Guardian Of Lightning – Cosmos Tree

Guardian Of Lightning – Cosmos Tree
Eclipse Records
Release Date: 17/07/2020
Running Time: 33:09
Review by Victor Augusto

“We Are The First Thunder Metal Band”. With these words, I started on my journey to understand and review “Cosmos Tree” the debut album from Guardian Of Lightning, an amazing 3-piece band from São Paulo, Brazil. First, I was curious as to what exactly this unknown genre (at least for me) was, but after listening to their album several times, I guess I could understand it. Nevertheless, it is especially important to highlight that despite what they call themselves, their music is what comes first, and their music is very impressive.

What I could extract from the meaning of Thunder Metal on hearing Guardian Of Lightning for the first time is the following. Firstly, their lyrics and concept are connected to the power that comes from nature in a way to recover our energies and soul. All the lyrics have positive messages, but nothing is esoteric, and it is healthy, like a mantra connecting music and nature. The second thing that could be related to Thunder Metal is the loudness that comes from their instruments which are heavy and powerful like thunder. I guess this comes to mind due to their similarities with Motörhead and Manowar, mostly in the arrangements, and especially the vocals that really remind me of Lemmy Kilmister.

The sonority itself gives value to heavy guitars guiding the songs rhythmically. The incredible percussion of ‘Lord Drum’ increases the aggression where the speed is filled by strong hits on his drum kit and amazing tempo changes. The most interesting aspect of their music is that the bass does all leads and solos, obviously something that we are used to hearing from guitars. Therefore, the bass of ‘Iron King’ is the main instrument throughout the record and I feel that it makes the guitar of his father ‘Marco Fino’ better to follow. This is pure and heavy Rock n’ Roll and I mean a VERY HEAVY Rock n’ Roll but It is also Heavy Metal. However, I can’t think of any style that relates to Guardian Of Lightning other than when I mentioned Motörhead? The similarities between them are very apparent. Something that is not only Metal but also much heavier than just Rock n’ Roll.

There are more elements that make “Cosmos Tree” brilliant. Mantras you hear in the ‘Intro’ before the title track ‘Cosmos Tree’ kicks the album off show everything that the band are trying to achieve. This song also has a guitar sound that reminds me somewhat of the sounds of nature. ‘Aligned With The Stars’ includes some rattle (maybe it is another instrument, but it reminds me a lot of a rattle) throughout the song, that fits well with the drums. I also have to mention my favorite tracks, the beautiful ‘Sound Of Thunder’ that includes touching piano in the song and the lovely and heavy ballad ‘Be Like The Moon’ that finishes the album.

Perhaps Guardian Of Lightning hasn’t brought anything new to the table, that is for you to decide, but I find it interesting how their music navigates through Rock and Heavy Metal. If you like Rock but miss the heaviness of Heavy Metal or if you like Heavy Metal and miss the simplicity of good Rock n’ Roll then “Cosmos Tree” is the perfect album for you. Of course, fans of good and well-played bass are going to love this amazing band.

01. Intro
02. Cosmos Tree
03. Raise Your Sword
04. Sound of Thunder
05. Aligned with the Stars
06. Follow Your Silver Shine
07. Inside of Us
08. Another Place
09. Be Like the Moon

Iron King (lead bass guitar)
Marco Fino (lead vocals & rhythm guitar)
Lord Drum (drums)


Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Victor Augusto and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Tomorrow Is Lost – Therapy

Tomorrow Is Lost – Therapy
Eclipse Records
Release Date: 13/03/2020
Running Time: 35:13
Review by Beth Jones

Morning music chums! There’s no denying that 2020 has been a pretty sucky year so far and that it needs to get in the bin! However, lockdown has given me a chance to get my head into some great music, which is definitely a silver lining, and I can wholeheartedly say that, as far as new music goes, this year has already been pretty epic!

Today’s listening pleasure for me is “Therapy”, the debut album from Newcastle based Alternative Metal band, Tomorrow Is Lost. Relative babies in the music scene, the 5-peice formed in 2017 and have worked tirelessly since then, making a big impression and gaining acclaim. They have had some pretty big names working on this album too. It was produced by Dave Boothroyd (Phil Campbell [Motorhead], Don Broco, The Bastard Sons) at 6db Studios, and was mastered by Jon Astley (Judas Priest, The Who, The Rolling Stones) at Close To The Edge.

Now, you know me. I love a good bit of production, and right from the off, the experience and mastery of the production team is evident in this recording. It is beautifully mixed and mastered placing everything perfectly. There is plenty of bottom end and nothing sounds tinny. The drums also sound epic – no unwanted popping or ringing, and there’s a great ‘thunk’ to the bass drum and toms. This is always a benchmark for me.

Musically, Tomorrow is Lost are, for me, exciting. Every tune is catchy, well-constructed, and full. They are like a combination of Paramore and Skunk Anansie and remind me a lot of Chasing Dragons (who were great, and it makes me sad that they have called it a day). Their tunes are full of chunky guitar riffs and pumping bass lines, and the powerful but beautiful vocals of Cass King cement the whole thing together into a very pleasing listen. There is also some clever use of atmospheric samples, which add an extra layer of depth to a number of the tracks.

This is an album full of colour and life. It is the sort of album that you want to sling on in the car, wind the windows down and pump it out loud (even though this is technically against the law now apparently! Don’t break the law kids!).

Although it is hard to pick a favourite track on this album, I think ‘Hideaway’ is the one that grabbed me most. It starts with a solo bass line, then kicks into the full riff. The verses are quite staccato and stripped back, then it progresses into a pre-chorus which builds into the very catchy chorus. This theme is revisited throughout the song, which gives it a great flow. And we get the extra little gift of a powerful and heavy middle 8 section which is properly down and dirty. It’s a track full of power which compels you to move with the beat. Cracking tune.

If you like solid heavy rock/ alternative metal, with perfect vocals, then this album is going to excite you. I love it.

01. Intro
02. Wildchild
03. Smile
04. White Noise
05. Self Destruct
06. Black and Blue
07. Hideaway
08. Too Young to Know
09. Electric
10. Pause Rewind
11. Therapy

Cass King – vocals
Joe Mac – guitar
Ryan O’Hara – guitar
Josh Fodden – bass
Marc Rush – drums


Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Beth Jones and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.