Timeline

Witchy Sister The Wolf Bar, Maple Ridge, BC, Canada 04/09/2021

Witchy Sister
The Wolf Bar, Maple Ridge, BC, Canada
04/09/2021
Photos by Arturs Feists

“Hailing from the depths of East Vancouver (Canada), Witchy Sister is a Rock n Roll band, brewing a crazy concoction of Sex, Drugs and RnR.”

Disclaimer: This photo album is solely the property of Arturs Feists. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of these images, unless you have the strict permission of said party. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Cache Creek The Wolf Bar, Maple Ridge, BC, Canada 04/09/2021

Cache Creek
The Wolf Bar, Maple Ridge, BC, Canada
04/09/2021
Photos by Arturs Feists

“From the valley of the lower mainland Vancouver B.C. Cache Creek presents a sound of old school rock n roll, country and a pinch of heavy metal. We like to call it good ol’ Canadian rock n roll.”

Disclaimer: This photo album is solely the property of Arturs Feists. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of these images, unless you have the strict permission of said party. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Rebel Priest The Wolf Bar, Maple Ridge, BC, Canada 04/09/2021

Rebel Priest
The Wolf Bar, Maple Ridge, BC, Canada
04/09/2021
Photos by Arturs Feists

“Rebel Priest, a rock’n’roll band out of Vancouver Canada. These guys have had the pleasure of supporting bands such as U.D.O. (Accept), Lordi, Diamond Head, Crystal Pistol, Flotsam and Jetsam also playing many headlining gigs with the energy of Motorhead meets Mötley Crüe. Their sound has been describe Trash ‘n’ Roll.”

Disclaimer: This photo album is solely the property of Arturs Feists. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of these images, unless you have the strict permission of said party. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Dawn Ray’d w/Agvirre, Underdark and Gospelheim The Factory, Manchester 03/09/2021

Dawn Ray'd Poster

Dawn Ray’d
w/Agvirre, Underdark and Gospelheim
The Factory, Manchester
03/09/2021
Review by Rob Sutton

Back in Manchester for the first time since we were grounded and boy oh boy has this place changed, so many more skyscrapers and my usual car park is no longer 24/7, but wasn’t a problem with this gig finishing early. So anyway, The Factory! This venue is clearly a nightclub, very obvious by the improvised stage which, for a gig other than black metal, perhaps would have been a bit restrictive for bands, but it was fine for this evening. Sadly, the toilets do feel like prison toilets but they are functional and clean so it is what it is.

First band up tonight is Gospelheim, this was their debut show and, all things aside, this is a solid set. The mix of depressing singing with black metal is something very different but it works and is very nice to listen to. You could almost describe it as Placebo with blast beats. It did feel like the band lacked confidence at the beginning of the set. Ricardo and Lenore’s vocals did get a bit lost in the mix but this was soon rectified as they gained confidence through the set. This was for me, at its peak during the 4th song where they were both beautifully in sync and gave this eerie dark ambience which was spine tinglingly good. For me the end of this set highlights why these guys will go far. Musically, the whole sound was out of this world, John’s drums really drive each of the songs fantastically and the lack of crowd interaction replaced with samples between songs also fully threw you into the atmosphere Gospelheim were creating. Honestly, this set was a fantastic insight into what these guys will be capable of with a few more gigs under their belt.

https://www.facebook.com/gospelheim

Next up were Nottingham based band Underdark who brought a lot more noise to proceedings. These guys really did step things up to another level. The sheer precision in their execution was phenomenal and the passion the vocalist was showing on stage really did suck you into their performance. When the in your-face wall of noise relents the melodies that take its place are surreal, it really does feel out of this world. I was left wanting a lot more songs in this set and will really have to check them out at a headline show if they come back. Another massive prop to these guys is, when one of the guitarists did have an issue, they continued through and it was barely noticeable. Vocally in Black Metal we are used to high pitched shrieks but Underdark add a very unusual low growl to the mix. It is used sparingly but really adds another layer to their sound. Honestly, you can see why they have played Bloodstock before and I think other festivals really should look at Underdark seriously!

https://www.facebook.com/Underdarkuk

Agvirre, another Manchester band with some familiar faces, both John (drums) and Ricardo (guitar) from Gospelheim are back on stage again and straight from the off they look much more comfortable playing here. Probably because Agvirre have gigged before and the pressure of their first gig has now passed. Agvirre are a very interesting blend of different styles. They go from very atmospheric and fast paced to almost rock in sound. For me the Keyboards did become a bit over powering in places but when the levels were right it pieced together fantastically and did send shivers down your spine. Using a Ghost Bath style voice isn’t really something I am a fan of but, in all fairness, it is well executed and when it was used it did fit. There was also a lot of silence between songs, something the previous two bands filled with either backing tracks or engaging with the audience. I’m not one for silence between songs, especially in this genre, as I end up feeling like I’m back in reality, something I don’t want in a Post Black Metal band. By the crowd reaction, these guys do strike the right chord in the scene and on recording I enjoy them a lot, it just didn’t work for me live.

https://www.facebook.com/agvirrewrath

Lastly its Liverpool/Leeds heavyweights Dawn Ray’d and boy do things take another odd turn. Firstly, we have a violin, which completely steals the show. The folk element that’s added here is just sublime, you really are taken out of this reality and end up closing your eyes and feel completely tranquil. The fact that he is also the vocalist as well is a testament to this guy’s talent; his voice is up there with some of the best in the genre. It’s punchy and unrelenting! This set is by far and away the most polished of the night, there wasn’t a single noticeable mistake in the whole performance. Speaking of performance, my god the drummer here is a beast! Such speed and precision in his technique is a pleasure to not only watch but to hear as well. From what I could see the same can be said guitar wise, however, they were completely lost in the mix. I found myself wandering around the venue trying to pick them out. Only when they switched to clean were they audible. Now this is not a fault of the band, they were flawless but with the lack of guitars it did feel empty. I was in awe over the talent these guys showed tonight the set itself was sublime and this means Dawn Ray’d are another band on my list to watch again.

https://www.facebook.com/dawnrayd

So, this was something different for me. While I am a fan of Black Metal and Post Black Metal it is not a genre I know that much about aside from the odd band here and there. After watching these four bands I want to know more and find more. The mix of brutality and beauty is something that really hits me in a good way. Hats off to Badgerfest Promotions for this gig as it was very well organised and attended, I can’t wait for the next one!

LINKS:
https://www.facebook.com/Badgerfestpromotions
https://www.facebook.com/factorymanchester

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Rob Sutton and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Brainstorm – Wall Of Skulls

Wall Of Skulls Album Cover Art

Brainstorm – Wall Of Skulls
AFM Records
Release Date: 17/09/2021
Running Time: 49:51
Review by Simon Black
8/10

I have a confession to make. Given that I have a deep love of Power Metal, I have somehow managed to not come across Brainstorm up until this point, which is a little embarrassing for a band that have been around for the best part of thirty years. I am however more familiar with one of Vocalist Andy B. Franck’s previous projects – the now defunct Symphorce, which carved a parallel track to Brainstorm for a number of years until Franck pulled the plug on that particular project a decade ago. That outfit had a more Progressive Metal edge which had great appeal to me personally, but Franck’s distinctive and powerful voice is always going to grab your attention and discovering that a vocalist whose work you liked has another ten albums of back catalogue to dig up is no bad discovery on this bleak Monday morning.

The music here is firmly in the anthemic German Power Metal category, something that seems as natural as breathing to natives of that country. It must be something to do with their rather wonderful beer. Far too much Euro Power material gets bogged down with trying to create convoluted concept albums and forgets about building a record around well-structured and crafted songs, but Brainstorm have this down to a tee. Franck’s voice is very high in the mix, which is not a bad thing, but the problem with that approach is you might miss the sheer subtle song-writing craft that guitarists Torsten Ihlenfeld and Milan Loncaric bring to proceedings. The trouble with opting for accessibility for an audience in a festival field to easily singalong to when they don’t know your songs, as many Power acts do is that the tunes can quickly become forgettable after the fact. Not so here. These two really are a pair of riff monsters, with relentless and driven delivery being the order of the day, rather than a focus on overt flourishes of instrumental technical decadence the genre often drips with. The album’s the stronger for it, as the focus is on creating songs that hold the attention with heaviness and rhythm, eschewing the more hook laden melodic catchy anthems that many contemporaries choose.

Not that there isn’t catchiness here, but it mainly comes from Franck, of which the softer ‘Glory Disappears’ gives him chance to adopt a completely different vocal style or the spot on and brilliantly anthemic ‘Solitude’, which takes the top spot favourite song position for me. There’s also plenty of speed and pace in there, with tracks like ‘My Dystopia’ belting out the rhythms and pace without losing the subtlety. Where this record wins over so many of its peers is that it remains consistently strong throughout, to the point where I have struggles to highlight a weak filler song elsewhere. That’s never bad for a Monday.

‘Turn Off The Light’ feat. Seeb from Orden Ogan (Official Video)

TRACKLISTING:
01. Chamber Thirteen
02. Where Ravens Fly
03. Solitude
04. Escape the Silence
05. Turn Off the Light
06. Glory Disappears
07. My Dystopia
08. End of My Innocence
09. Stigmatized (Shadows Fall)
10. Holding On
11. I, the Deceiver

LINE-UP:
Andy B. Franck – Lead Vocals
Torsten Ihlenfeld – Guitars, Backing Vocals
Milan Loncaric – Guitars, Backing Vocals
Antonio Ieva – Bass
Dieter Bernert – Drums

LINKS:

Brainstorm Promo Pic

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Simon Black and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

EMQ’s with Edson Graseffi from MOTORHAMMER

Mororhammer Logo

EMQ’s with Edson Graseffi from MOTORHAMMER

Hi everyone! Welcome to our new EMQ’s interview, with São Paulo, Brazil based Heavy/Thrash Metal band, Motorhammer. Huge thanks to vocalist/drummer, Edson Graseffi, for taking part.

What is your name, what do you play and can you tell us a little bit about the history of the band?

My name is Edson Graseffi, I am a Brazilian drummer and singer. I have been active in the Metal scene for 35 years. I was the founder of Panzer, a traditional Brazilian Thrash Metal band that I played with for 25 years. After the end of this band, I put together two new projects. Motorhammer, band in which I am re-recording several songs from my discography to commemorate my three and a half decades dedicated to drums in heavy music. My other project is called Cosmic Rover (Stoner Metal), which had its debut album voted one of the best albums of 2019 by the readers of Roadie Crew magazine, the largest Heavy Metal publication in Latin America. In both bands, I play the role of drummer and vocalist full time, which is something very rare to see in the Metal world scene.

How did you come up with your band name?

When I created Motorhammer, I wanted a name that would express my intense and heavy playing and represent all the years of my work within the Heavy Metal scene, without any breaks. The name of a tool that hits mercilessly and in a heavy way seemed appropriate to represent all of this, in addition to alluding to Motörhead, a form of homage to a band so important in my musical background.

What Country/Region are you from and what is the Metal/Rock scene like there?

We are a band from São Paulo, the biggest city in Brazil and Latin America. Here the scene was very intense from the 80’s until around 2005, when everything started to change. Due to problems related to my country’s financial situation, many small and medium clubs where the bands played closed their doors and the public mentality change that followed ended up making it difficult for the more underground scene to expand with tours and releases as it was in the past. But the bands keep playing for the love of Metal.

What is your latest release? (Album, EP, Single, Video)

I will talk about my work personally, because Motorhammer is a very new band that emerged in 2021. I have around twenty-eight titles in my discography including CD’s, EP’s, Singles, compilations and DVD. My last release was precisely with Motorhammer, the EP “Round 35”. You can check all this material on my website:

www.edsongraseffi.com.br

‘Fighting Against The Walls’ (Audio)

Who have been your greatest influences?

There are many drummers who influenced me, but I can name Scott Travis (Judas Priest), Bill Ward (Black Sabbath) and Dan Beehler (Exciter) as my biggest influences. As a vocalist, I always liked the vocalists with dirty voice and full of overdrive, due to my type of voice, Blackie Lawless (W.A.S.P), Kevin Dubrow (Quiet Riot), Gene Simmons (Kiss), Mille Petrozza (Kreator) are some of them.

What first got you into music?

My first experiences with music were at school when I was just a child, I sang in a children’s choir for many years, it wasn’t connected to Rock n Roll at all, but it was a very important stage where I learned to use my voice. In 1983, I met Kiss and the “Creatures of the Night” album and that all changed my life forever.

If you could collaborate with a current band or musician who would it be?

Oh Boy…There are many bands that I would love to work with, but if I could choose Testament and Metal Church, they would be two bands that I would have a dream come true.

If you could play any festival in the world, which would you choose and why?

Any, if Testament and Metal Church were in the line-up

What’s the weirdest gift you have ever received from a fan?

Actually, the weirdest thing wasn’t a gift, but what a fan asked me for. At the end of a concert, a boy came to ask for my socks to take with me as a souvenir of the concert.

If you had one message for your fans, what would it be?

Don’t give up on Metal, it’s alive, just pay attention to everything around you, listen to new bands.

If you could bring one rock star back from the dead, who would it be?

There are many, but I believe Neil Peart and John Bonham could be immortal, they would still have a lot to teach the world. Bon Scott was too early too, what wouldn’t he have produced with AC/DC? Would be wonderful.

What do you enjoy the most about being a musician? And what do you hate?

I admire musicians who play to the music, make their instrument play with feeling and always focused on what the music asks for. Hate is a too heavy word to use in that sense, but I don’t understand how there is a whole world scene that overvalues DJs and consumes that soulless electronic thing.

If you could change one thing about the music industry, what would it be?

I would bring the big labels back and consume them for physical material. A lot of people fought for the freedom to release everything independently, today we have it, but it was the money of the big labels that made many names become giants, there is no strong music market without money spinning and making the machine run, and that goes for the Heavy Metal too. Today new bands can’t make a living from their music which makes the whole music scene very vulnerable and uncertain.

Name one of your all-time favourite albums?

There are many, but Kiss “Creatures of the Night” has a huge importance in my life. Until today, I have the same feelings as that boy who was discovering the world of Heavy Metal when I listen to this record.

What’s best? Vinyl, Cassettes, CD’s or Downloads?

Vinyl for sure!!!! Cassettes are awesome too if you have the right HIFI equipment to listen to them.

What’s the best gig that you have played to date?

There were many good concerts in 35 years, but I can highlight a Cosmic Rover concert in Uruguay, a neighboring country in Brazil, in 2019, an amazing night sold out where we played to 1300 people hungry for Metal. The Uruguayan audience is incredible.

If you weren’t a musician, what else would you be doing?

It’s hard to think about it because I’ve spent my whole life looking at music as the main pillar of my life, but I can say that maybe I was a surfer. My wife is a surfer, she surfs Body Boarding, I’m always on the beach with her and I see how those guys are free and have fun, it must be an amazing thing to do and live the scene.

Which five people would you invite to a dinner party?

Five people who like to drink beer and talk about Rock n Roll!!

What’s next for the band?

Unfortunately, in my country and all-over Latin America, the shows are still hard to happen, so let’s record a live session in a studio for people to see Motorhammer perform live somehow.

What Social Media/Website links do you use to get your music out to people?

People can check out Motorhammer’s work on Spotify, the EP is available on all platforms. On my website, you can also listen to all the albums I recorded with other bands. On my YouTube channel there is also a lot of video material released by all the bands I played, mainly by Panzer which has a lot of videos on YouTube.
www.edsongraseffi.com.br/
www.facebook.com/egraseffi
www.instagram.com/motor.hammer/
www.open.spotify.com/artist/5n1dbc9jujl9jTS2dTylUT
www.youtube.com/EdsonGraseffiDrummer

Jaffa Cakes? Are they a cake or a biscuit?

What are Jaffa Cakes? hahahahaha

Thank you for your time. Is there anything else that you would like to add?

I want to thank Ever Metal and Victor for the interview opportunity, your work in helping musicians like me to spread my work to the European audience is very important.

Victor’s full review of Motorhammer’s “Round 35” EO

Motorhammer Promo Pic

Disclaimer: This interview is solely the property of Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this interview, unless you have the strict permission of said party. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Acid Reign @Central Live Music Venue, Wrexham, 11/09/2021

Disclaimer: This photo album is solely the property of Beth Jones. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of these images, unless you have the strict permission of said party. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Reaper @Central Live Music Venue, Wrexham, 11/09/2021

Disclaimer: This photo album is solely the property of Beth Jones. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of these images, unless you have the strict permission of said party. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.