the UK but the European crowds seem to let their hair down a bit more and really rock out.

Answered by Paul Taylor

I am the first to admit that I am not the biggest fan of NWOBHM (yet here I am interviewing one of the original bands from the era!) and I must say I prefer the last album to the earlier stuff. What have you done that has changed your sound so that even a NWOBHM-disliker like me loved your album?

The NWOBHM label is just that, a label! It was just a way to remarket what had always been there, good old-fashioned rock bands. All the radio stations just played either disco music or punk. Purple, Sabbath, UFO, Uriah Heep, Wishbone Ash, Budgie, Lizzy and Priest were still all there and they inspired us, younger bands. So it could be that you like the King album because we’re now better at producing great rock albums than we were 30 years ago . The original values of the music are the same as they’ve always been, strong powerful guitar riffs with a solid rhythm section and melodic vocal tunes with interesting lyrics. We chose Chris T to produce the album because of his fantastic track record and his love of great rock music. He loved the album and did a brilliant job. It would seem that we’ve done what we intended to do, make an album traditional NWOBHM fans would like but also cross the boundaries in to the established hard rock fan base who would normally dismiss NWOBHM bands because of the label.

Answered by Paul Taylor

Ok, so I am friends with most, if not all of you, on social media of some sort, whether it’s Facebook, Twitter or Instagram and I have seen you “in the flesh” so to speak. You are all a great bunch of guys and I would love to interview you face to face after a gig at some point! Would this be ok with you guys?

For sure we always happy to give interviews and answer question for readers on Skype or phone.
Or come backstage after gig and we can have few beers and chat..

So, what’s next for Desolation Angels?

Keep on gigging for as long as we can and record the next album.

Answered by Paul Chatfield

Well, thank you so much for your time. I look forward to seeing you on the road and maybe we can get that interview squeezed in. Is there anything you would like to add?

Thanks for asking us to do this interview spread the word http://www.desolationangels.co.uk

 

Disclaimer: This interview is solely the property of Dawn “The Metal Priestess” King and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this interview, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to do adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Amplified Festival 2018, Gloucestershire, July 7th 2018, Day Two

00 Day2 Lineup

Amplified Festival 2018

Quarry Downs, Gloucestershire

July 7th 2018, Day Two

Review by Rick Tilley with help from Beth Jones

Photographs by Beth Jones

10/10

It was still very early when I woke up on the Saturday morning, 5:30am to be precise, but it was even hotter than it had been on the Friday and much too stuffy to be in the tent so I quietly got myself ready and went outside. I alluded to it in my Friday review, but it’s worth repeating, that Amplified is set in some of the most beautiful countryside in the UK. My Sister lives very close to the site and my Mum is only ten minutes further away so I know the Cotswolds quite well. Sitting in those surroundings, when there is literally silence, apart from the birds and farmyard animals in the distance, whilst watching the sun rise above the trees really was a wonderful feeling and totally at odds with what would be happening about five hours into the future!

Welcome to Ever Metal’s review of Amplified Festival 2018, Day Two!

As people started to wake up, and you really took a good look around, it was blindingly obvious there were a heck of a lot more people attending than in 2017. People had continued to arrive during the course of the previous day and it wasn’t long before more cars and Camper Vans started to come through the gates. Rather than the washed out, wet, tired, bedraggled and hollow looks on faces of the previous year, with many already packed and gone, this year everyone was smiling, there was happiness and laughter and plenty of sore heads, not just from one drink too many but also because of the sun. Yes, the weather was partly the reason for the joviality, but listening to conversations, it was very clear that people were talking about the site, the bands performances from the previous day and how relaxed, friendly and open everyone was being and that there was very definitely a special atmosphere.

We did find out later that day that there had been a security breach during the night, on the other side of the site, which slightly marred the weekend and needs to be addressed for next year, but, that aside, 99% of people seemed to be in seventh heaven!

Opening Day Two proceedings, on the Very Metal Art stage, with a thunderous bang were Stafford based band Obzidian. It was a great turn out for them so early in the morning and they punched us all repeatedly with precision fistfuls of heavy thrash. They were a bit too heavy for Beth, on the wrong side of her marmite gauge, but I’ve seen these guys a few times before and love them! They certainly aren’t your standard Thrash band incorporating chunks of Progressive and Death Metal, but they do it with a huge amount of catchiness and are incredibly tight! As I was watching them I thought back to just a few hours earlier, when I had been sitting peacefully, listening to the birds, and smiled…festivals are a funny thing aren’t they? Anyway, Obzidian had the crowd bouncing like loons and definitely set the pace for the day. If you were still asleep when they hit the stage, I’m positive you wouldn’t have been by the end of their set!

01 Obzidian Day2https://www.facebook.com/ObzidianBand/

Even though it was still morning the sun was beating down without mercy, so with bottles of water (and a nice pint) in hand we headed over to the Red Stripe Main Stage to watch Yorkshire’s Aggressive Pop Rockers, As Sirens Fall. I have received quite a bit of press about these guys and they certainly seem to be gaining a fairly substantial fan-base, but, as you can tell from the above description of their sound, they are a much more mainstream sounding band that very much appeal to the Kerrang/Rock Sound readership and they fell a little flat for my liking. Their songs are indeed very catchy and they certainly have plenty of energy but it all felt a bit polished and staged and they look like they are being moulded into something they don’t quite feel comfortable with. I’d also like to say that their Manager/Photographer was quite annoying, wandering around the stage, taking photos and generally just getting in the way (even though she had been asked not to). A professional photographer will be almost invisible, she most definitely wasn’t! As a 50 year old man I’m obviously not As Sirens Fall’s target audience but I wish them all the luck in the world!

02 As Sirens Fall Day2https://www.facebook.com/assirensfall/

We were straight back to the Very Metal Art Stage next for a band I was hugely looking forward to seeing, Nottingham based Hard Rockers Fahran. I’m ashamed to say, that even though I love their music, I had always missed them when they’ve gigged near to me in the past and this performance proved why I should have gotten off my arse a bit sooner. Fahran have passion oozing out of them by the bucket-load and even though they play Classic Hard Rock, it’s done with so much bite, energy and skill that they appeal to a very wide audience, certainly judging by the variety of t-shirts on display in the crowd! They gave us a set of tight and intelligent tracks that you could REALLY bang your head to, with melodies to die for, and in Matt Black, a vocalist with killer range and emotion. Put that together with the crystal clear sound courtesy, yet again, of the brilliant engineers and you were on to an absolute winner. Drummer, Josh Fahran (who the band is named after) should take a huge bow. If they are gigging near you, don’t do what I did, make sure you go and see them because you’ll love every minute!

03 Fahran Day2https://www.facebook.com/Fahranmusic/

Carrying on in the Hard Rock genre, but with a little more Audrey Horne and Down in their sound, were King Creature who were next up on the Red Stripe Main Stage and damn they were good! It was now midday and the arena was ridiculously hot but these four guys from Cornwall were in serious contention to match and surpass that heat. I want to know, with all the music I listen to, why I had never seen or heard much about King Creature before, but you can be guaranteed that will now change. They put on a blistering performance of huge crunchy riffs and massive rhythms and Vocalist/Bassist Dave Kellaway has a colossal set of pipes. This was Rock N Roll excellence and it’s clear to see why they’ve been picked up by Marshall Records. We were only on the fourth band of the day and I was starting to get overwhelmed with just how well everyone was playing. I don’t know what it is, but there is something about Amplified Festival that seems to bring the best out in everybody!

04 King Creature Day2https://www.facebook.com/KingCreature/

For those of you who have met or seen Beth you’ll be used to seeing a big swathe of black hair, but underneath the colour she is actually a bit of a ginger, so by this point she was literally melting into the grass and went to seek shade at the Corrosive Merch and Goblin Dreams stands, run by the awesome and lovely Marc Cleave (Torqued) and Nici Chapman which, this year, were situated next to the Very Metal Art Stage and I went to watch evil Death Metal titans, from Bristol, Seprevation! I’ve seen these guys live before and whilst they might be on the brutally heavy side, they kick serious arse. If you’re a fan of bands like Possessed, Sadus, Pestilence, Death or Sadistic Intent then Seprevation will get you wet in places you didn’t know could get wet and this performance proved how good they are. You perhaps wouldn’t expect their brand of Metal to come across so well in a field, in the Cotswolds and in broad daylight but they pummelled the assembled crowd into submission and then some. I, sometimes, find them quite difficult to listen to on CD but live they have so much power and precision that it’s a different prospect entirely, for this Rick at least.

05 Seprevation Day2https://www.facebook.com/Seprevation/

With Beth now somewhat refreshed, having tipped a few gallons of water over herself, we set off on the short journey back to the Main Stage to watch one of the 2017 Amplified bands that had been invited back again, the intriguing Rival Bones. I only vaguely remember watching them at the Festival last year, not because they were bad…far from it, but because the horrendous weather coupled with my back problems had me craving for more painkillers and hoping that Captain Nemo would appear in the Nautilus to submarine us all to safety!

How Rival Bones manage to make the sound they do, with just the two of them, is extremely impressive! It’s always great to see a drummer brought forward much nearer the front of the stage and Chris Thomason engages the eye with his style. Then you have Guitarist/Vocalist James Whitehouse basically doing everything else and it’s a bit like watching a game of tennis, your head constantly moving from left to right to try and work out how they do it. It’s not style over substance though, their music rocks, the tunes incredibly catchy and James has a superb voice. It was great to see them asked back to play again this year, especially as their music worked incredibly well in the sunshine and I look forward to seeing them again.

06 Rival Bones Day2https://www.facebook.com/rivalbones/

With a quick stop off for food/more water we headed straight back over to the Very Metal Art Stage for a dose of Classic Thrash mixed with a pinch of Crossover, done the Irish way, courtesy of Animator. They are another band I hadn’t heard an awful lot about but Beth and I both absolutely loved them. It seems to me that there are loads of fabulous bands coming out of Ireland at the moment and it’s great to see. Animator absolutely nailed their performance and were hugely upbeat. They managed to make themselves sound classic and modern all at the same time and are great musicians with excellent material. They also drew a very good crowd considering the field was now the temperature of a smelting furnace and that crowd, including Michael Randall AKA Tigger (Lead Vocalist/Bassist from the band Mad Spanner) who has the energy of a Duracell bunny, bounced their way through the entire set. It was certainly a sight to see. I shall be checking out Animator’s back catalogue and cannot wait to see them live again! You should definitely be checking them out too!

07 Animator Day2https://www.facebook.com/Animatorireland/

At this point it was my turn to reluctantly take to the shade of the Corrosive Merch & Goblin Dreams stands. Heat doesn’t usually bother me, too much, but even I was starting to wilt. However, I also suffer with spondylitis and spondylolisthesis of the spine and in my enjoyment of the proceedings, so far that day, had forgotten to take my medication. It was very silly of me and because of it I had to miss Sinnergod who I was looking forward to so I apologise to them. The beauty of the arena set-up, however, meant I could still hear them pretty well and what I heard sounded very good. Beth also went to take some photos and said that they were impressive!

08 Sinnergod Day2https://www.facebook.com/sinnergod/

After resting for an hour we headed over to the Red Stripe Main Stage to watch a band who many were waiting for with baited breath. It was actually touch and go as to whether Jinjer would be able to play, as they had been stuck in the Ukraine having issues with their travel visas and had missed a Festival the day before. Luckily they made it, much to the relief of Gary and the Amplified team and their performance could now be billed as a UK Festival Exclusive!

There was a huge crowd of, mainly men, waiting for them to start and you could tell why when lead singer Tatiana Shmailyuk took to the stage. Imagine one of the Cheeky Girls possessed by the demon Pazuzu from The Exorcist and you would be somewhere close. They are all incredibly talented and technical musicians, bassist Eugene Kostyuk and drummer Vladislav Ulasevish seem to have an almost telekinetic bond with one another, and they gave a hell of a performance…many said it was their performance of the weekend…BUT, personally, I had a little trouble engaging with their material. I’m definitely going to give them another go, I may just need more time, but if songs don’t emotionally connect with me, then all the talent in the world won’t change that, however popular they seem to be with everyone else!

09 Jinjer Day2https://www.facebook.com/JinjerOfficial/

Unfortunately, we only got to see a little of the next two acts Aaron Buchanan And The Cult Classics and Warrior Soul because we wanted to go and watch the ‘EvilStick’ interview (see below) but what we did witness was very positive on both counts. What I need is to be able to clone myself so I can be in two places at once!

https://www.facebook.com/TheCultClassics/

https://www.facebook.com/warriorsoulofficial/

So, what was the ‘EvilStick’ interview? Well, it was certainly one of the more surreal parts of Amplified 2018 and you, sort of, had to be there but I’m going to try and explain briefly!

A group of bright sparks, including John Matthews (Totally Tankered) decided that it would be really fun to do a combined interview with Evil Scarecrow and Psychostick and call it…EvilStick. Bearing in mind the humour levels of both bands is somewhere in the region of Monty Python meets Naked Gun then it was always going to be a challenge to control them and a challenge it most certainly was, albeit a hilarious one! What was due to take place in The Motley Brew ended up in the woods and it was 20-30 minutes of insanity involving, amongst other things, a trip/race by two band members to get ice cream which ended up becoming a trip to get beer, scones with cream and jam, a box with a question mark written on it backwards, lots of quick-fire questions (not one of which was answered in a sane manner) and Evil Scarecrow hijacking the interviewers chair, all watched over by a slightly bemused Gary Paterson. It sort of reminded me of a human version of ‘The Clangers’. It was recorded but we aren’t sure if it’s been seen by anyone. Very very funny but also very very mad!!

10 EvilStick Interview Day2

After a chat with our mates from the band Lullaby For A Unicorn, who were there for the weekend soaking up the atmosphere (please check them out, they are brilliant), we headed back to the Very Metal Art stage to get back into music mode with the brilliant Bull-Riff Stampede. This was only their second gig of 2018, as guitarist Jay Walsh has been busy with his other band Xentrix, but you really wouldn’t have believed it. They deliver their brand of Thrash/Death Metal with devastating clarity, are all seasoned professionals and very gifted musicians. All four of them gel so well and front man Dave Garnett has a voice almost as loud as his toxic green Jackson guitars. Bull-Riff Stampede never fail to put on a fantastic show, they thrashed out a loud and loaded set and the whole crowd really got into the groove with them!

11 Bull-Riff Stampede Day2https://www.facebook.com/bullriffstampedebandpage/

We headed back to the Red Stripe Main Stage with huge smiles on our faces and everybody else around seemed to be smiling too. Whether people were in the bar, Merch tent, eating, sitting with a beer soaking up the sun or in The Motley Brew with a cuppa…the feeling of happiness, friendship, enjoyment and belonging was huge and it increased even more after watching Welshman Jayce Lewis and his band. I’m going to let Beth tell you about this because I couldn’t say it any better!

“This was one of my performances of the weekend. The masterstroke of dual bass guitars set Jayce Lewis apart from anyone else over the three days. It made the band totally different, insanely heavy and industrial. It was music that you could physically feel throughout your body, with the low frequencies of the basses rattling every sinew. This was a performance that highlighted the epic insanity of genius, as well as the incredible writing talent that is Jayce Lewis. His music is all about rhythm and it made me feel alive in its sparseness. The whole thing – the music, the look, the tone, the staging, all made for a stunning show which I am immensely happy that I saw. A new fan was very definitely born in me that day”.

All I will add, apart from agreeing with Beth’s sentiments, is that it’s clear to see why Jayce has toured with and is friends with Gary Numan as he is hugely influenced by him. This was a fantastic performance, almost hypnotic, and both of us are really looking forward to seeing him live again!

12 Jayce Lewis Day2https://www.facebook.com/jaycelewisofficial/

One of the reasons I had been looking forward to Amplified so much this year was the inclusion of Psychostick on the bill. I have been a big fan of these guys for about six years now and, when I find myself at a low ebb in life, one of my go-to places is the P section of the cavernous CD collection I own because they always make the corners of my mouth turn upwards into something resembling a smile. Giving Psychostick headline status on the Very Metal Art stage was a genius way to finish that part of the day and WOW, did they deliver! They are completely the real deal. Natural Talent + Zany Humour + Impeccable Timing + Hard Work & Dedication = Psychostick! Hilariously funny and incredibly talented to start with, they have also managed to put together a show that is a piece of live art. Clever, witty and lovable they take everyday annoyances and events that we already groan and smile about and turn them into a, laugh a second, collection of perfectly timed musical gags, peppered with sound effects, kazoos, great vocals, wonderful riffs and lots of hats. Audience participation is paramount, especially in ‘Sombrero Prophecy’ Psychostick were utterly brilliant from start to finish and, easily, one of my performances of the weekend!

13 Pshycostick VMA Headliners Day2https://www.facebook.com/Psychostick/

If Psychostick had been the band to finish off Day Two proceedings then I think, just about, everybody present would have been more than satisfied but we still had the best band in the world ever…to write a song about a robot to headline the Red Stripe Main Stage, yes I’m talking about the mystical beings that are Evil Scarecrow!

Before we talk about this year’s performance, we need to mention that last year at Amplified, Evil Scarecrow were the band that grabbed everyone, that had stuck it out, by the soggy proverbials and dragged us all to the place called happiness! Their performance was the lift everybody needed so it was an absolute no-brainer to get them back to do it again.

We had heard that they had a new character to add to the arsenal of characters that already join them on stage, that they would be playing a new song and also that their performance would involve lots of pyro! We were stoked and with very good reason. Apart from wondering whether it was wise for ‘Brother Pain’ to be anywhere near pyro, Evil Scarecrow were magnificent. There is something very invigorating about watching performers faces when pyro goes off and flames leap into the air at the best of times but, when it happens at an Evil Scarecrow show, the glint of maniacally laughing demons escaping from every band members eyes when they lit up set the tone for this performance.

They threw in all the old favourites and had the crowd waltzing, scuttling and drawing robot squares in unison, and the stage show was as madcap and colourful as we have now come to expect from the Nottingham nutters…and then came the new song and new character; ‘Little Red Riding Hood’. However, this Red Riding Hood was far from little, she was ten foot tall and absolutely terrifying! The song was as dark as the character, and the swathe of red light that filled the stage made the performance the stuff of nightmares, not least for the photographers who pretty much all hate red light! With Dr. Hell announcing that a new Evil Scarecrow album was in the works and that it would be available sometime before 2025 everyone, in the sizeable crowd, looked like they were floating with joy. As the band left the stage we cried for more, and even after an encore, we still cried for more. By the time the cheering had quietened the stage lights were on and a good amount of equipment had been dismantled.

14 Evil Scarecrow, Main Stage Headliners Day2https://www.facebook.com/Evil.Scarecrow/

If you fancied it, and had the energy, the party then continued at the G’s Bar Stage with the madness of Electric Eel Shock but I was absolutely exhausted and after a lovely cuppa, and the obligatory chat with people, I retired to the tent safe in the knowledge that I had experienced my best day at a Festival ever…yes EVER! Beth wasn’t quite as tired though and stayed at The Motley Brew with a motley crew of our lovable buddies playing the best game ever ‘Cards Against Humanity’!

I’ll be back soon to tell you if Amplified Festival 2018, Day Three was the icing on the cake!
Links:
https://www.facebook.com/amplifiedfestivalUK/

https://www.instagram.com/amplifiedrocks/

15 Amplified Logo

 

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Richard Tilley, Beth Jones and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of all parties. Failure to do adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

All photographs are the property of Beth Jones and PhotograBee – http://www.facebook.com/PhotograBeeImages

CALLUS: “Hogpocalypse” Debut Album Teaser Premiered On Ever Metal!

CALLUS: “Hogpocalypse” Debut Album Teaser

Premiered On Ever Metal

05/08/2018

Article by Rick Tilley

 
Ever Metal are extremely proud to premiere a short teaser from the forthcoming, debut, album from Lancaster based Metal band CALLUS. We now know it’s entitled “HOGPOCALYPSE”, believe me, that’s an awesome title that describes CALLUS and their music perfectly, but what we don’t know yet is when the release date will be. However, I’m going to put my neck on the line and say that it will be absolutely ‘Hogtastic’!

Check out the teaser here:

CALLUS describe themselves as “Down-tuned stoner metal fused with thrash and sludge elements for a truly obnoxious, quite furious and outright terrifying sound” and that’s about as good a description as you’ll get. They combine a huge range of influences that together should sound completely wrong but CALLUS do the impossible and turn it into one of the heaviest, tightest and most enjoyable things I’ve heard from a band in years.
Whilst we await the album go and listen to, or buy, a copy of their EP “Through Blood, Sweat, Piss And Pain” and see why Ever Metal adore them and also make sure to see them live if they turn up at a venue or festival near you, because they pride themselves on being a ‘live band’. After seeing them four times in recent months, there is no doubt they are absolutely thunderous in a live setting.

If you want to know why I love doing this job so much then listening to CALLUS will give you the answer!

CALLUS ARE:
Louis Clarke – Guitar and Vocals
Ben Wormwell – Bass and Vocals
Ryan Ormerod – Drums

LINKS:
https://www.facebook.com/Callus.band/
https://www.instagram.com/callus_uk/
https://callus117.bandcamp.com/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZOSaYdZBmL8DhLMPjLWggQ