Reviews

Eluveitie – Rickshaw Theater, Vancouver, BC, Canada – 30/09/2019

 

 
Disclaimer: This photo album is solely the property of Arturs Feists. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of these images, unless you have the strict permission of said party. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Korpiklaani – Rickshaw Theater, Vancouver, BC, Canada – 30/09/2019

 

Disclaimer: This photo album is solely the property of Arturs Feists. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of these images, unless you have the strict permission of said party. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

 

Arkdown – G21 at The Saddle Rock Bar, Chester – 05/10/2019

 

 

Disclaimer: This photo album is solely the property of Beth Jones and PhotograBee. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of these images, unless you have the strict permission of said party. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

In Which It Burns – G21 at The Saddle Rock Bar, Chester – 05/10/2019

 

 

Disclaimer: This photo album is solely the property of Beth Jones and PhotograBee. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of these images, unless you have the strict permission of said party. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Scarfoot – G21 at The Saddle Rock Bar, Chester – 05/10/2019

 

 

Disclaimer: This photo album is solely the property of Beth Jones and PhotograBee. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of these images, unless you have the strict permission of said party. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Arkdown w/ In Which It Burns & Scarfoot – G21 At The Saddle Rock Bar, Chester – 05/10/2019

00 Gig Poster

Arkdown
w/ In Which It Burns & Scarfoot
G21 At The Saddle Rock Bar, Chester
05/10/2019
Review by Beth Jones

Another Friday, another trip to the G21! This week’s entertainment was being brought to us by a familiar name in the shape of Scarfoot (but with their new bass player) and two names who were completely new to me – In Which It Burns and Arkdown. Sadly, Rick was laid up with his back again, so I took my substitute gig companion and oldest child, Sian.

For those who haven’t been to the G21, it is an intimate venue created from an old stable building at the back of Chester’s best rock venue, The Saddle Bar. It is a great place to spend an evening and this is something that I am going to rant about in a bit, so be warned! First, to the bands!

Scarfoot
Having seen these guys on a number of occasions before, we knew what they were about, and regular listeners will know that I have always said that they were ok, but something was missing. Enter stage right their new bass player, Rhys, and bingo! This was what I had been waiting for from these guys! It felt so much tighter than it was before, and Vocalist/Guitarist Oliver Carins and drummer Phil Eakins, the backbone of the band, looked so much happier and content with the sound. Everything had more depth, more confidence and more groove. They have also filled the gaps between songs and developed more of a stage presence. I am so happy to be able to write this about them – there is nothing more pleasing than seeing a young band find themselves and look genuinely content and relaxed. This enjoyment also rubbed off on the crowd, and they were grooving along with them for the whole set. Whilst they were probably the lightest band on tonight’s bill, they have a chunky sound, enhanced by the gruff dual vocals of both Oliver and Phil. The new bass sound, with little fills, and more complex riffs really complimented this and I am really excited to see where this rebirth takes them next!

01 Scarfoothttps://www.facebook.com/thescarfootband/

In Which It Burns
Because I like to go into things with no preconceptions, I had no knowledge of these guys at all. From their name, I had had a guess at what type of band they would be, and I wasn’t sure whether I was going to like them or not – this is the beauty of actively seeking out new music. From the first riff, my ears picked up, and by the end of the first song, my mind was made up – they were bloody good!! Joining us all the way from Pembrokeshire, these guys deliver heavy grooves and roaring vocals, and would be enjoyed by fans of early Metallica, through to Pantera but also fans of more modern, Djent style Metal. They were really tight and well-rehearsed, and a special mention must be given to drummer Eugene Lowe, who was an absolute machine! I was gutted Rick wasn’t there to see it to be honest, as he would have been falling over himself with superlatives to describe this guy’s rhythms! They all had a great presence, and their personalities and technical prowess stood side by side to create a brilliant performance – they even had a pit going at the front for one of the songs – not an easy thing to start in the G21!

02 In Which It Burnshttps://www.facebook.com/InWhichItBurns/

Arkdown
Our headliners tonight were joining us from Sheffield, and from their logo, I had deduced that they were probably going to be pretty heavy! They got a big tick in my book before they even started playing, as they had brought their own stage lights! Anyone who has followed any of my reviews / photography outings will know my biggest gripe is lighting! The G21 lacks lights and makes me say words my mother would not be proud of, however I was able to snap away to my heart’s content with these guys! They play a brand of modern metal that, in all honesty, has the ability to get right on my tits when it’s not done right, however these guys really know how to do it right and their performance was superb. Everything was like a well-oiled machine, from the stops and changes within the songs, to the programming of the lights, even down to the choreographed headbanging – nothing was out of place, nothing was over or under done and it was bloody spectacular! The shared vocals duties of front man Kyle Dawson and Guitarist Mike Dyson had a kind of call and response feel in parts, which really worked, and their voices blended together well to create a brilliant version of the scream type sound that has become synonymous with the modern metal style. When it is done well, like these guys do it, I love it! I really cannot find anything to criticise about them. Everything was superb. I picked up a copy of their EP “The Calling” and listened to it in the car on the way home, and their stage sound was just as good as the recording. I am so glad I was one of the select few in the audience and I can’t wait to see them again!

03 Arkdownhttps://www.facebook.com/ArkdownOfficial/

Right, so that is my band write up done, now I am going to rant about something that I have kept my mouth shut about up until now, but that came to a head at this gig and really pissed me off (anyone who knows me will know it takes a hell of a lot to piss me off).

Here we had three great bands, who have been playing up and down the country, working their backsides off to bring shows to people, and by the time Arkdown were on stage, they were playing to a handful of people – literally. One of the audience members was me, two were girlfriends of band members, and one was the gig organiser – if you take us out of the equation, the rest of the audience could be counted on one hand, but they still put everything into that performance, and played as if they were playing to a packed out stadium, and for that I have the utmost respect for them, because mentally that is tough.

This is sadly echoed in many town, in many countries globally at the moment, and then people complain when venues shut down – IF YOU DON’T USE THEM HOW ARE THEY GOING TO STAY OPEN DICKHEADS??!!! Don’t bloody complain that you didn’t know it was on, or that you hadn’t heard of the band – ACTIVELY GO OUT LOOKING FOR NEW STUFF!!! In an age of social media, where our entire lives are there at the touch of a button, we have become fucking lazy, and expect everything to be spoon fed to us – STOP IT! Check out your local venues’ Facebook or Twitter to see what is on! Search for your local scene and like any pages that come up that are connected to it, and check them out regularly to see what they are up to! In the old days we used to get the ‘What’s On’ guide somewhere in the back of the local free paper every week, and we would search through the paper to find it, and circle in red, or cut out and stick on the calendar the things we wanted to go to! There is zero reason why we can’t do the same now, using the technology that we all have in our back pockets, but we’re too fucking lazy!!! These bands, and hundreds like them on the emerging and underground scene, deserve more than we are giving them. They are working so hard to entertain us, with entry to their gigs costing the same as a pint, but we can’t be arsed. Please, for the love of music, sort it out!!!!

As I dismount my soap box, I would like to say a huge thank you to the bands for giving me a brilliant evening’s entertainment, and also a huge thanks to North East Wales Metal Productions again, for putting on this gig, and for working tirelessly to reboot the scene around here. And before anyone say “Well you only go because you get press passes” or “You get given CDs for free”, NO – we buy tickets for these gigs to help support the scene, and we buy the CDs to help support the bands, so suck it up, don’t make excuses, and get out to watch bands – you might find something you like! GRRRRRRR!!

LINKS
https://www.facebook.com/N.E.WMetalProductions/
https://www.facebook.com/Grosvenor21/
https://www.facebook.com/Thesaddleinnchester/

 

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Beth Jones and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

All photos courtesy of Beth Jones and PhotograBee Images
https://www.facebook.com/PhotograBeeImages/

Interview with Rich Rutter of Toledo Steel – The Firehouse, Southampton – 13-09-2019

Rich Rutter of Toledo Steel

Interview with Rich Rutter of Toledo Steel
The Firehouse, Southampton 13-09-2019
By Lotty Whittingham

Bands like TOLEDO STEEL are ensuring the heavy metal scene still thrives. Before they took to the stage in Southampton; Lotty Whittingham caught up for a quick chat with lead vocalist Rich Rutter about their tour, their latest release and differences between the UK and European Metal scenes.

Hello Rich, thanks for joining us. First off introduce Toledo Steel to the readers?

I’m Richard Rutter from Toledo Steel, I’m the singer and we’re a traditional heavy metal band that’s based in Southampton.

Speaking of Southampton, we are at The Firehouse tonight. A local hotspot for you guys.

How has the tour been going so far?

It’s a short number of dates, it’s three shows in a row. We played the first on in Newcastle and that was a great show. It was a long drive but the scene up there is pretty consistent and we have played there before. It was a great way to start the short tour.

You also have some European tour dates after this short run?

Yeah that’s right, in two weeks’ time we’re going to Belgium again for one show and then we’re following that up with our two first shows in France. So it will be falling on the Friday in Belgium, the Saturday in a city just outside of Paris and then the Sunday in Paris.

You’ve toured Europe quite a lot, do you notice any significant differences in the metal scenes in each of the countries? For example ticket sales, audiences?

Yes there is definitely a big difference, I think the UK is good but it’s quite hit and miss. Whereas Europe on the whole tends to be more reliable with regards to getting a good turnout at shows, people are more likely to travel further to see a band that they like. In the UK, unless it’s right on their doorstep, they don’t necessarily venture out to see bands unless it’s a big name. So it’s different in Europe in a number of ways.

You must have quite a big fan base in Europe?

Yes it’s slowly building up! We just try and play as much as we can. Hopefully each time we go back, there will be a few more people. So we try and build that up slowly.

There’s also a huge heavy metal scene in Europe too?

Yes definitely. Especially in countries like Germany, The Netherlands and Belgium.

You released your debut album last year, am I right in thinking they are all brand new Toledo Steel tracks and not ones from previous EPs?

Yes that was all fresh material on that album, so it was eight new tracks. Prior to that, we had done two independent EPs. The first one was just a three track to get us started and the second one was slightly longer it was five tracks on that one. Obviously, we had to follow that up with a full length album with all new material.

Would you re-master any of the previous tracks?

Not remaster as such but re-release possibly. I mean we still have a few copies left of each EP and if they all go, our label Dissonance Productions maybe planning to release both EPs as one package at some point.

Do you guys have a particular routine when it comes to writing songs?

It depends from song to song. Everyone contributes in some way. Quite often, it will be Tom our guitarist who comes up with a riff idea and that will inspire a lyrical theme. We then just kind of flush it out from there. Sometimes it might come from a solo or a bass riff, it depends on the song. Sometimes it can be lyrics inspire a melody, a chorus and we work the guitars around that. We build it from there on out.

What advice would you give to someone who is looking to start a band?

Get out there and give it go. I mean make sure you get the right bunch of people that are in the same head space as you so you have a clear direction. Take it seriously, work hard at crafting some decent songs. Don’t rush to play live and make sure you get it together enough in the rehearsal room before playing shows. Get out there and learn as you go.

Big thanks to Rich for talking to Lotty.

You can read Lotty’s full review of the Southampton gig at the following link:

https://ever-metal.com/2019/09/16/speed-queen-toledo-steel-skyryder-the-firehouse-southampton-13-09-2019/

Dawn previously interviewed Rich in 2018. You can check that interview at the following link:

https://ever-metal.com/2018/09/03/interview-with-toledo-steel/

Image courtesy of Tomasz Wrobel at TzW Photography
https://www.facebook.com/Tzwphotography/

TOLEDO STEEL LINKS:
http://www.toledosteel.co.uk/
https://www.facebook.com/toledosteelband/
https://www.instagram.com/toledosteelband/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCgbmPNkl-J9g-og3gP_BmRA/videos

 

 

Disclaimer: This interview is solely the property of Lotty Whittingham and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this interview, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

The Alma Inn September Showcase 2019 – The Alma Inn, Bolton – 28/09/2019

00 Alma Inn September Showcase Poster

The Alma Inn September Showcase 2019
The Alma Inn, Bolton – 28/09/2019
Review by Beth Jones

There is simply no better way to spend a wet and dreary late September day than listening to live music in a pub full of people. The Alma Inn September Showcase took place in these very conditions – the really fine rain that gets you properly wet was falling when we arrived, and we were glad to get in and grab a pint, sadly not an alcoholic one for me – I was driving, and settle in for another nine bands from the thriving underground metal scene. The line-up was more eclectic than the last showcase we attended, and two of the names on the bill were household regulars for us – Thrashatouille and Scars Of Remembrance, who we always look forward to seeing, however we were also eager to see some new names, and the day was to start with one of these.

OND
This young band from Leeds were here to start the day off in style, and they did just that! Calling their style ‘progressive spooky filth’, they whipped up the crowd with their lively and bouncy tunes that were perfectly fitting for their hyperactive charisma. I would say they were a great example of classic heavy metal, with a more modern and progressive twist. Their look and youthful exuberance took me back to the Bohemian Rhapsody scene in Wayne’s World and this made me happy. They are all extremely talented musicians too, and reading their bio on Facebook, I have learnt that they released an EP in 2018, and are currently working on their album, which I shall very much look forward to hearing! What a great way to start the day! Well done lads – four thumbs up from me and Rick!

01 ONDhttps://www.facebook.com/ondband/

Thrashatouille
We have seen these guys on a number of occasions now, and they are always dependable for a tight, but bonkers, food-based show and this performance was no exception. Front man Rob Sutton pulls some of the best faces ever, as he describes to us, through the medium of song, the pain of brain freeze, explosive chilli shits, and his love for red velvet cake. All this is backed up by the rest of the motley chefs, adorned in their chefs’ whites and crunching out banging tunes, which makes for a wonderfully nuts image to behold! I recently reviewed their EP “Rise Of The Bludgeonaise”(read it here: https://ever-metal.com/2019/06/21/thrashatouille-rise-of-the-bludgeonaise-ep/) and I can confidently say they are the same bonkers foodies on stage as they are on recording, and should definitely be a staple in any metalhead’s diet, and even if you don’t like their music, which I very much doubt, it is always immensely pleasurable to watch Rob smash a Red Velvet cake into his face at the end of their set!! Tasty!!

02 Thrashatouillehttps://www.facebook.com/Thrashatouille/

Blood Church
Next up were Blood Church, a blackened death metal outfit from Telford, who we knew of, but had not seen before. They have obviously thought a lot about their look and it is dramatic; Full corpse paint, and blood capsules made their genre instantly recognizable even before they had started playing! Thankfully their music lived up to their look, it was dark and doomy in places, but not dirgy, which was good. They took us through a 30-minute set of chunky, down tuned, roaring tracks which ate into your soul in a pleasurable way! Having spoken to front man Chris Thomas before the gig, it was quite amazing to see the transformation on stage – from a mild mannered and unassuming gent, to a crazed maniac fuelled by carnal rage, savagely emitting guttural roars and screams! I think he was possessed by the ram’s skull effigy with light up eyes that adorned the front of the stage! They were finalists in this year’s West Midlands M2TM and it is easy to see why they made it that far – they put on a very good show and we really enjoyed it!

03 Blood Churchhttps://www.facebook.com/BloodChurchBand/

Today, They Are Older
Today, They Are Older – mathematically correct, but the name didn’t give us many clues as to what they were about! We found out pretty quickly when they fired into their first song! They bill themselves as progressive post hardcore, and that is exactly what they are – djenty rhythms and riffs, and screamo vocals. They were very lively and three members of the band spent a lot of their time playing and pitting in the crowd at the same time, which was fun, but I moved out of the way a little as I didn’t fancy getting impaled on a guitar whilst trying to get a picture of the vocalist – I’m too old for that shit now! Fetch me my slippers and a mug of tea will you?! Whilst this style isn’t really my bag, there is no denying that they were very good and very tight, and I can definitely see the appeal that they have to the younger generation! They are full of anger and rage, and it comes out with a bang in their performance. If you like this style of music, you need to get out and see these guys sometime soon.

04 Today, They Are Olderhttps://www.facebook.com/TodayTheyAreOlder/

Whipcord
We were taken from modern to classic next, with Whipcord, this being their comeback show after a few years’ hiatus, and appearing on drums with them was none other than local legend and workaholic, John Badger! This was the first of two appearances by him today, because organizing shows just isn’t enough is it John? (Think we should rename him Dennis Waterman – ‘Write the feeeme tooooon, sing the feeeme tooooon’ [NB if you haven’t watched Little Britain, look this reference up!]) Anyway, I digress, so this was Whipcord’s come back show and they were here to bring us some classic hard rock, and that is exactly what they did, much to the pleasure of us oldies. With some great harmonies and melodies, they certainly gave the day a different flavour, although they did look a little serious at times on stage but coming back after a break is a tough thing to do, so I will let them off! I would certainly like to see them again.

05 Whipcordhttps://www.facebook.com/whipcord/

Scott Beveridge Project
Again, this is another of those bands that we had heard a lot about but had never seen. This was also Badger’s second outing on the drums – getting in practice for his ‘Drumming Up Change’ charity event coming in a month or so. Scott Beveridge Project (SBP) is the brainchild of front man Scott Beveridge, backed up by a variety of musical heads who appear in other bands too – kind of a supergroup of the Manchester Underground scene! Drawing influence from some of the great heavy metal musicians, their sound is good honest heavy metal, complete with widdly diddly solos, headbanging riffs and Hetfield style vocals. They are the sort of outfit that you know what you are getting, and I like that – it is comforting! We are definitely going to be checking them out again at the earliest opportunity. Loved it!

06 Scott Beveridge Projecthttps://www.facebook.com/ScottBeveridgeProject/

Asylum City Zoo
I was starting to hit the wall a little by this point – I’ll say it again, I’M OLD AND BROKEN OK?! But enjoyed these guys even if my outward persona looked like I had gone into stasis animation! They describe themselves as Beardcore/Stomp/Welly Metal, and I have to agree! I’m not entirely sure what that is, but I can definitely say that they are it! It is kind of early Metallica, with a more modern twist and better vocals! They were very tight, and they have a definite idea of who they are, which is always good to see. This assumption is also backed up when you visit their website, which is very nicely done – I recommend checking it out! I had to duck out and have a sit down about halfway through their set, sorry guys – I can’t hack the pace, but I really enjoyed their sound and next time I see them I promise I will watch the whole thing! In the meantime, I am going to digest a bit more of their music, which is available on their website, as it is right up my street!

07 Asylum City Zoohttps://www.facebook.com/asylumcityzoo/

Scars Of Remembrance
These guys were our North Wales M2TM winners this year, and their sound just gets better and better each time we see them. It was touch and go whether they were actually going to be able to perform here, as vocalist Mike Edwards was delayed, and the band were unsure if he would arrive on time – frantic reorganization ensued including which parts of the vocal duties would be taken on by guitarists Daniel Dawson and Mark Harris, and some nervous pacing from drummer Ben Burke and bassist Karl Ditcher, however Mike made it in the nick of time, and we all breathed a collective sigh of relief! AND they managed to do it again – they turned their anxiety into an absolute stonker of a performance that had the whole place bouncing. They mix together classic and melodic styles, with screamy death vocals, and pepper it with some groove, to create a unique sound that we love. Never be afraid to be different. Spot on guys – top show once again.

08 Scars of Remembrancehttps://www.facebook.com/scarsofremembrance/

Beyond Salvation
Our final band for the evening was Beyond Salvation – again another band we had heard great things about. Fronted by Jon Pedley, of Pedley Art, they are a four-piece technical thrash outfit from Manchester and are a huge part of the Manchester scene. Fast paced and meaty as hell, they make a huge sound that you can’t help but get involved in, with Jon’s roaring vocals and some epic guitar work from both Jon and Arun Kamath hypnotizing you into a thrash trance! As regular readers will know, I am picky when it comes to thrash – some of it floats my boat, most of it doesn’t. I am pleased to say that Beyond Salvation fell on the correct side of my metaphorical fence, and I am very happy about that! We had to duck out a little before the end, as the tempestuous weather was closing in, my body had finally hit the wall, and I still had to drive us back to Wales! But what a smashing performance to finish off a great day – again nice one guys.

09 Beyond Salvationhttps://www.facebook.com/beyondsalvationthrash/

And that was that! We hobbled off to the car, via the kebab shop, and set about the drive home (which was absolutely horrific, and I wanted to cry, I may add!). Yet again we had had another day of fantastic music. The day did have a couple of mild irritations for me though. Firstly, the sound – the whole day was slightly marred with technical issues. A lot of bands were complaining that they couldn’t here themselves on stage, and fiddling with leads and swapping mics became a bit of a theme for the day. That being said, this highlighted the quality of all the bands, as they still gave brilliant performances despite the issues. My only other gripe was the state of the ladies’ loos – I believe the expression is ‘fucking gopping man!’ I’m not posh, but I do like to have some home comforts when I go to a gig, and I can’t do horrid toilets! Sort it out please!

Apart from that, the whole day was great. Thanks again to the venue and organisers, and we look forward to coming back again soon!

LINKS:
https://www.facebook.com/Badgerfestpromotions/
https://www.facebook.com/alma.inn/

 

 

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Beth Jones and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

 

EMQ’s with DECENT NEWS

Decent News

EMQ’s with DECENT NEWS

Hi Everyone. Welcome to our new EMQ’s interview with New London County, Connecticut based Hardcore/Industrial band Decent News! Huge thanks to Eddie LaFlash for taking part!

What is your name, what do you play and can you tell us a little bit about the history of the band?

My Name is Eddie LaFlash, I play Guitar, Synth and I do occasional Vocals. Decent News was formed after one of my older projects imploded. I think it was roughly March of 2016; our former drummer Collin and one of his friends wanted to form a metal band and wanted a second guitarist or bassist so I jumped at it, having working with Collin before. I showed up at the E.O Smith building at Uconn a few days later with my shitty Peavey Raven combo amp and BC Rich Bitch 10 to meet up with Collin and the other guitarist and we all had pretty good chemistry. The next week we dragged Laken along to fill in at bass and that became our first line up. I don’t think Laken had ever even touched a bass before his first practice with us. A few months in and everyone started butting heads with the other guitarist because any music that we wanted to submit to the group got shot down and we were stuck playing the same three songs over and over at every practice so we decided that he had to go. We started fresh in 2017 writing our asses off and trying to find a vocalist. We recorded a live demo that summer with me on vocals but I can’t sing and play guitar at the same time so we knew we had to find a permanent vocalist. Enter, Caleb Moore. He might look the type of dude that will steal shit from your house and help you look for it, but he was a natural fit and plus we’ve been friends for 10 years and we always work better playing with our friends. We started working on our First album “Filth” and sent the single “Skin Puddle / Deafland” to Chris at Machine Man Records and got signed in January 2018. Laken left for a little while because he was having a kid and Collin ended up leaving to focus on school. Fast forward to right now, Laken is back and we just released our second album “Monolith”. Fuck that was long winded, I’m sorry!

How did you come up with your band name?

We were originally called Freakquency because we thought it was a clever name, but so did a lot of other bands. We made a list of about 100 names and just narrowed it down till we were left with two names ‘Decent News’ and ‘A Few Boys’. Every bit of us wanted to go with ‘A Few Boys’ but Decent News was way easier to design a logo for.

What country are you from and what is the Metal/Rock scene like there?

We are from the United States. More specifically we’re from Connecticut. The Metal/ Rock scene here is mostly cover bands. There is a Doom/Stoner metal scene here and a pretty good chunk of Metalcore bands in our area.

What is your latest release? (Album, EP, Single or Video)

On August 30th we released “[M O N O L I T H]”. It’s a 10 track album that mixes a lot of our unique styles to make a very pretty okay album.

Who have been your greatest influences?

Personally, my greatest influences are a lot of Industrial and thrash metal bands. KMFDM, <PIG>, Armageddon Dildos, Melvins. Caleb’s more into hardcore and pop punk and Laken is our little scene queen.

What first got you into music?

I got into music because my Mom was a musician. She always had instruments lying around and it was always something I wanted to do. I think Megadeth was the first band I heard that made me want to start writing.

If you could collaborate with a current band or musician who would it be?

Probably Street Sects! I am in awe of how those guys can take something that at its base is so harsh and noisy but actually structure it and make it catchy.

If you could play any festival in the world, which would you choose and why?

Ooo, that’s a tough one. For me I’d either say Rock am Ring in Germany (which is highly unlikely) or Cold Waves. I think we’d fit into Cold Waves very nicely.

What’s the weirdest gift you have ever received from a fan?

I think the weirdest gift is actually showing up and seeing us play.

If you had one message for your fans, what would it be?

We’re sorry we ruined your night out, there’s probably better bands playing whenever we have a show.

If you could bring one Metal/Rock star back from the dead, who would it be?

It’s got to be Chuck Schuldiner. He probably had a lot more music left in him and his death was super untimely.

What do you enjoy the most about being a musician? And what do you hate?

I like the occasional praise that we get. It makes all the hard work we do kinda mean something. One thing I hate is being in a constant state of trying to prove ourselves.

If you could change one thing about the music industry, what would it be?

It’s probably more of a local thing, but I’m not a fan of the cliqueyness of local scenes. When you’re starting out just about zero people are willing to give you a chance unless you’re going to literally every local show. When we were starting out it was really hard to break into the scene because we all work 2nd shift factory jobs and we couldn’t really make it to a lot of local scene shows. Whenever we did we’d usually get brushed off because we’re Decent News and we don’t really fit into any of the scenes out here.

Name one of your all-time favourite albums?

Melvins – “Houdini”

What’s best? Vinyl, Cassettes, CD’s or Downloads?

I like vinyl, I really do, but I get really annoyed when they don’t come with a digital download card.

What’s the best gig that you have played to date?

33 Golden Street in New London is always a blast. The place is always full and the staff are always really nice to us.

If you weren’t a musician, what else would you be doing?

I’d probably just cosplay as a factory machine operator working myself to death as is my current alter ego.

Which five people would you invite to a dinner party?

Keith Richards, Lightning Hopkins, Lady Gaga, Steve Wilkos and 寶親王

What’s next for the band?

Next year we’ll have a remix album for “[M O N O L I T H]” coming out and eventually we will be working on a third album. For right now we’re just gonna keep playing as many shows as we can.

What Social Media/Website links do you use to get your music out to people?

https://decentnews.bandcamp.com/
https://www.facebook.com/decentnews/
https://machinemanrecords.com/decent-news
https://open.spotify.com/artist/25d1l8Nle2nHekQJOLxEjd

Jaffa Cakes! Are they a cake or a biscuit?

After googling Jaffy Cakes and learning everything there is to know about them, for taxation purposes, it’s a cake!

Thank you for your time. Is there anything else that you would like to add?

To anyone reading, please go out and buy “[M O N O L I T H]”, Laken has promised to rip his own head off with his bare hands if you do it. He’s strong as fuck.

 

 

Disclaimer: This interview is solely the property of Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this interview, unless you have the strict permission of said parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

LVCIFYRE – Sacrament EP

Sacrement EP Cover

LVCIFYRE – Sacrament EP
Dark Descent Records
Release Date: 24/05/2019
Running Time: 22:53
Review by Mark Pritchard
8/10

A couple weeks back I asked Ever Metal about the possibility of reviewing London based Death Metal band ‘LVCIFYRE’ purely, and I will admit this, because I really like the band name. I hadn’t heard of them before, something I regret now that I have heard what they can do. But as with all bands that are new to me, I haven’t looked back, and with heavy guitar playing and hard drumming with intense vocals these guys don’t mess around.

I have been listening to this EP called ‘Sacrament’ for the last few weeks continuously with a few breaks here and there and need I say that I really like it. This EP contains a bit of a lead up to songs, something that I really like. There is a slow start before it leaps into the song really intensively and everything comes at you at 100 mph. There is no time to breathe, just complete and unstoppable headbanging and all I have to say is that thank god I had paracetamol on hand!

I can honestly say that, with Cultus on bass, Menthor on drums and T. Kaos on guitars and vocals, this band aren’t a glass half full band. They are the full glass with water still being poured in and overflowing. One thing I noticed throughout the EP is that there is an intensity in all the songs which really transmits the immense passion they have for what they do and, anyone who listens to them play, either live or via CD, can absolutely see, hear and feel that passion and dedication.

I have thoroughly enjoyed listening to this awesome EP which is reflected in the score I have given it. It is such an awesome EP, with high intensity and an ‘in your face’ presence’ and I can’t get enough of it.

I do have a favourite song, ‘Shadowy Wing’ and its nice slow start before hitting into the main song really drew me in.

I want to say a huge thank you to Ever Metal for giving me the chance to review LVCIFYRE and this awesome EP, and I also want to say a huge thank you to the band, itself, for putting so much work and passion into this EP.

It really has been one hell of a listening experience.

Track Listing:
The Greater Curse
Deaths Head In Crown
Shadowy Wing
Sacrament
Morderca

Links:
www.facebook.com/Lvcifyre
www.Darkdescentrecords.com
www.Darkdescentrecords.bandcamp.com
www.Facebook.com/darkdescentrecords

 

Promo Pic

 

 

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Mark Pritchard and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.