Rose Tattoo – Tatts Live In Brunswick 1982


Rose Tattoo – Tatts Live In Brunswick 1982
Golden Robot Records
Release Date: 24/11/2017
Running Time: 63.32
Review by Tsarina Wilson

As the title suggest this album has been remastered for the fans in 2017 and has been around for a few years, recorded with a line up of Angry Anderson, Pete Wells, Rob Riley, Geordie Leach and Dallas “Digger” Royall. This albums gives you it all; raw vocals , a bit of blues and heavy rock. Close your eyes and you’re there at the gig with them.

For those who don’t know much about the band, they are from Australia and fronted by Angry Anderson, who has a tattoo or two! Their first few albums were produced by Vanda and Young, the team who were also responsible for early AC/DC albums. During many of the songs you could be mistaken for thinking it was being recorded in a good old fashioned bar with the crowd and banter going on. Being up by the stage in a hot sweaty club with band interaction is a rare thing these days. In 1980 the band toured the United States and Europe including the UK. They also supported Guns and Roses on the Australian part of their Use Your Illusion Tour.

The band, over the years, has had people leave to come back again, some have sadly passed away but one thing that hasn’t changed is their formidable sound. Angry Anderson (yes, known by many as the voice of the song Suddenly) is raw and rocking and he has so much energy yet so much anger in his voice that you can tell he is passionate about his music.

The innuendos in Juice on the Loose will easily make you smirk “momma come stroke the goose”. The ace slide guitar sound on this track just keeps rocking, with a combination of rock and blues sound. Scarred For Life has to my favourite, the story of getting a first tattoo at the early age of 16, probably as I get the same thing said to me. Bad Boy for Love has a AC/DC edge to it but is just pure rock. The Butcher And Fast Eddie, at over 7 minutes long, has a definite blues start to it but still has the raw rock sound, and with fantastic guitar riffs is formidable. Unlike most of todays music, which is mainly all studio based and perfection, this album is literally warts and all. You have the rawness of Andersons voice, the crowd cheering, the interaction of the band with the crowd and you will be forgiven for forgetting this album isn’t one from the past few months but is over 30 years old. They just don’t make bands like this anymore. One Of The Boys has to be an anthem for many guys I know. This track is pure gritty rock and roll, and the guitar riff in it is what air guitar was made for, to feel and love the music.

The band will be releasing a new album in 2018 and touring worldwide with their new line up, which includes Mark Evans on bass and if they are as good now as this album suggests, then they will really be worth going to see and I look forward to hearing their new album, to see just how much more of the epic sound they can produce.

This CD is stickered Parental Advisory (Explicit Content)

01. Out Of This Place
02. Bad Boy For Love
03. Assult And Battery
04. Tramp
05. We Cant Be Beaten
06. Butcher And Fast Eddie
07. Rock And Roll Is King
08. Texas
09. One Of The Boys
10. Branded
11. Revenge
12. Juice On The Loose
13. Rock And Roll Outlaw
14. Scarred For Life


Promo Pic1 (2)

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Tsarina Wilson and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this interview, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to do adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities

The Cherry Dolls – Viva Los Dolls


The Cherry Dolls-Viva Los Dolls
Golden Robot Records
Release Date: 24/11/2017
Running Time: 30:81
Review by Tsarina Wilson

The Cherry Dolls are from Melbourne and are Joshua Aubry on vocals, Jakob Kagan on guitar, Thomas van der Vliet on drums, Brendan West on bass and Jim Stirton on guitar. This very diverse band have already released two EPs in the past, “Pearls” and “Lone Palm” which were recorded in LA, but this is their first full length debut album, with Alex Markwell of The Delta Rings sitting in on production.

Think The Doors, The Rolling Stones and even The Stone Roses and The Stokes, a mix of indie and rock, and there is a lot of talent within this band. The album opens with Cop Out, which shows how strong and clean the vocals are, Let You Down has some great rock riffs and one hellava beat and Lemon and Lime is a real micky take of the expression “I’m so happy”, talk about sounding so miserable but while having a great time! You would be forgiven for thinking this album is from the 60’s or 70’s, the lads themselves certainly look like they are stuck in this era but don’t let that fool you in any way. This is a very alternate album with a lot of attitude but may not be to everyone’s taste. But then show me an album that is.

The guys seem to skip to different genres without missing a beat, one minute slow and relaxed then full on and this album will keep you on your toes, with some catchy lyrics. Ok, during their early days they were known for breaking more guitar strings and gear than they care to recall but on this album they deliver an upbeat and full on album. The album by their own admittance is them portraying themselves which is good. They are not changing their look or sound to “fit in” and they are being true to themselves with their attitude and angst towards live shows, and they get that onto the album, the atmosphere and feeling of being at one of their live shows.

Before going into the studio the lads had the normal idea of bands, write some songs, choose which they liked then head into the studio and get the tracks down, but that wasn’t the case here. They didn’t even have any when they first went in but it all fell into place and in three days they had ten tracks down and sorted and they were very happy with the result, as they should be. At just over 30 minutes long they pack a lot in, but it would have been nice if it was a little longer. Hey maybe the next album will be, but as a first full length album it certainly gives you a taste of what’s to come in the future.

01. C.O.P Out
02. Slave
03. Let You Down
04. Bottom Of The Wall
05. Kimchi
06. Hollywood
07. Love
08. Lemon & Lime
09. Begging You Please
10. Blister


Promo Pic3

Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Tsarina Wilson and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this interview, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to do adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities