Bombs Of Hades – Phantom Bell EP

Bombs Of Hades – Phantom Bell EP
Black Lodge Records
Release Date:17/04/2020
Running Time: 15:37
Review by Tammy Lomax

Hello everyone, I hope you all are keeping well during the on-going lockdown and hats off to our NHS. Amazing people.

I am incredibly lucky to have music to keep me occupied. Doesn’t mean I cannot share though, as sharing is caring after all. Let me introduce you to Swedish death metal band Bombs Of Hades and their four track EP “Phantom Bell” released on 17/04/2020.

Firstly, a little background.

Back in 2002 bass player Anders Ekman and Guitarist/vocalist Jonas Stålhammar would crank it up, letting off some steam in a rehearsal studio Influenced by Slayer, Autopsy, Entombed etc.

Countless beers later, some serious thoughts and discussions took place and they then approached Po Söderback and Magnus Forsburg. Now completely united, their discussions became actions and their dreams became a reality Their first E.P “Carnivores” was released by Blood Harvest Records in 2010 creating some buzz within the scene. After more successful years, three more albums, many EP’s and loads of gigs, Ekman departed and along came Roger Iderman who filled his place in 2016.

Now to new EP “Phantom Bell”. There may only be four tracks, but it is still really great! I can be greedy though! If my ears appreciate it then I always want more!

Just in my pants (it was a warm day!!), I submersed myself in my headphones, maxed out the volume and drifted off in my perfect music bubble. Throughout the EP you get some blinding guitar solos. They are rustic and original, slow, and sexy as hell and it takes me to a place of ecstasy. As I listened to the lyrics, they came alive. I found myself understanding and relating to them. Jonas Stålhammar’s vocals throughout are tight, in your face and destroy. I was really enjoying this. There was only one way forward from here …repeat play and repeat…

My favourite track here must be ‘Bridge Of Sighs’ although, if I am honest, it was quite a difficult choice as I love ‘Lungs’ too. I was lured in from the moment it started. They hit you hard, the repeated riff gets you rolling, sounding doomlike, all deep and cosmic. Then the vocals glide in with zero mess, matching and meeting the rhythm perfectly. It is juicy, weighty and your ears beg for more. POW! Then, that guitar solo…oh my days! When the final note hits, it’s a pinnacle for me! And now, I am a dribbling mess!! It is a complete release. #flushedtam!

The tracks on ‘Phantom Bell’ are so good, I just need more to satisfy me. As I said, I can be greedy. Bombs Of Hades, guys, this is excellent, and I cannot wait to see what else you deliver in the future. Do, more…lots more.

Keep safe everyone.

01 Phantom Bell
02 Bridge Of Sighs
03 Kamikaze
04 Lungs

Magnus Forsburg – Drums
Roger Iderman – Bass and Effects
Jonas Stålhammar – Guitars, Vocals and Mellotron
Po Söderback – Guitars


Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Tammy Lomax and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.

Vernon Of Persia – Ascend EP

Vernon Of Persia – Ascend EP
Release Date 10/01/2020
Running Time: 24:06
Review by Tammy Lomax

So, I did actually ask Mr. Editor to throw some random albums at me and one of the ones he selected was Vernon Of Persia. Well what can I say, Mr Editor knows me very well indeed!

Vernon Of Persia are a five-piece Progressive Metalcore band from San Antonio, TX. They began their journey in 2016 when two brothers, Tyler & Kalen Thomas came together with the other three members joining later that year and “Ascend” is their second release!

They are so far up my street they are hammering at my front door! I am more than welcoming, come in and join me for a cuppa. I feel all light and fluffy after listening to “Ascend”. These guys definitely give me my fix.

There is no mucking around with long introductions when ‘Weightless’ opens proceedings, just a massive wallop to the face, from the start, setting a standard of supreme talent. The only minor niggle for me is when second track ‘Ascend’ plays. There is a prolonged gap between ‘Weightless’ finishing and that starting and it’s similar at the end. A very long fade out? ‘Ascend’ is a belter of a track though so be assured it’s not detrimental toward the talent seeping through from Vernon Of Persia.

Throughout the entire six track EP there are some blinding choruses and bridge sections, it’s almost like there is a fight taking place between good and evil. I do appreciate clean singing if it’s done well and fits in the right place. Vernon Of Persia pin that particular trait down, completely.

For example, ‘Sea Of Trees’ (my favourite track on the EP), has a powerful and seemingly dominating riff but the vocals meet and over-take entirely, claiming complete territory. “Climb to the top of the mountain, reach the sky” go the lyrics! Yes, I am singing along, disregarding the fact I might sound like a cat getting strangled.

It really sounds like they are using some serious equipment and they sure know how to use it to their advantage! There is a tremendous amount of technique and skill cemented together here. It shines through, crystal clear. I visually see them playing in the sky to the entire world. Fan-bloody-tastic!

I had to listen to final track ‘Marc Of The Okubo’ a few times to understand its flow. At first, I felt they were trying to cram too much in, and it seemed a bit misplaced and off beat, But no, that’s not the case at all, it’s a case of opening up your ears! Keep up Tam!! There’s a belter of a bassline leading the whole track and powerful double kick drums do not go unnoticed. You can’t miss them, they are fast.

Vernon Of Persia are continually growing and have already played with some huge bands like As I Lay Dying, Within The Ruins, Suicide Silence etc…and the more they experience, the more they will grow. They have released a REALLY good EP here. All the tracks are far more advanced than on their previous EP “Relativity Of” (which I also listened to) It’s full of flavour, you have super-hot, spicy and sweet …it tastes marvellous with the right amount of mixture, texture and technique, thus it does not spoil. 😉

Thank you for letting me review these guys Mr Editor and good luck to Vernon Of Persia!

01 Weightless
02 Ascend
03 All Through My Veins
04 Inner Sleep
05 Sea Of Trees
06 Marc Of The Okubo

Tyler Thomas – Drums/Synth Producer/Back-up Vocals
Kalen Thomas – Guitar/Producer
Steven Giro – Bass/Producer
Anthony Narvarijo – Vocals/Lyrics
Jamie Vargas – Guitar/Producer


Disclaimer: This review is solely the property of Tammy Lomax and Ever Metal. It is strictly forbidden to copy any part of this review, unless you have the strict permission of both parties. Failure to adhere to this will be treated as plagiarism and will be reported to the relevant authorities.